SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1313 (1960s Nina Ricci Suit)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1387 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/07 10:49 PM
Last Updated:6/11/07 8:41 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tpace said...
I love your Vintage Vogue Style, I have just won a few of Vogue Paris Original patterns 1434 and 1617. I'm a beginner in sewing I hope they come out well. You have encourage me to go ahead a tackle it. I know I can do it.
2/16/09 2:35 PM
AnneM said...
Excellent, classic, elegant dress.
6/17/07 8:29 PM
MrsCrumpet said...
Not only have you achieved a perfectly fitting classic sheath dress, but you have sewn it with precision and expert finishing touches. I have a 60s sheath by Teal Traina without side seams. It is a very flattering look, once you get the fit right. If I were you I would make this dress over and over again. All you need to do is add sleeves for the winter. It would look good in so many different fabrics. This is one of the most comprehensive reviews I have read. Thank you.
6/13/07 10:43 PM
Membear said...
I have enjoyed your progress on this very much and have to say that you look very elegant indeed. Well done I really found your jacket review inspiring.
6/13/07 3:33 AM
Marji said...
fabulous! I added this to my bookmarked reviews to go back and refer to. Just wonderful - very informative review.
6/12/07 5:14 PM
Annette1 said...
This dress is a PERFECT fit. It couldn't be any better. I'd say that's one challenge you've conquered. :o) I've never seen a CF dart like this, nor your clever idea of sewing a piece of linen to the dart and pressing it the other direction. Thanks for another great review!
6/12/07 0:49 AM
lmg said...
Beautiful sheath dress. Such lovely work.
6/11/07 10:26 PM
carolynw said...
Really lovely - goes so well with the jacket.
6/11/07 4:45 PM
slanden99 said...
Very elegant dress. Looks great with the jacket. You did an excellent job making the pattern work for you (with a little software help)
6/11/07 3:50 PM
Susan Dryer said...
Impressive and quite lovely. Very "Audrey Hepburn."
6/11/07 3:44 PM
Laurie Lou said...
All I can say is I can see why you were drwan to that fantastic pattern. And you are such a fabulous seemstress...you certainly did a remarkable dress and jacket. What a truely wonderful inspiration! I love love love it all including your detailed review!
6/11/07 2:56 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely outfit. Very elegant and beautiful.
6/11/07 2:38 PM
Carolyndh said...
Very nice vintage outfit! Fantastic workmanship!
6/11/07 1:47 PM
snowflake girl said...
Beautiful dress and jacket. Wonderful fit.
6/11/07 12:05 PM
Kathy_AZ said...
Wow! Your outfit is just fabulous.
6/11/07 11:45 AM
Katrin7 said...
Very pretty dress and the fitting is excellent!
6/11/07 11:21 AM
JaneH said...
Excellent tailoring!!
6/11/07 9:59 AM
mastdenman said...
What a great dress. Wonderful use of PE.
6/11/07 9:15 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Absolutely lovely--elegant and very expensive looking. Thanks for walking us through your process!
6/11/07 9:03 AM
marjenann said...
Whew!!!! Stunning!
6/11/07 8:45 AM
Beve said...
Beautiful outfit and the fit is perfect!
6/11/07 8:02 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent use of PMB. Very attractive dress. Love the jacket/dress combo.
6/11/07 6:47 AM
Fran G said...
You do the most amazing work! You are one of my favorites and I look forward to and learn from each of your reviews.The technique of sewing a linen strip to the CF dart to balance it, thus eliminating a ridge is new to me, but a tip that I will remember and use. Thanks.
6/11/07 6:47 AM
CarolynGM said...
The dress design is very elegant, and you have captured it beautifully in your custom fit. PMB sounds like a great tool.
6/11/07 5:18 AM
FloraNature said...
Fabulous fit!
6/11/07 4:24 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful dress. Very timely as I'm about to make a similar dress. You treated the lining as one with the fabric, good idea, did not think about that, as my pattern does not have lining, but I want to add it. How is the armhole finished? Separate facing?
6/11/07 3:37 AM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely outfit Kay, I like the dress fabric!
6/11/07 2:24 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
You always make them look so good and the fit is really great. An other great one!!! Marita
6/11/07 1:54 AM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful outfit - classic - elegant. the fit on both jacket and dress is superb.
6/10/07 11:46 PM
sewbehind said...
The fit on your dress is fabulous. Very nice.
6/10/07 10:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1027

photo
by: emr

Review
McCall's 5160

photo
by: ClioBklyn

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

More Info