Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1313 (1960s Nina Ricci Suit) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1378 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/07 10:49 PM
Last Updated:6/11/07 8:41 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
The fit on your dress is fabulous. Very nice.
6/10/07 10:52 PM
Aixoise said...
Beautiful outfit - classic - elegant. the fit on both jacket and dress is superb.
6/10/07 11:46 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
You always make them look so good and the fit is really great. An other great one!!! Marita
6/11/07 1:54 AM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely outfit Kay, I like the dress fabric!
6/11/07 2:24 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful dress. Very timely as I'm about to make a similar dress. You treated the lining as one with the fabric, good idea, did not think about that, as my pattern does not have lining, but I want to add it. How is the armhole finished? Separate facing?
6/11/07 3:37 AM
FloraNature said...
Fabulous fit!
6/11/07 4:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
The dress design is very elegant, and you have captured it beautifully in your custom fit. PMB sounds like a great tool.
6/11/07 5:18 AM
Fran G said...
You do the most amazing work! You are one of my favorites and I look forward to and learn from each of your reviews.The technique of sewing a linen strip to the CF dart to balance it, thus eliminating a ridge is new to me, but a tip that I will remember and use. Thanks.
6/11/07 6:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Excellent use of PMB. Very attractive dress. Love the jacket/dress combo.
6/11/07 6:47 AM
Beve said...
Beautiful outfit and the fit is perfect!
6/11/07 8:02 AM
marjenann said...
Whew!!!! Stunning!
6/11/07 8:45 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Absolutely lovely--elegant and very expensive looking. Thanks for walking us through your process!
6/11/07 9:03 AM
mastdenman said...
What a great dress. Wonderful use of PE.
6/11/07 9:15 AM
JaneH said...
Excellent tailoring!!
6/11/07 9:59 AM
Katrin7 said...
Very pretty dress and the fitting is excellent!
6/11/07 11:21 AM
Kathy_AZ said...
Wow! Your outfit is just fabulous.
6/11/07 11:45 AM
snowflake girl said...
Beautiful dress and jacket. Wonderful fit.
6/11/07 12:05 PM
Carolyndh said...
Very nice vintage outfit! Fantastic workmanship!
6/11/07 1:47 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely outfit. Very elegant and beautiful.
6/11/07 2:38 PM
Laurie Lou said...
All I can say is I can see why you were drwan to that fantastic pattern. And you are such a fabulous seemstress...you certainly did a remarkable dress and jacket. What a truely wonderful inspiration! I love love love it all including your detailed review!
6/11/07 2:56 PM
Susan Dryer said...
Impressive and quite lovely. Very "Audrey Hepburn."
6/11/07 3:44 PM
slanden99 said...
Very elegant dress. Looks great with the jacket. You did an excellent job making the pattern work for you (with a little software help)
6/11/07 3:50 PM
carolynw said...
Really lovely - goes so well with the jacket.
6/11/07 4:45 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful sheath dress. Such lovely work.
6/11/07 10:26 PM
Annette1 said...
This dress is a PERFECT fit. It couldn't be any better. I'd say that's one challenge you've conquered. :o) I've never seen a CF dart like this, nor your clever idea of sewing a piece of linen to the dart and pressing it the other direction. Thanks for another great review!
6/12/07 0:49 AM
Marji said...
fabulous! I added this to my bookmarked reviews to go back and refer to. Just wonderful - very informative review.
6/12/07 5:14 PM
Membear said...
I have enjoyed your progress on this very much and have to say that you look very elegant indeed. Well done I really found your jacket review inspiring.
6/13/07 3:33 AM
MrsCrumpet said...
Not only have you achieved a perfectly fitting classic sheath dress, but you have sewn it with precision and expert finishing touches. I have a 60s sheath by Teal Traina without side seams. It is a very flattering look, once you get the fit right. If I were you I would make this dress over and over again. All you need to do is add sleeves for the winter. It would look good in so many different fabrics. This is one of the most comprehensive reviews I have read. Thank you.
6/13/07 10:43 PM
AnneM said...
Excellent, classic, elegant dress.
6/17/07 8:29 PM
tpace said...
I love your Vintage Vogue Style, I have just won a few of Vogue Paris Original patterns 1434 and 1617. I'm a beginner in sewing I hope they come out well. You have encourage me to go ahead a tackle it. I know I can do it.
2/16/09 2:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Kwik Sew 3027 Misses' Shirts
photo
Review by tigger on 3/5/05
Read Review

Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1877 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6791 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6791 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1804 Misses Dress
photo
Review by typeezy on 5/30/12
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Winter Street Dress Digital Pattern
PatternReview Winter Street Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us