SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4076 (Misses Knit Tops)

203 more reviews
Viewed 1292 times 
Reviewed by:krinn
photo

 
 
About krinnstar
NJ USA
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:5/15/07 8:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTwin said...
Coool Top! My ds also had the same problem. I suggested spray starch the hem fabric that stabilizes the fabric making the fabric not stretch, and easier for the needle to not slip. Try it on a sample, of course.
6/11/07 1:52 AM
SewLil said...
I love t shirts! Every style, every sleeve length, every type collar. I recently discovered STRETCH STITCH on my machine. Mind you I've had the thing for 8 yearsLOL! Anyway, this is great when working with knits that require a little stretch. Set your width to 0 and turn the lenght to the SS on your machine. Viola! A hem that 'gives'.
6/7/07 12:01 PM
AnneM said...
Cute, I like it. I have to get around to using my version of this pattern.
5/25/07 6:30 AM
ConnieBJ said...
I just made this one last night in an hour. I agree it is a great too.
5/16/07 11:54 AM
ryan's mom said...
Nice top! This is one of my fave patterns. For the hem, I use Design Plus Fusible Stay Tape (bias for the necklines, straight for the hems). I use it on the front and back but leave about two inches free at the side seams for a little stretch in the hem. It helps prevent the waves, then I just do a narrow zigzag topstitch or use my stretch twin needle.
5/16/07 7:09 AM
KiwiWendy said...
cute top .. I've got the pattern in my stash just for this view
5/16/07 5:41 AM
Dmd4106 said...
very cute!
5/16/07 4:56 AM
JenSews2 said...
Great top! Try wash a way wonder tape for the hem or tear away stabilizer with either the small zig zag or double needle. It will help prevent the stretch out while sewing.
5/15/07 4:29 PM
krinn said...
thanks, everyone, for your suggestions on the hemming! I will have to try them next time!
5/15/07 4:13 PM
washer_woman said...
Very cute!!
5/15/07 4:07 PM
MissCelie said...
Cute tee. I'm starting to feel like the only one who hasn't made it.
5/15/07 3:43 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice. I made this last week and I'm wearing mine right now! I agree that it has a much nicer shape than one would guess from the pattern envelope.
5/15/07 2:39 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice top and I like the sleeve style. Thanks for your review.
5/15/07 1:44 PM
carolhope said...
Cute top. Love the sleeve length and higher neckline. For the hem, I have tried using a double needle and my walking foot, and I'm still not happy with them, so I hand hem. Looks neat and really takes little time.
5/15/07 12:24 PM
Erica B. said...
Very cute... I love the color. You can use a twin stretch needle to do the hem.
5/15/07 11:47 AM
bunz said...
What a cute top! I agree w the double needle & you even might try a walking foot.
5/15/07 11:36 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice tee! You did a great job on it. For hemming knits, sometimes I use a regular zigzag and sometimes I get out my twin needle. I usually leave the hem edge raw since it won't fray.
5/15/07 9:07 AM
craftyshark said...
Cute top! It looks very nice on you. As for sewing hems on jersey, I've had a little better results with hems and seams if I very gently stretch the fabric while I'm sewing so that both layers feed through at the same rate.
5/15/07 9:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

BurdaStyle Downloadable burdatyle handbook blouse

photo
by: jillmandy

Review
Vogue Patterns 8831

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

More Info