SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1214 (fitted dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1799 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/07 1:00 AM
Last Updated:5/13/07 3:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Wow. That's just gorgeous. I looove those princess seams. The fit must be spectacular.
5/6/07 6:39 AM
Nancy K said...
The photos are being blocked with a FORBIDDEN comming up The photos within your review show up and they look great. It looks great and a great beginning to your swap.
5/6/07 7:39 AM
marjenann said...
Great looking dress! Definitlely a "keeper" pattern!
5/6/07 7:50 AM
yummymummy38 said...
love your swap board, Nancy! yummy colours
5/6/07 8:57 AM
Nancywin said...
Sorry about the pix. They're fixed now
5/6/07 9:16 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great dress with terrific style lines. Love it!
5/6/07 9:33 AM
cathy45 said...
Beautiful dress! I know it's not part of your SWAP, but any plans for the jacket, too? It's really cute with the dress on the covershot.
5/6/07 9:57 AM
Diana M said...
What a great looking dress -- and fabric from WalMart, yet! Inspriational start on your SWAP.
5/6/07 10:42 AM
Heatherrique said...
Simple, but very alluring dress! As always, I look forward to your reviews and especially your creations, Nancy!
5/6/07 10:56 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Very pretty. I love the hem treatment. Congrats on finishing your first SWAP item.
5/6/07 10:56 AM
Bonnie O said...
Adorable! Love the ribbon on the bottom.
5/6/07 11:32 AM
mochalover said...
Gorgeous dress. I can't wait to see the jacket. Wonderful job!
5/6/07 12:03 PM
Talleymom said...
I used the same feyelet to make the McCall's 5094. It had been in my stash for around 10 years. It was very stiff on the bolt, but after washing was just lovely. I like the clean lines of your very classic sheath with a twist.
5/6/07 12:44 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful, beautiful dress!
5/6/07 1:08 PM
OP Gal said...
Very pretty dress. My hat is off to anyone who can tackle a Marfy pattern. Wonderful outcome!
5/6/07 1:46 PM
Erica B. said...
Just gorgeous!
5/6/07 2:32 PM
SandraB said...
Your dress is so very pretty.
5/6/07 3:03 PM
CarolynGM said...
It came out great. Very interesting design and shaping details.
5/6/07 3:19 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Beautiful lines, love the lace. So pretty !
5/6/07 6:34 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This has come out very nice indeed. Congratulations on your first Marfy.
5/7/07 1:51 AM
Liana said...
This looks so nice! I've been thinking of trying this dress as well. Thanks for the great review!
5/7/07 2:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent job! Lovely dress.
5/7/07 5:17 AM
Elaray said...
The dress is absolutely lovely. I'm a little intimidated by Marfy, but you may have sparked my interest in this pattern company.
5/7/07 7:44 AM
piggyannie said...
This is a beautiful dress that you made! So, you said that it was somewhat difficult, but it sounds like it's actually not that bad. Was it the fit that was hard to alter then? I am asking this because I am a Vogue size 8, and Marfy patterns does not come any smaller than size 42. I really want to start making garments with Marfy patterns, but i am afraid that I will have a hard time adjusting the sizes down. thanks. :)
5/7/07 8:36 AM
Nancywin said...
I wear a vogue size 10 in the top, so one size up from you. I guess it would depend on the pattern. If you have a good fit book, it shouldn't be hard to make it smaller. for basic shaped pieces, its easy to pinch out 1/2" or more from the pattern, but when you get into pieces that run from the front to the back, it gets more complicated. The 3 fit books I use the most are Fitting Finesse by Nancy Zeiman Fast fit by Sandra Betzina and Fit for Real People by Palmer and Pletsch The dress I made would not be hard to size down, BUT you really need quite a bit of pattern experience (or an adventurous spirit) to know how to put the pieces together since they come with no directions. That's why I decided to try the "free" ones that come in the catalog before ordering any. It is a fun challenge.
5/7/07 11:33 AM
cmarie12 said...
Beautiful dress - I love the lace trim!
5/7/07 12:20 PM
jess12 said...
Love the dress, Wha a great start for the SWAP!!
5/7/07 12:21 PM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty. The lace trim is a nice touch. Can you tell me about how much fabric this took? I was looking at this for a nice print.
5/7/07 2:28 PM
Nancywin said...
This dress only used about 1.5 yards. The pattern calls for 1-1/8 of 55" My fabric was 45" and the pieces layed together so nicely that I didn't use much fabric at all. If you're going to use expensive fabric and don't want to buy extra, I would suggest laying it out on scrap fabric of the desired width and see what you come up with.
5/7/07 5:29 PM
Marji said...
Darling dress. Love the design lines and the fabric.
5/7/07 6:58 PM
jhansby said...
Love this dress!! A simple line but the lace hem makes it so special! Nice dress!
5/8/07 7:10 AM
Robin Denning said...
beautiful!
5/10/07 8:47 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
5/13/07 6:50 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress, great style lines. (Hey - who's that in the pictures with no neck brace?) The dress is nice on it's own, and the jacket is a great addition as well.
5/14/07 10:33 AM
Birgitte said...
You look so beautiful on Mother's Day... hard to believe you have two college age children! The dress is wonderful!
6/16/07 3:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2002-40

photo
by: 21wale

Review
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 60432-1022

photo
by: nicegirl

Review