Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2003-124 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1825 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/03 2:33 AM
Last Updated:1/29/03 10:07 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kitty said...
Oh, that is too awsome !! The gathers on the front weren't too complicated? I love the way it looks on you !!
1/29/03 2:55 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Deepika, this looks perfect on you, compliments your figure in a great way and the color is beautiful, Very good, congrats!!!
1/29/03 4:43 AM
Judy Williment said...
I saw this one on the Burda website, and I liked it then - thanks for the heads up on the neckband and size, which will save me headaches when the issue arrives in New Zealand!
1/29/03 5:21 AM
said...
Great top ! Did you use the matte rayon jersey from Trimfabric.com ?
1/29/03 5:57 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Deepika, it doesn't look too tight in the photo. It does look very figure flattering, and better on you than in the mag! Congrats on figuring out those pesky directions! ;)
1/29/03 7:20 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I have been looking at this pattern since DH got me a subscription to this magazine for Christmas. Your top is beautiful, and the fit and color look great!
1/29/03 8:10 AM
Lisette said...
I love your top! I have been looking at that pattern and trying to decide which fabric to use. What is the fabric content of your matte jersey?
1/29/03 9:57 AM
Lou. said...
Love it! looks great!!
1/29/03 10:04 AM
Deepika said...
Kitty the gathers was the easiest part of this top! I have edited my review to include directions for that as well. Judy in my neck version I will be just binding the neck with the regular method. The neckband method is not worth the trouble. Bettina yes the fabric is matt jersey from TrimFabric but I am not impressed with the quality. Even though I preshrunk the fabric, I hope it does not shrink more! Sabrina I dont remember the fabric content but I think its rayon and lycra with some poly... not sure.

Thanks everyone for such nice comments! It's always so much fun to read comments! Who else can share the joy of sewing. After a rough day at work, sewing saved my day last night!
1/29/03 10:11 AM
cindyann said...
Geez Depika, you sure have a nice figure! (green with envy) The top looks great on you and is nicely done. Thanks for the detailed review.
1/29/03 10:30 AM
Gloria Allender said...
Deepika, your top looks great! I was thinking about making this for my daughter and will definitely go ahead with it now. Thanks for sharing your tips.
1/29/03 10:37 AM
Alana Robson said...
Okay, you've convinced me! This is the exact one I was contemplating. I did think that the two-piece neckband was unusual and thought it would irritate me at the neck-shoulder intersection. Thanks for giving us your advice, I'm just going to use a standard one piece neckband applied in a circle as usual.
1/29/03 12:28 PM
kerina said...
This is a really cool looking top. It convinced me to overcome my fear of Burda Magazine. I'm going to start getting it this month. Thanks for the review!
1/29/03 12:33 PM
Deepika said...
ok I am wearing this top today to work and I dont know if its the fabric or the pattern but its way too tight for me. This is my first attempt with matt jersey. Are you supposed to go one size bigger for this fabric? The armholes are uncomfortable. Are burda wof sizes different from that of their patterns? You might want to measure before you just choose your regular burda size. The sleeve cap is also very fitted and it requires fair amount of easing in.
1/29/03 12:34 PM
Star said...
Cute, cute, cute...how do I get that Burda WOF subscription?
1/29/03 12:53 PM
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for reviewing this, Deepika. I had my eye on this one too! Your tips will be very helpful.
1/29/03 2:26 PM
Deepika said...
Star here's a Review of Burda WOF there is address and telephone number at the end of the review.
1/29/03 2:26 PM
Star said...
Thanks, Deepika, I should have known to look on this site!!
1/29/03 3:08 PM
Femme said...
Deepika, I made up the LH cowl neck top in rayon matte jersey from Trimfabric.com last weekend, and it also was rather tight and small. This fabric just isn't as stretchy as most knits; it's very stable. (It also makes me feel cold wearing it!) Also I use mostly Burda WOF patterns and hardly ever use their directions. If you have a better technique for doing something, just use it and don't worry about it.
1/29/03 3:16 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks Femme. It helps to know I used the right size. The fabric just wasn't right. I am planning to make one in cotton/lycra. What do you think?
1/29/03 3:43 PM
Georgene said...
Deepika, matte jersey is a wonderfull fabric in the right application. It has become so popular that now there are many different qualitiesavailable. The real rayon matte jersey is soft drapey and wonderful, but you're right, I wouldn't want it tight and close to the body. Jasco rayon matte jersey (the best) is recognizable by the little silky tufty threads about 1/8" long along the selvedge. Generally not cheap, but sooo nice. Pre-wash fabric if you don't want to dry clean.
1/29/03 6:00 PM
Diane E said...
Wow, Deepika, this top is absolutely gorgeous. I saw it in the magazine and thought I'd like to try it, but then it went into the magazine pile. Now I'm ready!! Thanks.
1/29/03 6:15 PM
Margaret said...
Nice drawstrings! I have seen some other tops with drawstrings but I think they were always in the side seams. This looks better to me. I am sorry to hear that the fabric did not work so well. Maybe this kind of fabric is good for patterns for stable knits or even wovens. I have never used it so I find this review and discussion very helpful. The top looks great, anyway!
1/29/03 9:40 PM
Jane Warren said...
Deepika, this is lovely! My mother started to subscribe to Burda back in the mid 60's, and I didn't use a commercial pattern until I was in my 20's. Yes, the instructions are sketchy, but if you have access to a good general book of sewing techniques (or this website), I think even a beginner could tackle the simpler designs. Now I buy the Burda PLUS magazine which comes out a couple of times a year, and I love it. When we first started with Burda everything was in German, including the instructions, Mother would get a German speaking friend to translate the tricky bits. The extra time to trace the pattern is well worth the effort.
1/29/03 10:09 PM
alex said...
The top looks very nice on you! I was eyeing these patterns, but with all tge drawstrings, they seemed intimidating. Thanks for the review- the drawstring patterns aren't so scarey now!
1/29/03 10:47 PM
moushka said...
Sorry the top is uncomfortable to wear, Deepika. It looks incredible! You really should flaunt that lovely figure of yours or you'll regret it when you're fifty and it's gone (ask me how I know ;-) Hope you will find a better fabric to make a second version. I'm inspired to make it for my DD.
2/1/03 8:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Fashion Sewing Group 1945 Jacket
photo
Review by Sewing Chi... on 3/2/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5271
photo
Review by Patty the ... on 10/2/10
Read Review

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2790 Pattern
Jalie 2790 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us