SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4032 (Misses Jacket and Vest)

32 more reviews
Viewed 1467 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 225 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/07 9:43 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
I LOVE your jacket!! Great fabric choice, it looks wonderful. Thanks for all the tips!
11/21/10 5:27 PM
fran mc said...
I appreciate the amount of detail about everything that needed to be altered and how it was done.
11/13/07 1:36 AM
AnneM said...
I'm looking at that picture thinking, that can't be polarfleece! And it isn't. Beautiful. Great job on your alterations.
7/6/07 7:53 PM
MareeAlison said...
Great review and jacket Belinda.
6/13/07 4:27 AM
LiZ said...
Belinda, your jacket turned out lovely after all your alteratins.
6/12/07 5:44 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Great jacket - love the colour!
6/12/07 0:52 AM
Karine said...
I'm glad you perservered in spite of your dislikes with the pattern - your end product is lovely. I love the overlocked edges. Nice touch!
6/11/07 10:48 AM
Schnauzer said...
Fabulous jacket Belinda!
6/10/07 7:21 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Your jacket is beauty, inside and out. Gorgeous. I love the collar.
6/10/07 5:21 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, this jacket looks wonderful. Thanks for such a useful review. I've loved the lines and that flounce but I think I'm better off redrafting a TNT fited jacket pattern with these elemens than tackling this pattern after all. I admire our perserverance as well as that great result.
6/9/07 9:30 AM
2BSewing said...
What a beautiful jacket. Love the color and the overlocking around the edge. Nice review.
6/8/07 9:08 PM
Nancywin said...
WOW! Great looking jacket. It is so frustrating to have to make that many alterations. Also, I have found that with Simplicity, I'm often better off to go by my underbust measurement and the do the FBA. Thanks for the warning - but you got great results.
6/8/07 8:54 PM
Carolyndh said...
Your jacket is beautiful! I love the details you added with the new collar shape and how you molded the fabric so-to-speak to take the curves of the flounce. The color of the fabric is beautiful as well.
6/8/07 1:42 PM
moss said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this! I have the pattern but I don't really want to sew it in fleece and I am not sure what else to sew it in (I don't have serger).. So it is nice to see ideas. :)
6/8/07 12:47 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking jacket! I love how you did the edges with the Madeira thread.
6/8/07 11:35 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful jacket Belinda!
6/8/07 10:51 AM
Beve said...
Beautiful job! Lovely jacket--and better than RTW!
6/8/07 9:51 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, I think it's wonderful. Love the color.
6/8/07 8:50 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! A beautiful jacket and much better than the pattern photos too. Your jacket is so impressive, but those pattern photos are a snooze. Time for a photo swap on that pattern :) .
6/8/07 7:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking jacket.
6/8/07 6:58 AM
brrmm said...
Looks fabulous and well worth all the effort.
6/8/07 6:50 AM
Vonnevo said...
Superb in every way Belinda ! It reminds me of a similar imported from Germany, jacket, I spotted while snoop shopping in Noosa.
6/8/07 3:05 AM
Zaneta said...
Wow..this is a gorgeous jacket!
6/8/07 1:59 AM
Ann Smith said...
Very beautiful end result. Too bad it takes so much to get there sometimes but we will all benefit from your experience. Great review.
6/8/07 0:48 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Gorgeous! Much nicer than the Woolies polar fleece jacket I have on at the moment to keep me warm!
6/8/07 0:36 AM
jewelea said...
An excellent review and a very attractive jacket.
6/8/07 0:34 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Fabtabulous jacket!! I've been looking forward to seeing it finished and you don't disappoint (as usual).
6/7/07 11:55 PM
Lori V said...
Once again a beautiful garment, Belinda. Thanks for the very helpful review.
6/7/07 11:07 PM
creative1 said...
Thanks, Belinda, for your review! Love your jacket. I've been eyeing this pattern for quiet a while. There is a Simplicity pattern sale at Spotlight at the moment. I'm off to the shop.
6/7/07 10:24 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful. I like your overlocked edges.
6/7/07 10:13 PM
Lunar_C said...
It still looks like a lovely jacket so even though you wouldn't recommend....I've got this one already : ( I'll take your alteration advice onboard when I attempt my jacket. Thanks
6/7/07 10:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Butterick 5700

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

More Info
HotPatterns Fringe Festival Knit Top

photo
by: Stacie Thi...

Review