SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 84915-1000 (American Casual Kilt)

Viewed 2264 times 
Reviewed by:tiedyedrose
photo

 
 
About tiedyedrosestar
MI
Member since: 1/15/07
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/07 10:51 AM
Last Updated:9/20/07 3:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew What Teri said...
Thank you for this review, unfortunately my timing is off and your photos are migrating to Flicker from Yahoo.
9/19/07 9:58 AM
AnneM said...
Neat kilt. Great job, and it's always so wonderful to make something appreciated.
7/1/07 5:03 PM
tiedyedrose said...
rkell, you'll have to email me, and I'll try to send you some more information. jessica_schmenk at yahoo.com
Missy*spring - whereabouts in Michigan are you?
6/13/07 11:59 AM
Missy*spring said...
Hi! Love love love the kilt!!! We are also in Michigan...and my hubby is 1/2 scottish. Kilt wedding and our son wears his kilt to all big events. I hope you don't mind I forwarded your pics to my dh to see if he is "Brave" enough. I would love to have him wear one all the time...wink wink...something about a man in a kilt. :-) Great job!!
6/13/07 0:18 AM
rkell said...
I would love to get more specific info on the pleating and apron measurements. I, too, don't want to spend the money at utilikilts. I was hoping to get this information as soon as possible
6/11/07 8:15 PM
Mufffet said...
Great review and interesting web link to the Bravehearts in Kilts site. My youngest son was a groomsman in his friends wedding and all the men wore kilts...he kinda thought they were cool! ;) They all looked really good.
5/30/07 11:02 PM
tiedyedrose said...
Thanks to everyone for the kind comments. I have a lot of fun making these and would love to see more men in kilts! If anyone has questions about the construction process, feel free to PM me.
5/29/07 8:28 AM
Irene Q said...
What a fun review - and very helpful too! Could there be a new trend starting on Pattern Review??
5/25/07 2:16 PM
Skymom said...
No skirts for the men in my family, I think, but your kilt looks wonderful. I've always like the Utilikilts, and this looks just as good.
5/25/07 11:04 AM
Marji said...
Interesting review, great job - they are a ton of work to make. Love the Braveheart article too. My dh is one who would never be caught dead in anything other than a garment with legs.
5/25/07 8:45 AM
jhansby said...
Great job!!....And I love the link you sent for the Braveheart page!! I love men in kilts!!!
5/25/07 3:13 AM
SaraD said...
This is awesome! My freinds husband was just asking for her/us to make him a kilt. Thanks for the great information.
5/24/07 10:12 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks for the great review!! I learned alot. Looks like these would be comfortable! Carla
5/24/07 1:50 PM
crystalwoods said...
Wow! you have inspired me! Great review and great links to information. I can't wait to start one for my DBF!
5/24/07 1:49 PM
ConnieBJ said...
I have a Utilikilt and I love it - actually bought it for my husband but he won't be caught dead in it. Kudos to you for making it and your husband for looking so fabulous in it!
5/24/07 1:41 PM
pterion said...
I really learned a lot from your review! I had no idea there was so much fabric in there - your pictures of the pleating process are very impressive. And the Bravehearts link was pretty thought-provoking as well.
5/24/07 12:38 PM
suzanrossi said...
Thanks for the fun and informative review. Enjoyed the Bravehearts link, too. I'd love to see my cowboy husband in one of these! Hmmm
5/24/07 12:09 PM
Luckylibbet said...
I'll never talk my DH into this- yours looks wonderful, and wonderfully comfortable in his. Good job.
5/24/07 11:55 AM
frogs2 said...
Bravo! wonderful kilt, great review! One of my life's great pleasures is watching my husband's pleats swing when he strides in his kilt. I'm particularly impressed with how the buttons provide the functionality of the sporran in keeping the apron closed. Nice job!
5/24/07 11:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

New Look 6675

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

More Info
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

More Info
Jalie 2908

photo
by: Lisa Gaska...

Review

Pattern