SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4032 (Misses Jacket and Vest)

36 more reviews
Viewed 1473 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 226 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/07 9:43 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
I LOVE your jacket!! Great fabric choice, it looks wonderful. Thanks for all the tips!
11/21/10 5:27 PM
fran mc said...
I appreciate the amount of detail about everything that needed to be altered and how it was done.
11/13/07 1:36 AM
AnneM said...
I'm looking at that picture thinking, that can't be polarfleece! And it isn't. Beautiful. Great job on your alterations.
7/6/07 7:53 PM
MareeAlison said...
Great review and jacket Belinda.
6/13/07 4:27 AM
LiZ said...
Belinda, your jacket turned out lovely after all your alteratins.
6/12/07 5:44 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Great jacket - love the colour!
6/12/07 0:52 AM
Karine said...
I'm glad you perservered in spite of your dislikes with the pattern - your end product is lovely. I love the overlocked edges. Nice touch!
6/11/07 10:48 AM
Schnauzer said...
Fabulous jacket Belinda!
6/10/07 7:21 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Your jacket is beauty, inside and out. Gorgeous. I love the collar.
6/10/07 5:21 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, this jacket looks wonderful. Thanks for such a useful review. I've loved the lines and that flounce but I think I'm better off redrafting a TNT fited jacket pattern with these elemens than tackling this pattern after all. I admire our perserverance as well as that great result.
6/9/07 9:30 AM
2BSewing said...
What a beautiful jacket. Love the color and the overlocking around the edge. Nice review.
6/8/07 9:08 PM
Nancywin said...
WOW! Great looking jacket. It is so frustrating to have to make that many alterations. Also, I have found that with Simplicity, I'm often better off to go by my underbust measurement and the do the FBA. Thanks for the warning - but you got great results.
6/8/07 8:54 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your jacket is beautiful! I love the details you added with the new collar shape and how you molded the fabric so-to-speak to take the curves of the flounce. The color of the fabric is beautiful as well.
6/8/07 1:42 PM
moss said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this! I have the pattern but I don't really want to sew it in fleece and I am not sure what else to sew it in (I don't have serger).. So it is nice to see ideas. :)
6/8/07 12:47 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking jacket! I love how you did the edges with the Madeira thread.
6/8/07 11:35 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful jacket Belinda!
6/8/07 10:51 AM
Beve said...
Beautiful job! Lovely jacket--and better than RTW!
6/8/07 9:51 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, I think it's wonderful. Love the color.
6/8/07 8:50 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! A beautiful jacket and much better than the pattern photos too. Your jacket is so impressive, but those pattern photos are a snooze. Time for a photo swap on that pattern :) .
6/8/07 7:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket.
6/8/07 6:58 AM
brrmm said...
Looks fabulous and well worth all the effort.
6/8/07 6:50 AM
Vonnevo said...
Superb in every way Belinda ! It reminds me of a similar imported from Germany, jacket, I spotted while snoop shopping in Noosa.
6/8/07 3:05 AM
Zaneta said...
Wow..this is a gorgeous jacket!
6/8/07 1:59 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very beautiful end result. Too bad it takes so much to get there sometimes but we will all benefit from your experience. Great review.
6/8/07 0:48 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Gorgeous! Much nicer than the Woolies polar fleece jacket I have on at the moment to keep me warm!
6/8/07 0:36 AM
jewelea said...
An excellent review and a very attractive jacket.
6/8/07 0:34 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Fabtabulous jacket!! I've been looking forward to seeing it finished and you don't disappoint (as usual).
6/7/07 11:55 PM
Lori V said...
Once again a beautiful garment, Belinda. Thanks for the very helpful review.
6/7/07 11:07 PM
creative1 said...
Thanks, Belinda, for your review! Love your jacket. I've been eyeing this pattern for quiet a while. There is a Simplicity pattern sale at Spotlight at the moment. I'm off to the shop.
6/7/07 10:24 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful. I like your overlocked edges.
6/7/07 10:13 PM
Lunar_C said...
It still looks like a lovely jacket so even though you wouldn't recommend....I've got this one already : ( I'll take your alteration advice onboard when I attempt my jacket. Thanks
6/7/07 10:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 8672

photo
by: Janine S

Review
Lekala Patterns 4093

photo
by: Mazzygirl

Review
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now