Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4076 (Misses Knit Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1292 times 205 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:krinn
photo
About krinnstar
NJ USA
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:5/15/07 8:40 AM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
craftyshark said...
Cute top! It looks very nice on you. As for sewing hems on jersey, I've had a little better results with hems and seams if I very gently stretch the fabric while I'm sewing so that both layers feed through at the same rate.
5/15/07 9:03 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice tee! You did a great job on it. For hemming knits, sometimes I use a regular zigzag and sometimes I get out my twin needle. I usually leave the hem edge raw since it won't fray.
5/15/07 9:07 AM
bunz said...
What a cute top! I agree w the double needle & you even might try a walking foot.
5/15/07 11:36 AM
Erica B. said...
Very cute... I love the color. You can use a twin stretch needle to do the hem.
5/15/07 11:47 AM
carolhope said...
Cute top. Love the sleeve length and higher neckline. For the hem, I have tried using a double needle and my walking foot, and I'm still not happy with them, so I hand hem. Looks neat and really takes little time.
5/15/07 12:24 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice top and I like the sleeve style. Thanks for your review.
5/15/07 1:44 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice. I made this last week and I'm wearing mine right now! I agree that it has a much nicer shape than one would guess from the pattern envelope.
5/15/07 2:39 PM
MissCelie said...
Cute tee. I'm starting to feel like the only one who hasn't made it.
5/15/07 3:43 PM
washer_woman said...
Very cute!!
5/15/07 4:07 PM
krinn said...
thanks, everyone, for your suggestions on the hemming! I will have to try them next time!
5/15/07 4:13 PM
JenSews2 said...
Great top! Try wash a way wonder tape for the hem or tear away stabilizer with either the small zig zag or double needle. It will help prevent the stretch out while sewing.
5/15/07 4:29 PM
Dmd4106 said...
very cute!
5/16/07 4:56 AM
KiwiWendy said...
cute top .. I've got the pattern in my stash just for this view
5/16/07 5:41 AM
ryan's mom said...
Nice top! This is one of my fave patterns. For the hem, I use Design Plus Fusible Stay Tape (bias for the necklines, straight for the hems). I use it on the front and back but leave about two inches free at the side seams for a little stretch in the hem. It helps prevent the waves, then I just do a narrow zigzag topstitch or use my stretch twin needle.
5/16/07 7:09 AM
ConnieBJ said...
I just made this one last night in an hour. I agree it is a great too.
5/16/07 11:54 AM
AnneM said...
Cute, I like it. I have to get around to using my version of this pattern.
5/25/07 6:30 AM
SewLil said...
I love t shirts! Every style, every sleeve length, every type collar. I recently discovered STRETCH STITCH on my machine. Mind you I've had the thing for 8 yearsLOL! Anyway, this is great when working with knits that require a little stretch. Set your width to 0 and turn the lenght to the SS on your machine. Viola! A hem that 'gives'.
6/7/07 12:01 PM
SewTwin said...
Coool Top! My ds also had the same problem. I suggested spray starch the hem fabric that stabilizes the fabric making the fabric not stretch, and easier for the needle to not slip. Try it on a sample, of course.
6/11/07 1:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 4668 Bag
photo
Review by Allisonsew... on 5/15/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6357
photo
Review by lovenicky on 8/21/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us