Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2005-145:Jacket - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 873 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 176 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/07 11:45 PM
Last Updated:5/31/07 11:58 PM
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
Vonne, this is an absolutely wonderful jacket and your model ain't half bad either. (typical US sarcastic understatement....) Anyway, thanks for the review and the inspiration to sew for our men!! I'll have to dig out that WOF issue!
6/1/07 0:00 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Very stylish indeed! So much nicer than the jacket on the model in Burda. I love all the topstitching and extra details.
6/1/07 0:23 AM
brrmm said...
Looks really great on DH. Enjoy your dinner date!
6/1/07 0:41 AM
Liana said...
What a handsome DH! He's certainly a great model for the lovely jacket. The fit is so good, and it looks like he is already very pleased. Great job!
6/1/07 0:44 AM
said...
Beautiful jacket - your stitching is SO accurate!
6/1/07 1:01 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Wow, I really love this piece. Thansk for the tip on how you traced with two pencils to add an even seam allowance - so clever!
6/1/07 1:56 AM
JenniferBee said...
Great jacket and attention to detail, love the top stitching.
6/1/07 2:00 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Mmm. Do you really mean to wash off any weatherproofing from this jacket? I'd consider it an advantage. Especially as this hardly looks like your average outdoorsy jacket :-).
6/1/07 3:07 AM
Marji said...
Fabulous Jacket, nice fit, hunky hubby, what more could you ask? What really stands out is your impeccable topstitching.
6/1/07 3:21 AM
Tany said...
Much better that the BWOF original! Thanks for this excellent review!
6/1/07 3:46 AM
Dale C said...
Wonderful jacket! Thanks for all the tips, will have to find some of that Wonder Tape!
6/1/07 4:59 AM
keelyb1 said...
Very stylish. Very nice. As usual. :) Much better than the Burda one.
6/1/07 5:42 AM
Ceri said...
Love your topstitching! Great jacket! Congratulations!
6/1/07 7:23 AM
sewbehind said...
Your work is always impeccable. Great jacket, Vonne. Great review.
6/1/07 7:54 AM
Zaneta said...
Fantastic Result !! Your reviews are so easy to read and very helpful...it is so hard to find nice pieces for males, you have done very well in spotting this pattern..
6/1/07 8:04 AM
MissCelie said...
Gah. That's amazing. Simply amazing.
6/1/07 9:16 AM
Nancy K said...
thanks for the review. My DH wants me to make him a sport coat and I keep procrastinating. He looks great in the jacket and it and I hope that he appreciates the really fine workmanship.
6/1/07 9:27 AM
slanden99 said...
Excellent workmanship on this jacket. Love the lines on it--the fabulous topstitching really brings out the unique style.
6/1/07 10:01 AM
pterion said...
Outstanding work, as always. And there are so many useful tips in this review - you should write a book! A thought: shall we call them 'prince' seams when they are on a male? :-P
6/1/07 10:05 AM
crisford said...
Oh, this is fantastic! Beautiful work!
6/1/07 10:30 AM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful jacket!! Love all the details and how you customized the pattern.
6/1/07 10:41 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful workmanship. Your jackets are always impecable.
6/1/07 11:18 AM
mochalover said...
You always do such a nice job. Maybe when I grow up I will be half as good :o)!
6/1/07 11:28 AM
Annika said...
Holy Moley! Is there nothing you cannot do? This is another fantastic piece!
6/1/07 11:43 AM
ccris said...
Incredible, as always! I'm sure your hubby is very proud of you. Have fun on that dinner date. wink Great review, too!
6/1/07 1:40 PM
LiZ said...
Vonne, A very classy jacket for your DH.
6/1/07 4:16 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very nice jacket!! You definitely deserve a dinner date with your handsome groom. Beautiful work my friend! :-)
6/1/07 6:00 PM
Schnauzer said...
Great jacket Vonne!
6/1/07 6:33 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
What a fabulous jacket, I love how hip it looks in linen. Fabulous review, I've saved it for future reference.
6/1/07 7:12 PM
Aless said...
Just beautiful,Vonne! No wonder you've been 'quiet' ;-)
6/1/07 10:59 PM
krystalb said...
What can I say except "you have done it again"..........wonderful job, the jacket looks really great
6/1/07 11:21 PM
SandraB said...
Wow!! What a beautifully made jacket.
6/1/07 11:55 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Boy Vonne, you sure are a good girl! No male shall ever get anything made by me! lol. But seriously, it looks great! Fab job!!
6/3/07 4:29 AM
yummymummy38 said...
so smart, lucky hubby! a versatile jacket, stylish enought to partner his wife...now DH has reminded me I owe him a new knit top since the zip on the last one has busted...
6/3/07 9:15 AM
Annette1 said...
FANTASTIC jacket, and it fits your hubby perfectly. Have fun on that dinner date!
6/4/07 3:28 AM
SexiSadi said...
Nice looking jacket, Vonne.
6/11/07 9:09 PM
AnneM said...
Congrats on the jacket (and the dinner date).
7/1/07 5:08 PM
kim*brown said...
Very handsome piece!!!
8/2/07 7:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 5867
photo
Review by AnneM on 7/27/04
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 9430 Misses Tops
photo
Review by Mushywear on 11/5/10
Read Review

Jalie 2916 Pattern
Jalie 2916 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2561 Pattern
Jalie 2561 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us