Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2007-132 (wrap top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1185 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:mlt
photo
Friend of PR
About mltstar
NC USA
Member since: 5/25/04
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/07 12:24 PM
Last Updated:5/13/07 12:24 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
So So said...
Quick worker! (May 2007 Burda issue just got mine)Sorry it did not work out for you. Know how you feel. This has happened to me many many times.
5/13/07 1:47 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow, you're fast! That's disappointing the fit was so weird - I had this one earmarked to make for my mom for a gift, but if the fitting issues are so nonstandard, I'd be insane to make it without a proper fitting session... thanks for the review.
5/13/07 3:03 PM
Marlene J said...
I'm looking at the picture you posted and I think it's cute. It doesn't look like an unfitted bag at all. Look again. You look curvy and stylish.
5/13/07 6:37 PM
OP Gal said...
Sorry it didn't work, but glad you saved yourself a lot of grief by making a muslin.
5/13/07 7:43 PM
Mel.J said...
Wow that top looks really interesting, it's a shame it didn't work out for you. What kind of fabric did you make it in?
5/13/07 9:19 PM
mlt said...
Mel, it's unbleached, cotton muslin. After making it in that, I'm not going to bother with the real cotton shirting I have.
5/13/07 10:02 PM
Joann Eidhoff said...
I sewed this one up, too. After it was finished my daughter and I thought we might need instructions about putting it on. We had slits where we didn't need them, no material where we truly would have needed some and in the end lots of laughs about a wadder. The three hours I spent sewing were balanced out by the hours we have spent laughing about the fit. Good thing our linen wasn't all that expensive.
5/15/07 1:07 PM
akimbo said...
This is disappointing, I just bought this issue off eBay, especially for this pattern (though there is a lot of cute stuff in it). Too bad it didn't work for you, but thank you for sharing your disaster! I'll have to give this pattern a good look at when the magazine arrives and try a musiln myself.
5/21/07 4:02 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Good grief, I'm so sorry this didn't work for you! I loved this pattern so much it's the first time I ever graded down a pattern, but now I'll consider your cautionary tale. I'll have a look in a muslin if I can tack in lingerie guards to stave off the bra strap look. I was planning to wear it for teaching so that's definitely a no-no!
5/26/07 5:39 AM
WilsonZooKeeper said...
Thank you for this review. I was considering this pattern, but had concerns. Your muslin confirmed my fears. Thanks, too, for modeling your garments in your reviews!
6/1/07 11:28 AM
alex1104 said...
do you think this would have been better if made out of a softer fabric?
7/3/07 5:28 AM
mlt said...
Alex, Yes and no. The collar would be more drapy, but then it wouldn't have any body. The pattern actually calls for cotten/linen blend, so I think the muslin is fairly representative.
7/4/07 10:11 AM
dursley said...
I actually loved this top in the mag and couldn't wait to make it until I actually saw what it looked like on a "real" person. Glad I didn't buy the silk dupioni I had in mind for it. Doesn't look at all flattering for a plus sized person and yet it's designed for plus sizes only. Thanks for making the mistake for me!
8/29/07 6:39 PM
Karendee said...
I agree with an earlier reviewer; you look smashing in this top (muslin.) Just glance at your picture ( or squint your eyes) and see what a slimming effect the pattern shows. Granted, you need to shorten the arms, and do something with the showing love handles---but I really like the top on you.
1/21/08 7:45 PM
sewingdemon said...
I like it too! I'm just a beginner so I'm not sure I will attempt this, but if I did I think I would ignore their suggestion and go with a softer fabric - a stiff knit maybe? It's not working for me in the muslin but otherwise I think it's lovely on you.
11/11/08 11:46 AM
Auntchelle said...
Even tho' I've read this I think I'm still going to attempt it. My fabric is quite a bit different to yours and it will be interesting to see the variation. Wish me luck!
3/24/09 4:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4731
photo
Review by jenka on 7/20/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Lazy Days Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Virginia Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5045
photo
Review by marec on 6/25/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5748 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us