SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3417 (Bikini w/ no sew option)

Viewed 1267 times 
Reviewed by:LauraAnn12
photo

 
 
About LauraAnn12
Member since: 6/14/06
Reviews: 8 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/07 8:50 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KaraKai said... (6/9/07 5:18 PM) Reply
I never noticed this pattern before and will have to pick it up. My DD is bugging me to make her a swimsuit, but honestly, I'm slightly intimidated. This sounds like a great place to start. Thanks for the review. The suit is adorable.
Leslie in NZ said... (6/9/07 5:12 PM) Reply
What a great swim suit. I have a teenage daughter also, but have been intimidated by swim suit patterns. This one looks doable, though. Thanks for the review.
jessika said... (6/9/07 1:22 PM) Reply
Very cute and what a great style. She looks very pleased. Wow mom you pleased a teen.
LauraAnn12 said... (6/9/07 11:58 AM) Reply
hiya fuzzy~ I did use a ball point needle! I used the appropriate needles in both my serger and my regular machine. I wasn't sure how the needle would work with the weird elastic, but it did just fine. Maybe clear elastic isn't meant to be sewn at all, just encased? I tested it afterwards, and she practicaly hasn't even taken it off....the elastic didn't rip where it was sewn! Mysteries.... :)
fuzzygalore said... (6/9/07 3:45 AM) Reply
Very cute, and you're right it's an excellent option to have a practically no-sew version to encourage the young :-). Swimsuits are almost always cut 'sideways' since stretch usually is along the length, and stretch in this case must go around the body. It's ok, it usually saves fabric :-). And you really should use a ballpoint needle with these fabrics - I can testify that if you don't you'll pretty quickly get runs in the fabric everywhere it's been punctured by the needle :-(. But don't worry, it'll last long enough for her to want another and get to it..
Cristina_TC said... (6/9/07 2:55 AM) Reply
How beautiful! Compliments!
mendospot said... (6/9/07 1:46 AM) Reply
Oh, there was a time when I would have worn that. Soooo cute!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Pattern Details