SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3389 (top)

7 more reviews
Viewed 794 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/07 10:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
didda said...
your top looks nice, and fits you well. i really like that color. . . . . . i just sewed this pattern this week, i made the view with sleeves and no embellishment . . . . out of silk dupioni. i had no problems fitting it. i sewed the lining before i even cut the silk. it fit great with no adjustments. i plan to wear it to go out dancing tomorrow night. . . . . . . . . i agree that contrasting piping and buttons would look cute on this pattern.
5/12/07 0:29 AM
MissCelie said...
The color is great on you. But, I understand 'comfort' too.
5/12/07 5:55 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, you and I have a psychic connection, b/c I just bought this pattern yesterday! I think sleeved with dupioni sounds lovely... but as a cami, I envisioned a stretch jaquard or lace (a THICKER one) with lace trim. Okay, this is not my idea... once again, it's Carol Anderson's (see here: http://www.cabionline.com/SPRING07/flash_index.asp and look for jaquard cami). Hers are gorgeous, just not big enough in the bust area :-( . You do such beautiful work, Nancy!
5/12/07 7:53 AM
Elaray said...
A very cute top! I think you may be right about the "low bust" syndrome. I made a top in which the bust didn't fit just right and it tended to rise up -- very uncomfortable. Maybe adjusting the princess seams so the bust ease is lower might help.
5/12/07 10:53 AM
suzanrossi said...
Looks great, Nancy. Let us know when/if/how you correct the bust pulling problem!
5/12/07 12:01 PM
Rhoda K said...
A very nice looking top and I, too, would like to know if/how you correct the fitting problem. I can relate on the "tugging" aspect.
5/12/07 1:26 PM
Nancywin said...
After I really analyzed this top, I think I need to make it smaller across the upper back, but make it larger in the bust and waist. I have taken out too much ease. There is more information on my blog Encue Creations
5/12/07 3:38 PM
AnneM said...
Excellent fit (at least as long as you don't move - looks perfectin the picture). Hopefully the additional adjustments you came up with will solve those problems.
5/19/07 9:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5783

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Butterick 5260

photo
by: marec

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Buy Now