SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4790 (Retro '52 Wrap Dress)

68 more reviews
Viewed 3813 times 
Reviewed by:moss
photo

 
 
About mossstar
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:5/22/07 7:49 AM
Last Updated:5/22/07 7:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Claverie said...
42 comments?!? That definitely shows what a great dress you put together here. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
8/28/11 1:10 PM
arianamaniacs said...
That's how this pattern was supposed to be made! Great fabric choices!
4/20/10 6:29 AM
nolasewer said...
I saw the pattern envelope, but this dress is what needs to be there- I hated the pattern until I saw your review! Your dress changed my mind! Thanks!
2/11/08 5:21 PM
Sew Shy said...
Fresh and absolutely gorgeous! Love the fabric combo. Looks so much better than any RTW (as in, I'd pay money for this dress).
9/13/07 3:32 AM
moss said...
wow, I'm famous on the internet. :) Donna, it took about a week's worth of sewing.. I cut it out on Friday and then I would work on it for an hour or two every night after work. So 10-20 hours maybe? I ran out of bias and had to go get more. Also, I want to update... I wore this dress to a party and there was lots of energetic dancing and it behaved perfectly. There were no troubles with opening or collapsing. I am really very happy with this dress.
6/6/07 11:52 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Very flattering, so cute. I like the bias hem too.
6/5/07 3:43 AM
Donna Isler said...
This is just gorgeous. Did you really sew it all by hand? How long did that take?
6/4/07 11:07 AM
Schnauzer said...
Fabulous, absolutely gorgeous!
5/24/07 11:02 PM
twistedangel said...
pretty awesome!
5/23/07 8:18 PM
moss said...
Loreo, feel free. I got the fabric here, I got two yards of the large polka dots and three yards of the small. Thanks everyone for your nice comments! I am overwhelmed! :)
5/23/07 1:38 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I really like the way you put it together with the black on top and I like the ribbon tie...Yours is much cuter than the pattern picture. Plus your dress looks very slenderizing...maybe because of the dots/black and white. I hate to copy people but I like yours so much I might do exactly what you did! Thanks for a fun review.
5/23/07 12:12 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a cool retro dress! Great review!
5/23/07 11:31 AM
madhatter said...
great! i'm in love with the polka dots! :)
5/23/07 11:02 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Love your fabric choice! The dress looks outstanding on you!!
5/23/07 10:07 AM
cathy45 said...
Too cute! Love the two different polka dots.
5/23/07 8:13 AM
Huldra said...
very nice combination of fabrics!
5/23/07 7:47 AM
jhansby said...
Awesome dress....and I just LOVE the polka dots!!
5/23/07 7:42 AM
JeanetteE said...
Love your dress. Too cute.
5/23/07 7:40 AM
Karine said...
You did a beautiful job. Your choice of fabrics and the bias binding are perfect!
5/23/07 6:32 AM
Annette1 said...
I really think this is one of your BEST outfits yet, Moss. It really looks nice on you, and your fabric choices are just perfect!
5/23/07 0:30 AM
Linda G said...
Very beautiful and great job.
5/22/07 9:40 PM
LauraTS said...
This looks adorable in the two different b/w dot fabrics. Very cute.
5/22/07 9:32 PM
Sewbe said...
How creative!! It really looks nice on you! I bet you get lots of compliments!!
5/22/07 9:00 PM
MareeAlison said...
Wow - fantastic.
5/22/07 8:01 PM
Lori V said...
A cute, fun dress.
5/22/07 7:02 PM
Tany said...
Lovely dress, congratulations!
5/22/07 6:12 PM
linda 75142 said...
LOVE that fabric. Great dress!
5/22/07 5:45 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Great choice of fabrics! But I wonder whether you did a burn test on that so-fraying fabric? Things are mislabeled sometimes, even if not always deliberately...
5/22/07 2:44 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Too Cutie Patootie.
5/22/07 2:30 PM
tomed said...
Very cute!
5/22/07 1:30 PM
nicegirl said...
Fabulous choice of prints! They look so cute together.
5/22/07 12:57 PM
jeanbluecat said...
Cute, cute, cute. Great job!
5/22/07 12:09 PM
Carolyndh said...
Love the effect of the two different polka dots and the wrap effect with wrapped edges. Awesome!
5/22/07 11:48 AM
moss said...
hmmm... ladybegood.. no, I did not do anything on purpose. It may be that the ottoman is very heavy? The back (small dots) is very heavy and pulls back a lot. Maybe it is pulling open?... Or maybe it is only fastened at the very top of the front.
5/22/07 11:01 AM
ladybegood said...
Beautiful! Your pattern seems to swing open in the front more than other reviewers. Did you do anything to get it to do that, or do you think it is the 'fashion clip'?
5/22/07 10:40 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Love the polka dots!
5/22/07 9:58 AM
moss said...
thanks everyone! I forgot to say, I raised back neckline by a good two inches by increasing the seam allowance at the shoulder (after I had sewn on the bias binding, ahh.. good times) for the back piece only.
5/22/07 9:29 AM
jjwalker said...
Every time I see a review of this pattern, I want to rush home and start it! Yours is no exception. (Now I just have to find some fabric...)
5/22/07 9:07 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Wonderful job. It looks great.
5/22/07 9:05 AM
cindyann said...
How fresh and sweet. The binding is a perfect compliment to the dress.
5/22/07 9:00 AM
Lynngray said...
Looks wonderful on you. Love the fabric you chose. Great job
5/22/07 8:56 AM
Peggy L said...
Great dress! Love the binding - like the way you put it on the hem.
5/22/07 8:41 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Looks gorgeous on you. Really beautiful. Love the fabric choice.
5/22/07 8:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5608

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now