SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 9829 (Free Top Pattern Spring 2006)

Viewed 1877 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/7/07 0:29 AM
Last Updated:5/8/07 2:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
This is really cute Liana, a bit different from a usual shell top. Like the tip on the binding. Thanks
5/7/07 1:44 AM
Nancywin said...
cute top. I'll have to try your binding technique
5/7/07 1:54 AM
Lilibet said...
Nicely shaped top. Love the binding too.
5/7/07 2:24 AM
MissCelie said...
I quite like that binding technique
5/7/07 6:11 AM
marjenann said...
Very smart looking top! The twisted binding is a great touch! Love it!
5/7/07 7:35 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice looking top - love the idea of twisted binding - does add interest for sure!
5/7/07 8:25 AM
cathy45 said...
Lovely top. Love the bias binding tip.
5/7/07 8:51 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice top. The neckline treatment is an interesting touch. How is this accomplished? I make a lot of tees and I'm always looking for ways to make them a little different.
5/7/07 9:04 AM
Liana said...
Thank you everyone! cindyann, there's a link to my Tip/Technique for the binding at the top of the review.
5/7/07 9:43 AM
Liana said...
duplicate
5/7/07 9:50 AM
cindy-lou said...
Ooooh, that's a slick trick with the twisted binding! A little detail that I'm sure takes a while, but is QUITE worth it.
5/7/07 11:50 AM
Re Becca said...
very cute! I may have to dig this one out. Yours turned out very well, the twisted binding is a nice decorative touch. Do you think this would work well in wovens?
5/7/07 2:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love that twisted binding finish. This looks like a great basic pattern.
5/7/07 2:38 PM
Rhoda K said...
Ditto all above - great top!
5/7/07 3:50 PM
Vonnevo said...
This is lovely Liana. Thanks for sharing the tip on the binding :))
5/7/07 4:32 PM
Linda G said...
Your top is wonderful...I really like the swooped up middle....thanks for the "twist" method tip on the binding.
5/7/07 6:08 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute top, like the twisted binding.
5/8/07 5:22 AM
Jane S said...
This is lovely top on you, simple but distinctive. Thanks for that binding tip, I just saw it on a RTW T shirt in aboutique and thought it looked like a nice way to upgrade a simple shirt.
5/8/07 6:38 AM
Liana said...
ReBecca, I think this would work just fine in a woven as well, but you would definitely want bias strips.
5/8/07 9:24 AM
Liana said...
duplicate, sorry.
5/8/07 10:32 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Great style, and lovely fit! I like the hem shaping a lot. Thanks for going through the details of your fitting process. Very educational.
5/8/07 11:43 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Another winner, Luv the tip on the twisted binding. Less then a dollar a yd that's a double winner in my book.
5/8/07 3:32 PM
marjenann said...
What a really lovely top! Totally designer!
5/8/07 6:22 PM
AndSewOn said...
Liana, I love that binding. I'm wondering -- how wide were your bias strips? And how did you finish the binding on the inside? Thanks so much.
5/8/07 10:24 PM
Liana said...
AndSewOn, I cut them 2" wide, since that's the width of the ruler I was using, and it seemed to be okay. I didn't turn it under on the inside since it's a knit, and it won't ravel.
5/10/07 1:18 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely blouse, neat neckline.
5/14/07 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 1022

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns V8804

photo
by: redside

Review
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now