SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 9829 (Free Top Pattern Spring 2006)

Viewed 1878 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/07 0:29 AM
Last Updated:5/8/07 2:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Lovely blouse, neat neckline.
5/14/07 8:20 PM
Liana said...
AndSewOn, I cut them 2" wide, since that's the width of the ruler I was using, and it seemed to be okay. I didn't turn it under on the inside since it's a knit, and it won't ravel.
5/10/07 1:18 AM
AndSewOn said...
Liana, I love that binding. I'm wondering -- how wide were your bias strips? And how did you finish the binding on the inside? Thanks so much.
5/8/07 10:24 PM
marjenann said...
What a really lovely top! Totally designer!
5/8/07 6:22 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Another winner, Luv the tip on the twisted binding. Less then a dollar a yd that's a double winner in my book.
5/8/07 3:32 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Great style, and lovely fit! I like the hem shaping a lot. Thanks for going through the details of your fitting process. Very educational.
5/8/07 11:43 AM
Liana said...
duplicate, sorry.
5/8/07 10:32 AM
Liana said...
ReBecca, I think this would work just fine in a woven as well, but you would definitely want bias strips.
5/8/07 9:24 AM
Jane S said...
This is lovely top on you, simple but distinctive. Thanks for that binding tip, I just saw it on a RTW T shirt in aboutique and thought it looked like a nice way to upgrade a simple shirt.
5/8/07 6:38 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute top, like the twisted binding.
5/8/07 5:22 AM
Linda G said...
Your top is wonderful...I really like the swooped up middle....thanks for the "twist" method tip on the binding.
5/7/07 6:08 PM
Vonnevo said...
This is lovely Liana. Thanks for sharing the tip on the binding :))
5/7/07 4:32 PM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all above - great top!
5/7/07 3:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love that twisted binding finish. This looks like a great basic pattern.
5/7/07 2:38 PM
Re Becca said...
very cute! I may have to dig this one out. Yours turned out very well, the twisted binding is a nice decorative touch. Do you think this would work well in wovens?
5/7/07 2:26 PM
cindy-lou said...
Ooooh, that's a slick trick with the twisted binding! A little detail that I'm sure takes a while, but is QUITE worth it.
5/7/07 11:50 AM
Liana said...
duplicate
5/7/07 9:50 AM
Liana said...
Thank you everyone! cindyann, there's a link to my Tip/Technique for the binding at the top of the review.
5/7/07 9:43 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice top. The neckline treatment is an interesting touch. How is this accomplished? I make a lot of tees and I'm always looking for ways to make them a little different.
5/7/07 9:04 AM
cathy45 said...
Lovely top. Love the bias binding tip.
5/7/07 8:51 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice looking top - love the idea of twisted binding - does add interest for sure!
5/7/07 8:25 AM
marjenann said...
Very smart looking top! The twisted binding is a great touch! Love it!
5/7/07 7:35 AM
MissCelie said...
I quite like that binding technique
5/7/07 6:11 AM
Lilibet said...
Nicely shaped top. Love the binding too.
5/7/07 2:24 AM
Nancywin said...
cute top. I'll have to try your binding technique
5/7/07 1:54 AM
hongkongshopper said...
This is really cute Liana, a bit different from a usual shell top. Like the tip on the binding. Thanks
5/7/07 1:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Dixie DIY One shoulder knit Dress

photo
by: thegreenvi...

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 3338

photo
by: Renren

Review