SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5393 (Misses' Shorts and Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1079 times 
Reviewed by:krinn
photo

 
 
About krinnstar
NJ USA
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/07 4:02 PM
Last Updated:5/26/07 4:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
missusprim said...
Course, I'm a wee bit 'heftier' than you but I've been looking high and low for a pattern like this. As of this date it's not available in the stores but I found one online so I'm going to get it. I have a few pair of cargo pants like these (RTW) and I just love them. I've read the reviews and I think I'll tackle them. You gave lots of useful hints on your experiences with this that I'm sure I'll find useful. Looking at the pic, I think I'll make the buttonholes for the drawstring at the waist closer together near the center. I also think I will sew down the pleats in the pockets so it lessens my ironing time as I don't need that extra room anyway that the pleat affords. Overall, I think you did a fabulous job. Glad you got through the fly part eventually. Hopefully, if I make these I will make them in a stretch twill or sateen solid or maybe a print if I'm feeling adventurous. Will see about a pic if the end result is good.!
8/17/09 10:47 AM
hemphill3 said...
I like the Sandra tip that you included. She makes it all look so easy!
2/5/09 2:48 PM
Hilary said...
Oh, I am so glad to find this review! I have this pattern and was planning on making them for an outing next weekend. Same view, too :o) Yours turned out REALLY cute, they look great on you! It doesn't look like they were made by a beginner at all-excellent work!
6/7/07 12:51 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! Those are SEW cute!!!! on you! I'm thinking both my older dds would love them. Love also what you're doing with photshop for your SWAP -- you're a natural! Oh, and I think you need to adjust your sewing skills to intermediate.
6/4/07 11:55 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Very cute pants and a **fabulous** fit. Love 'em.
5/27/07 4:57 PM
janem123 said...
Great looking pants. Very stylish.
5/27/07 10:30 AM
MissCelie said...
So, you must know that the envelope picture leaves much to be desired. They should call you and ask to use yours instead because they are adorable!
5/27/07 8:29 AM
ALY said...
The pants look great. Very RTW. I like the fabrics and patterns you have in your swap. You will have a terrific wardrobe when you get done. The cats in the picture for "scale'' made me chuckle. My sewing buddy is a well fed longhair. She would not be a good measure of scale.
5/27/07 8:17 AM
EveS said...
Those are GREAT pants!!! VERY rtw!!! You've moved me one step closer to diving into the scary world o' pants!
5/26/07 11:17 PM
Lori V said...
cute pants, fun style. Great job on your SWAP progress.
5/26/07 10:48 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love the style of those pants! Great review!
5/26/07 10:30 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I think they look perfect. Congratulations!
5/26/07 7:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
Cute pants and they fit you so well!
5/26/07 7:11 PM
Levone said...
Cute pants, they look great on you. You're moving right along with your SWAP pieces.
5/26/07 5:38 PM
bunz said...
Really nice-looking! I agree w you abt the ties.
5/26/07 5:14 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Cute pants.
5/26/07 4:41 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Great work, neat pants and incredible fit. Everything is easier the second time around...so go for another pair.
5/26/07 4:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 1300

photo
by: Westy85

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-104

photo
by: crisford

Review
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now