Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3389 (top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 794 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 267
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/07 10:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
didda said...
your top looks nice, and fits you well. i really like that color. . . . . . i just sewed this pattern this week, i made the view with sleeves and no embellishment . . . . out of silk dupioni. i had no problems fitting it. i sewed the lining before i even cut the silk. it fit great with no adjustments. i plan to wear it to go out dancing tomorrow night. . . . . . . . . i agree that contrasting piping and buttons would look cute on this pattern.
5/12/07 0:29 AM
MissCelie said...
The color is great on you. But, I understand 'comfort' too.
5/12/07 5:55 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, you and I have a psychic connection, b/c I just bought this pattern yesterday! I think sleeved with dupioni sounds lovely... but as a cami, I envisioned a stretch jaquard or lace (a THICKER one) with lace trim. Okay, this is not my idea... once again, it's Carol Anderson's (see here: http://www.cabionline.com/SPRING07/flash_index.asp and look for jaquard cami). Hers are gorgeous, just not big enough in the bust area :-( . You do such beautiful work, Nancy!
5/12/07 7:53 AM
Elaray said...
A very cute top! I think you may be right about the "low bust" syndrome. I made a top in which the bust didn't fit just right and it tended to rise up -- very uncomfortable. Maybe adjusting the princess seams so the bust ease is lower might help.
5/12/07 10:53 AM
suzanrossi said...
Looks great, Nancy. Let us know when/if/how you correct the bust pulling problem!
5/12/07 12:01 PM
Rhoda K said...
A very nice looking top and I, too, would like to know if/how you correct the fitting problem. I can relate on the "tugging" aspect.
5/12/07 1:26 PM
Nancywin said...
After I really analyzed this top, I think I need to make it smaller across the upper back, but make it larger in the bust and waist. I have taken out too much ease. There is more information on my blog Encue Creations
5/12/07 3:38 PM
AnneM said...
Excellent fit (at least as long as you don't move - looks perfectin the picture). Hopefully the additional adjustments you came up with will solve those problems.
5/19/07 9:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Wild Ginger Slinky Skirt & Wrap Top PMB3 & Curves
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 5/31/04
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $27.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Vanessa Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6216
photo
Review by Virginia H... on 11/20/13
Read Review

New Look 6142 Pattern
New Look 6142 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us