Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4657 (Maggy London Ruched Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2096 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/07 1:12 PM
Last Updated:5/17/07 1:12 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jjwalker said...
So VERY gorgeous. Your fabric (too good to use) was just waiting for the right thing to be used for...:) Love it - and you did a great job with the zipper, I always love your innovation with stuff like that.
5/17/07 1:17 PM
krissie said...
Beautiful, beautiful dress! I think you have made a $500 dress, not a $178 dress. You matched fabric to pattern needs very well. My figure is similar to yours, so I enjoyed hearing your friend's comment. And you look like you're having lots of fun!
5/17/07 1:34 PM
Karen6790 said...
That fabric was definitely worth holding onto all those years - this was the right dress for it, though I don't envy you the joy of cutting all those fiddly pieces out of silk chiffon. Beautiful dress, and it looks great on you.
5/17/07 1:42 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress! I loved reading your review of it. :-)
5/17/07 2:29 PM
Vivienne said...
My first reaction to the photo was "Trena should get married in this dress". This dress stops and starts in all the right places. You look fabulous.
5/17/07 3:26 PM
Vonnevo said...
Love it ...and your review :)))
5/17/07 3:29 PM
Seaspur said...
Beautiful dress, fantastice review.
5/17/07 3:32 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Lovely dress, you look so beautiful in it. All that hard work..super effort..LOVE you reviews!
5/17/07 4:25 PM
Tiner W said...
Fabulous dress!
5/17/07 4:40 PM
mochalover said...
Another great dress. I am so envious. Where do you get the time?
5/17/07 7:34 PM
SarahWeb said...
Very cute dress, and well modeled. I love the colors on you. You need to do more weddings!
5/17/07 9:24 PM
carolynw said...
Well there you go again - another winner. Glad you could tell us of someone of the opposite sex attracted to you and this dress - you are getting rave reviews here but all women Ha Ha!! You look lovely as always even tho you say that you were tired.
5/17/07 10:37 PM
EastwoodFan said...
Thanks for an informative review. Beautiful dress & fabric.
5/17/07 11:28 PM
MissCelie said...
Just great. We'll have to coordinate our outfits for our outing!
5/17/07 11:44 PM
Nancywin said...
Another outstanding dress NG. Glad you used that tgtbu fabric!
5/18/07 0:10 AM
Carolyndh said...
Another very classy creation of yours! Awesome party dress.
5/18/07 1:01 AM
Dmd4106 said...
So very pretty. I luv the print.Great review. I like it when reviewers note the time construct took them, even though we all are at different levels and speed. Its me judge whether its realistically doable for me. :-)
5/18/07 1:55 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty dress!
5/18/07 5:32 AM
LorelleD said...
Gorgeous dress. It looks really beautiful on you. Thanks for the review. Very informative.
5/18/07 5:44 AM
chrisquilts_2 said...
you've done it again! beautiful.
5/18/07 10:33 AM
slanden99 said...
Absolutely beautiful dress!
5/18/07 6:05 PM
tweedcurtain said...
Lovely marriage of fabric and pattern. I have this pattern and while your finished result inspires me to try it, your frank and honest report of the effort required has me sitting on the fence! Nordstrom has a similar dress here: http://tinyurl.com/3b282e
5/18/07 11:01 PM
greenmommie said...
Beautiful dress and Kudos to you for finishing it! I started a Maggy London dress lst summer for a wedding and it's still a ufo. Your's is just amazing!
5/18/07 11:26 PM
Jane S said...
Exquisite dress and you look wonderful wearing it...even with the model "mood."
5/20/07 7:13 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice; it really looks great. Elegant (and it doesn't look crooked on you). You don't look mournful in the picture, just cute - I like how you pose reminiscent of the pattern picture. (I try to do that but I'm not as good at it as you.) Excellent dress to wear any time you have an excuse. I probably won't be trying this, though, if it took you 3 weeks to make.
5/30/07 5:09 PM
SewTwin said...
Wow! What a dress! This look is worth twice the price! You have great nerve cutting into that fabric! I hope to make some flimsy tops for summer. We will see........
6/12/07 3:15 AM
missew said...
Fabulous dress, it looks beautiful on you! I'm about to start making mine and I hope it comes out as good as yours. Thanks for the review it will be of great help.
9/27/07 8:49 AM
Samdance said...
I just finished making up this pattern, and wore it last night. Your review and the others were so helpful, I had some of the same issues (like drooping ruched parts) but they didn't stop me in my tracks like they might have.
7/13/08 10:51 AM
Gngr said...
Several helpful comments here: on the drooping ruching and also on seam trimming at the shoulder, zipper placement, skirt lining. I am about to embark on this pattern in a silk georgette over crepe for a client, as a bridesmaid's dress. What kind of a bra is suitable for this dress?
12/30/08 4:16 PM
sewingripper said...
Thanks for the many tips. I am making this for my sister who will mother of the bride. Side zipper, lower back--great ideas that my sister appreciates. I am also glad to know to set aside plenty of time for this one, on top of the five bridesmaids gowns and bridal gown alterations. Thanks, great review
5/12/09 4:41 PM
MarianS said...
Thanks for all the good advice. I'm not so sure if I want to tackle this now. I've got the pattern & fabrics, but I know it will be a huge challange.
8/17/09 6:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6415 Pants
photo
Review by RuthieSews on 4/19/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us