Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3059 (Polo shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 818 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:krinn
photo
About krinnstar
NJ USA
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/07 7:54 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
The contrasting fabric really makes this shirt. Good Job. Oh - as far as sewing sleeves - many of us "sew the sleeves in flat". It really is much easier that way. It can't be done with all patterns but it works for most. Glad you found that helpful.
5/21/07 8:47 AM
JuliaS said...
This looks great! I am relatively new to knits myself and have just recently figured out the combination of techniques that works for me. I am so in love with sewing with knits now, though, so stick with it and soon you will be churning out much-loved polos. :)
5/21/07 8:53 AM
carolynw said...
Nice color combo
5/21/07 9:05 AM
JenSews2 said...
Very nice! I'm going to have to try this one!
5/21/07 9:46 AM
Em's Summer said...
I do see what you mean about the collar placement. Maybe on the next one, you can mark where the collar should be by laying the top flat and marking where the collar should end on each side before you sew (after you do this, mark your pattern). The top looks great, but if you center your collar, it'll look even better! And you did a great job with the placket. It might look a little uneven, but that's probably because the collar wasn't centered. I've been looking for a placket knit top and will have to get this pattern! Thanks for this great review!
5/21/07 10:58 AM
So So said...
love the colours youhave chosen. you are fair zipping through your SWAP!
5/21/07 11:09 AM
Erica B. said...
Very neat! I've never made a polo style shirt, but now, it's on my list. Thanks for a great review.
5/21/07 1:07 PM
Larkin said...
Thanks for all the warnings about the placket and the pattern visuals. I love the two color treatment that you did. Great shirt!
5/22/07 2:39 AM
fatbaby said...
You did a wonderful job, and I too like the semi-fitted style. I don't like the boxy look or the tight fitting look so I think this pattern would be great. I bet we could make alterations to the neck area to make an array of different tops! Gotta get this one. Wanda (fatbaby)
5/22/07 7:27 AM
LauraM62 said...
I really like your shirt, love the contrasting fabric! As far as the neckline goes, I caught the same with their kids polo I did. It took me a couple tries but by moving over the cut & fold lines, etc I got it more to my liking. I think it was my retentative disorder :lol: cause it bug me more then anyone else. For your buttonholes, I find using some tear-away stablizer helps, especially with knits. Keeps it from being pulled down into the machine or knotting up. (I just read this as a tip to in one my sewing mags :lol:)
5/22/07 7:53 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous top - I love the contrasting fabric for the collar and sleeve bands. I never even looked twice at this pattern, now I may just have to get this one to add to my ever growing collection. Way to go getting so much done on your SWAP! :-)
5/22/07 10:20 PM
jaeng said...
Must be so hard to sew placket in knit, great job!
6/1/07 10:45 AM
AnneM said...
I really like that color combination. I wouldn't have thought of it. Great job on your top.
6/3/07 8:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Burda 8292 Coats
photo
Review by lbrundage on 10/19/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8235 Misses Dress
photo
Review by mimi g. on 4/14/08
Read Review

Burda 7021 Pattern
Burda 7021 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3775 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3775 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us