Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4790 (Retro '52 Wrap Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 3785 times 63 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:moss
photo
About mossstar
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/22/07 7:49 AM
Last Updated:5/22/07 7:49 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said...
Looks gorgeous on you. Really beautiful. Love the fabric choice.
5/22/07 8:38 AM
Peggy L said...
Great dress! Love the binding - like the way you put it on the hem.
5/22/07 8:41 AM
Lynngray said...
Looks wonderful on you. Love the fabric you chose. Great job
5/22/07 8:56 AM
cindyann said...
How fresh and sweet. The binding is a perfect compliment to the dress.
5/22/07 9:00 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful job. It looks great.
5/22/07 9:05 AM
jjwalker said...
Every time I see a review of this pattern, I want to rush home and start it! Yours is no exception. (Now I just have to find some fabric...)
5/22/07 9:07 AM
moss said...
thanks everyone! I forgot to say, I raised back neckline by a good two inches by increasing the seam allowance at the shoulder (after I had sewn on the bias binding, ahh.. good times) for the back piece only.
5/22/07 9:29 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Love the polka dots!
5/22/07 9:58 AM
ladybegood said...
Beautiful! Your pattern seems to swing open in the front more than other reviewers. Did you do anything to get it to do that, or do you think it is the 'fashion clip'?
5/22/07 10:40 AM
moss said...
hmmm... ladybegood.. no, I did not do anything on purpose. It may be that the ottoman is very heavy? The back (small dots) is very heavy and pulls back a lot. Maybe it is pulling open?... Or maybe it is only fastened at the very top of the front.
5/22/07 11:01 AM
Carolyndh said...
Love the effect of the two different polka dots and the wrap effect with wrapped edges. Awesome!
5/22/07 11:48 AM
jeanbluecat said...
Cute, cute, cute. Great job!
5/22/07 12:09 PM
nicegirl said...
Fabulous choice of prints! They look so cute together.
5/22/07 12:57 PM
tomed said...
Very cute!
5/22/07 1:30 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Too Cutie Patootie.
5/22/07 2:30 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Great choice of fabrics! But I wonder whether you did a burn test on that so-fraying fabric? Things are mislabeled sometimes, even if not always deliberately...
5/22/07 2:44 PM
linda 75142 said...
LOVE that fabric. Great dress!
5/22/07 5:45 PM
Tany said...
Lovely dress, congratulations!
5/22/07 6:12 PM
Lori V said...
A cute, fun dress.
5/22/07 7:02 PM
MareeAlison said...
Wow - fantastic.
5/22/07 8:01 PM
Sewbe said...
How creative!! It really looks nice on you! I bet you get lots of compliments!!
5/22/07 9:00 PM
LauraTS said...
This looks adorable in the two different b/w dot fabrics. Very cute.
5/22/07 9:32 PM
Linda G said...
Very beautiful and great job.
5/22/07 9:40 PM
Annette1 said...
I really think this is one of your BEST outfits yet, Moss. It really looks nice on you, and your fabric choices are just perfect!
5/23/07 0:30 AM
Karine said...
You did a beautiful job. Your choice of fabrics and the bias binding are perfect!
5/23/07 6:32 AM
JeanetteE said...
Love your dress. Too cute.
5/23/07 7:40 AM
jhansby said...
Awesome dress....and I just LOVE the polka dots!!
5/23/07 7:42 AM
Huldra said...
very nice combination of fabrics!
5/23/07 7:47 AM
cathy45 said...
Too cute! Love the two different polka dots.
5/23/07 8:13 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Love your fabric choice! The dress looks outstanding on you!!
5/23/07 10:07 AM
madhatter said...
great! i'm in love with the polka dots! :)
5/23/07 11:02 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a cool retro dress! Great review!
5/23/07 11:31 AM
Laurie Lou said...
I really like the way you put it together with the black on top and I like the ribbon tie...Yours is much cuter than the pattern picture. Plus your dress looks very slenderizing...maybe because of the dots/black and white. I hate to copy people but I like yours so much I might do exactly what you did! Thanks for a fun review.
5/23/07 12:12 PM
moss said...
Loreo, feel free. I got the fabric here, I got two yards of the large polka dots and three yards of the small. Thanks everyone for your nice comments! I am overwhelmed! :)
5/23/07 1:38 PM
twistedangel said...
pretty awesome!
5/23/07 8:18 PM
Schnauzer said...
Fabulous, absolutely gorgeous!
5/24/07 11:02 PM
Donna Isler said...
This is just gorgeous. Did you really sew it all by hand? How long did that take?
6/4/07 11:07 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Very flattering, so cute. I like the bias hem too.
6/5/07 3:43 AM
moss said...
wow, I'm famous on the internet. :) Donna, it took about a week's worth of sewing.. I cut it out on Friday and then I would work on it for an hour or two every night after work. So 10-20 hours maybe? I ran out of bias and had to go get more. Also, I want to update... I wore this dress to a party and there was lots of energetic dancing and it behaved perfectly. There were no troubles with opening or collapsing. I am really very happy with this dress.
6/6/07 11:52 AM
Sew Shy said...
Fresh and absolutely gorgeous! Love the fabric combo. Looks so much better than any RTW (as in, I'd pay money for this dress).
9/13/07 3:32 AM
nolasewer said...
I saw the pattern envelope, but this dress is what needs to be there- I hated the pattern until I saw your review! Your dress changed my mind! Thanks!
2/11/08 5:21 PM
arianamaniacs said...
That's how this pattern was supposed to be made! Great fabric choices!
4/20/10 6:29 AM
Claverie said...
42 comments?!? That definitely shows what a great dress you put together here. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
8/28/11 1:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 3242 OOP
photo
Review by MaryDB on 3/10/09
Read Review

Burda 7155 Pattern
Burda 7155 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3134
photo
Review by GailV on 8/10/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us