SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2003-134 (Dress w./ Dolman Sleeves)

Viewed 1825 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 150
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/5/07 3:30 PM
Last Updated:5/13/07 8:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
That style is really flattering on you. You look fabulous.
5/5/07 3:40 PM
regine said...
You are entirely wrong it is not "OK" it looks great, beautiful dress which suits you very well indeed.
5/5/07 5:32 PM
mochalover said...
This is definitely a cute dress on you. We are always are own worse critic.
5/5/07 5:39 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Mmm. It does look good on you, but I have to agree that it'd be better in.. hot pink or something :-).
5/5/07 5:41 PM
busy bee said...
I think you look cute, but I can't help but love your new name for Burda. Took me awhile to catch your drift.... :)
5/5/07 5:43 PM
Vonnevo said...
It's Fabulous !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/5/07 5:51 PM
cindyann said...
BWTF........hahahaha didn't catch that the first time around. How about teal green?
5/5/07 5:54 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Another great piece from Cidell! I like the shaping of the waist.
5/5/07 6:28 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Thanks for the review. You look marvelous, and I've always admired this dress. If you don't like it in black, maybe you can either add some neckline accessory or make it in a color you like on you. But, the dress is lovely and you look great in it.
5/5/07 6:29 PM
FloraNature said...
That's a beautiful dress, and a great review! I think you look fab, but perhaps you could turn it into a tunic, and make another in, say, deep purple if you feel this colour is too much on you.
5/5/07 6:55 PM
sewbehind said...
Thanks to you, I had to clean my computer screen. Laughed at your new name for Burda WOF. You look beautiful, as always.
5/5/07 6:55 PM
dbsewer said...
This dress looks really lovely on you. If you do it in another color, please post a photo.
5/5/07 7:09 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Great new name....and great new dress. I wish I had the issue of BurdaW?F. Your dress is beautiful.
5/5/07 7:12 PM
Lisa Merry said...
This dress looks great, I love the sleeves!
5/5/07 7:16 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love the dress! You look fab!!
5/5/07 7:30 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Stunning, love the style, you look terrific !
5/5/07 7:49 PM
cindy-lou said...
Cidell, Ihate to break it to you, but you would look good in a burlap bag-- not to mention a stunner dress like this one. Great work!
5/5/07 8:15 PM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful dress! Looks great on you.
5/5/07 8:31 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is much nicer than just "ok." You look fabulous and very sophisticated in this. It shows off your figure beautifully.
5/5/07 8:32 PM
Nancywin said...
Your dress turned out beautifully. You're right, everone needs a LBD, but I think you look even better in brighter colors. This dress looks very nice on you though
5/5/07 8:36 PM
carolynw said...
Well Cidell you have your LBD and it looks fantastic. Oh how I wish I was as slim as you!!
5/5/07 10:58 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love the style and I think the dress looks great, but I also think you need to trust your instinct and if you don't like that shade of black, maybe a deeper shade would work? Great job and review!
5/5/07 11:48 PM
krystalkaes said...
You are beautiful. You are *funny*!
5/6/07 0:25 AM
Zaneta said...
This is just divine Cidell..I really love your work :)
5/6/07 1:27 AM
Tany said...
Beautiful and stylish dress! VERY well done!
5/6/07 4:03 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oooohh--you make that dress look *good!* It looks tres au courant. Perhaps the back neck gaping is due to you need a high round back adjustment or perhaps you didn't staystitch the bias back neckline right after cutting. They stretch very quickly from handling and usually Burda doesn't remind you to staystitch. (BWTF! ROTFLMAO!)
5/6/07 4:24 AM
HenriettenDK said...
You look great - I think I've mentioned this before but you have the BEST smile - you'd look good in pretty much anything, but this dress is definitely cute!
5/6/07 4:31 AM
MissCelie said...
Katharine, last night it occured to me that I didn't use any stablizer in the shoulder seams. At 1:00 a.m. I started going through my RTW knit tops to figure out which ones had stabilization and why. I *think* you are right. I am going to put some clear elastic in the front shoulder / facing seams. Because that's where I took in a little to get the neck to snug up. As for the back, I never thought about it, or was able to check my back fit. This was the first time I've taken a photo from behind. I must have looked like a loon (or a total narcissist) on my back patio with my tripod yesterday.
5/6/07 7:10 AM
MissCelie said...
Everyone, thank you! I do like the dress and it's better in person. I just like me in prints or brighter colors. I think that it's a lot of fabric in a color that I am not great in. I also just bought a black car and have been wishing for the past six weeks I had gotten grey or red! I will make this again and be sure to post the photos.
5/6/07 7:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very flattering dress on you! Love the look of this dress.
5/6/07 7:36 AM
Nancy K said...
Well you have a great lbd. This looks wonderful on you and the fit is terrific.
5/6/07 7:44 AM
blue mooney said...
That is so sophisticated and looks really current, even though it's from a 2003 mag! Fab look on you.
5/6/07 7:48 AM
beangirl said...
-cough choke- Well, I think it's fair to say none of us will ever look at "BWOF" the same again. Cidell, to be TOTALLY honest (hee hee) my first reaction to your photo was "What a great figure, what a great dress, hmmm... maybe that's not the best color for her". (And you'll note that I first noticed your figure and THEN the dress and THEN the color, so I think that's pretty good as a sewing goal). Everyone's right, this looks pretty fab on you . Quelle suprise...er, I'm rolling my eyes here if you didn't catch on. ;-)
5/6/07 8:44 AM
trinicity said...
wow,, this is one HOT dress girl
5/6/07 8:52 AM
Bonnie O said...
I think the dress turned out great and you look beautiful in black. This is a nice business version of the dress but I bet a bright yellow version of this dress would look stunning with your skin tone.
5/6/07 11:58 AM
illinicrna said...
Looks great to me! Ha Ha BWTF!
5/6/07 1:16 PM
Erica B. said...
I commented on your blog, but I'll do it here too: It looks great on you!
5/6/07 2:36 PM
SandraB said...
I love your dress. It is very flattering on you. BWTF!!!! You are too funny!! I can't tell you how many times I have muttered this to myself while trying to follow BWOF instructions.
5/6/07 3:14 PM
j222b said...
Your comment BWTF has me laughing. I have always loved the look of a black dress on a black woman; & I think you look stunning. Perhaps a pin or necklace or drop earrings would help the dress to stand out even more?
5/6/07 6:16 PM
madhatter said...
you'll get lots of compliments with this - it looks beautiful!
5/7/07 6:37 AM
Christina W said...
Fantastic! I have been eyeing this pattern too - it looks much better in your version than in the magazine photo. BWTF - that's hilarious!
5/7/07 9:52 AM
Liana said...
Great dress, and yes, you have brightened my day, too! :)
5/7/07 9:54 AM
Linda G said...
Your dress is beautiful...it fits to a tee
5/7/07 6:12 PM
Bonnie O said...
STUNNING! You were right to trust your friend's judgement on the colors.
5/13/07 9:07 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love the coral dress, love the colour !!! Superb :)))
5/13/07 9:31 PM
Nancywin said...
Great looking dress! I saw this fabric on GT in the aqua. I had no idea the "links" were so large. Love it!
5/13/07 10:40 PM
Aixoise said...
Stunning, Cidell. That print is fabulous and the dress suits your figure--and your personality--perfectly.
5/13/07 10:47 PM
fuzzygalore said...
OK, much as I liked the black, I admit this is much better :-). Great job on the matching! And you should definitely trust Julia on colors, the coral is great. Now I'm envious :-).
5/14/07 4:18 AM
susinok said...
Love the chainlink fabric with that dress! Great work!
5/14/07 6:37 AM
Zaneta said...
Love, Love THIS DRESS!! Great choice of fabric..
5/14/07 7:09 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
Wow @ this dress. I'm speechless!
5/14/07 8:31 AM
Erica B. said...
You did a fabulous job! I love that dress and it looks marvelous in that fabric!
5/14/07 10:38 AM
PegL said...
WOW! I missed your review the first time around but I must say I love both dresses, especially the LBD! Looks wonderful on you! And....it's going to be BWTF for me from now on!! How clever and totally true! lol
5/14/07 11:41 AM
Sea-my said...
this old model looks so modern now. Butterfly dress is too at time. Good!
8/20/07 3:58 AM
Heatherrique said...
Definitely a showstopper, Cidell!
1/8/08 9:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1127

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 7640

photo
by: chesneykat

Review