SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2007-124C (60s dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1509 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/07 8:10 AM
Last Updated:7/4/07 8:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sic said...
Using a shower curtain - how very Sound of Music! It's a great looking dress - I especially love the piping!
6/2/07 8:19 AM
Rustybobn said...
That's great! I love it. Good work.
6/2/07 8:28 AM
Marji said...
I'd definitely concur this is the Perfect Version of this dress! Lovely.
6/2/07 8:38 AM
susinok said...
I love that fabric. Wish we had an Ikea nearby... I'm going to look at sheets and shower curtains with a sewer's eye from now on...
6/2/07 8:50 AM
carolynw said...
I just love this - it is an absolute perfect fit for you and got a laugh at the use of the shower curtain - well done!
6/2/07 8:57 AM
elanor said...
You are now, officially, one of my role models. WOW!
6/2/07 8:57 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a cute dress! Love the fact that the dress is made from a shower curtain from IKEA!
6/2/07 9:14 AM
EveS said...
What a great dress!! Very flattering! I've always loved IKEA, but I love them even more now! Who knew?
6/2/07 9:26 AM
Lisa Merry said...
Wow, what a cute dress! Looks like the fit is perfect!
6/2/07 9:49 AM
megp47 said...
It looks great on you! I love the fabric.
6/2/07 10:05 AM
MissCelie said...
I've been in love with this dress since it popped up on the website. It looks adorable. I thought it would be so dressy, but you've made it fun and casual too.
6/2/07 10:07 AM
maiaj said...
What a great dress! I love to go to the pottery barn outlet and look for clearance sheets/showercurtains to use for my girls!
6/2/07 11:23 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great, love your dress.
6/2/07 11:27 AM
Puppy said...
Fabulous dress...fabulous pink shoes!
6/2/07 11:35 AM
Diane E said...
Pretty pretty dress and delightful review. Thanks for all the pictures and thanks for the inspiration to look for fabric in new places!
6/2/07 11:43 AM
Amy VG said...
great dress! beautifully sewn and it looks amazing on you!
6/2/07 12:15 PM
Dr. Alice said...
Love the shower curtain! I have a shower curtain from Garnet Hill in my stash that is also waiting for a good dress - I like the stiffness of the curtain!
6/2/07 12:46 PM
Levone said...
Very pretty!
6/2/07 1:13 PM
PattyU said...
I love your review and your dress. Thanks.
6/2/07 2:18 PM
ndesimon said...
FANTASTIC! love the fabric/piping combo - absolutely perfect.
6/2/07 3:37 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a stunning dress! You look great.
6/2/07 5:19 PM
lmg said...
I loved this dress when I first saw it. I have the fabric picked out for it too BUT the shower curtain idea is too cool. Great dress.
6/2/07 6:58 PM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous dress, beautiful photo shot. Seeing your photos reminds me of my London living days and trawling the fabric stalls on Walthamstow market.
6/2/07 6:59 PM
Zaneta said...
So Cute!! I love your fabric..
6/2/07 7:18 PM
Erica B. said...
Wow, what a cute dress!
6/2/07 7:21 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Shower curtain! I had to read that three times and kept looking at your photos to be sure. I would never have guessed your lovely dress had a former life. :) Very pretty.
6/2/07 8:07 PM
Sharon M said...
Very cute dress! I think I need to run over to IKEA and look at their shower curtains as the first thing I noticed was the great fabric you used!
6/2/07 10:38 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, beautiful, shower curtain, wonderful idea. Love the pink piping.
6/2/07 11:27 PM
Tez said...
I love it! Fantastic.
6/3/07 7:08 AM
blue mooney said...
So cute! The bodice fits you perfectly, and you get the Best Use of a Shower Curtain award.
6/3/07 8:25 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Really cute! We will hv to run PR Contest using Curtains& Linens, ;-)
6/5/07 1:07 AM
ribbit2jen said...
Too cute!!!
6/7/07 9:47 AM
Hilary said...
Great dress!! Ilove that you used a shower curtain-very clever; and string from the hardware store to make your own piping-very resourceful. Your dress is so pretty on you, well done!
7/4/07 9:10 AM
EveS said...
I am so amused with the appropriateness of your dress for the event! Sure beats a garbage bag, huh!!! :) Enjoyed seeing this fabulous dress again!!
7/4/07 1:32 PM
LBJ said...
A shower curtain for an event where you know it will rain. Aren't you clever!! Great looking dress!
7/4/07 1:58 PM
madhatter said...
what a lovely dress - and perfectly made! i prefer yours over the burda one. they should picture you on the pattern envelope.
7/4/07 3:11 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Ooh, you meant a synthetic shower curtain! That's great, couldn't have been better for the Mud Festival :-). I love the dress, but I must confess I'd kill for the pink wellies :-).
7/5/07 2:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

New Look 6648

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now