SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2007-121 (Dress w. pleated bodice)

Viewed 1543 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 150
Favored by: 224 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/07 10:20 AM
Last Updated:6/13/07 10:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
66 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dede said...
I think you are being too hard on yourself, it's a very cute dress in the photo. As someone who has sworn off Ann Taylor and Talbots for being too matronly, I think this is darling and edgy and I am going to try this pattern. Thanks for the review!
6/13/07 10:30 AM
eibhlin said...
Beautiful, beautiful dress! It looks gorgeous on you!
6/13/07 10:30 AM
morzel said...
Beautiful! I like the length very much on you, looks great. And I donīt think it looks bulky in any way! Everyone can tell, itīs the gathers.
6/13/07 10:31 AM
betta1 said...
Cute!
6/13/07 10:33 AM
sewinfiend said...
I think it's a beautiful dress! I'm not so sure about it being young. Classic? Definitely. But sometimes having a classic to wear is isn't such a bad thing. I don't think it makes you look less than trim. The fabric is mighty nice, too. You could wear this dress for any event from a barbecue to church and still be appropriate. Great job!
6/13/07 10:34 AM
Peggy L said...
I think it looks great on you - nice, classic dress. Beautiful fabric.
6/13/07 10:47 AM
Vonnevo said...
This one was worth every stitch Cidell. The style description says it is an elegant classic and the eyelet combination makes it very "now" Love it !
6/13/07 10:59 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I really like it and don't think it makes your booty look big at all! I want one now too! :-)
6/13/07 11:06 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
I don't see that the gathers amplify your hips. In fact, I think they fall very nicely over the booty and the short sleeves tend to balance the hips and draw attention upward. You did a great job on this dress.
6/13/07 11:08 AM
bunz said...
Love it! Did you know that EOS is selling this fabric for over $30/yd??!!!!
6/13/07 11:14 AM
JaneH said...
Gorgeous job!!
6/13/07 11:19 AM
Erica B. said...
I love this dress on you! It looks fantastic!
6/13/07 11:41 AM
Birgitte said...
Beautiful dress and girl- you both look better than the Burda models! Great job!
6/13/07 12:07 PM
nicegirl said...
Yay! It's done! I think it looks fantastic, not juvenile, not fat, and office-appropriate. Did I miss anything? Can't wait to see it in person.
6/13/07 12:17 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Turned out so nice!!!
6/13/07 12:37 PM
Linda G said...
Your dress is fabulous. The eyelet looks so nice. I have looked at this pattern and now am glad to see that it has been reviewed. Thanks for the great review.
6/13/07 12:47 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I think this dress looks great on you! I hope you come to love as much as all of us commenters obviously do. ;-)
6/13/07 12:49 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous dress and it looks fantastic on you! Great job.
6/13/07 12:58 PM
Lee-Lee said...
It's gorgeous and flattering. Trust us!
6/13/07 1:10 PM
FloraNature said...
Beautiful! It's very feminine and figure flattering - and not bulky at all!
6/13/07 1:35 PM
Enid E said...
You look super in this dress....
6/13/07 1:41 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Wow. It is beautiful. I have been following along with the dress progress in your blog - nice to see the finished version.
6/13/07 1:41 PM
cindy-lou said...
GIrl, you DO NOT KNOW how to make an ugle dress! This one is beautiful, and inspirational (as I just spent non-exictent $$$ on some eyelet today...)
6/13/07 2:02 PM
Lori V said...
Okay, this is a gorgeous dress on you. Not too young, not too Talbot's, and too funny on the OBGYN comments. I think this dress is wonderful. You did a fantastic job.
6/13/07 2:25 PM
Lisette said...
Great to see it finished, I have been following your progress in your blog. It is very pretty.
6/13/07 2:47 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Oh LA LA, fantastic dress, classy,yet edgy. Perfect fabic for this style. Love your humour too :)
6/13/07 2:54 PM
Nancywin said...
This dress may have been boring to make, but it is anything but boring on! I love your fabric choice as well.
6/13/07 3:30 PM
clare said...
Great dress! I want one too!
6/13/07 3:51 PM
mochalover said...
I love your dress! Nice job, as always.
6/13/07 3:52 PM
gabrielle said...
I think it's a great dress Cidell; your projects are total eye-candy for me. However, my appreciation is overwhelmed by "No one should see that part of me without a co-pay." :D love it.
6/13/07 4:36 PM
Sic said...
This dress is beautiful! I enjoyed reading about the process on your blog - I am impressed how you fixed the tear!
6/13/07 4:50 PM
Donna H said...
Great looking dress on you. Love the fabric!
6/13/07 6:17 PM
megp47 said...
I think this dress looks great on you. From the picture, it looks very well put together. I really like it.
6/13/07 6:49 PM
Skymom said...
This dress could be prim on some people (e.g., the Burda models), but on you it looks really cute and fun, while staying just this side of classic.
6/13/07 7:13 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Great turnout for the effort.
6/13/07 7:58 PM
TanyaMT said...
I think this dress is fantastic on you, really nice. That eyelet fabric really adds a lot to the design.
6/13/07 9:06 PM
Sharon M said...
This is such a beautiful dress on you. I followed along on your blog also. Love it, love it, love it.
6/13/07 10:26 PM
Stacy Sews said...
OOOh, I love this dress! It looks so good on you.
6/13/07 10:40 PM
Beve said...
You are amazing; another wonder. Great review, and very funny too...
6/13/07 10:57 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow, I didn't like this at all in the magazine, but yours is really cute. It looks great on you, love the fabric. And I feel your pain on the hemming - more than a few of my UFOs are languishing for the same reason!
6/13/07 11:08 PM
lmg said...
Gorgeous dress. Much nicer than the one in Burda. I love reading your reviews. Do you write for a living?
6/13/07 11:17 PM
hongkongshopper said...
What a great use of your eyelet fabric! It fits you beautifully!
6/13/07 11:40 PM
SandraB said...
I love this dress. It looks great on you and I certainly do not see any extra pounds or inches.
6/14/07 0:01 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I love sewing and wearing all these great Burda dresses vicariously through you!
6/14/07 2:10 AM
Margie T said...
Lovely dress. You look great in it. By the way what does OBYGN MEAN?
6/14/07 4:06 AM
Tany said...
Love this dress! It looks so flattering on you!
6/14/07 4:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress. Great use of the eyelet border. I am impressed. I personnally did not notice the booty from the back! I thought again the use of the eyelet there was attractive.
6/14/07 5:36 AM
LauraM62 said...
This is a beautiful, classy dress - it fits you wonderfully! I think you did a wonderful job. I loved your review & following your blog !
6/14/07 6:30 AM
Nancy K said...
From the front the dress is very flattering. I do see your point in the back view. Maybe you need a bit more ease or a sway back adjustment for your 'booty'.so that the pleats hang better. Personally, as a woman who has looked at a lot of rear ends lately ( not a pervert, just obsessed with pants fitting of late) I can tell you that yours looks a whole lot better than the majority of women out there!
6/14/07 7:33 AM
gaginny said...
I did not notice this dress in the magazine but I totally noticed yours......I love it and will put it on my "list" to make up asap.
6/14/07 8:33 AM
KrystalL said...
All I can say is WOW!
6/14/07 9:10 AM
carolynw said...
This is abeautiful dres - looks great on you and I have to ask - what booty? You are so small in that area !!
6/14/07 9:34 AM
martinanne said...
Thanks for the great (and humorous) review! I love this dress and you look fabulous in it.
6/14/07 10:47 AM
OP Gal said...
Super cute dress, and I love that fabric. Thanks for the chuckles, I love your sense of humor. I'll have to remember that co-pay comment. Too funny!
6/14/07 2:07 PM
PhyllisC said...
Oh my GOD you make me wish I was a bright young 20-something again! Perfection.
6/14/07 5:11 PM
Hilary said...
I agree, you look *GORGEOUS* in this dress, I see not an OUNCE of fat anywhere, please! :o) Your dress is just lovely, not to girlie-the dark color is perfect, the fabric beautiful and elegant, and the dress obviously well made. You should wear it with pride!
6/14/07 5:38 PM
KimPa said...
I LOVE this dress. It is me. I would do so many bad things to have this dress, so send it to me if you don't want it! Seriously, there is nothing about this dress that makes you look anything but thin and wonderful. Great job!
6/14/07 9:37 PM
SarahWeb said...
This dress is cute cute cute! I think it looks great from the front AND the back. You did a great job. I enjoyed reading about it on your blog, too.
6/14/07 10:38 PM
Jane S said...
I think you look wonderful in this dress! Not too young, very fashionable instead. And thanks for the co pay giggle.
6/14/07 10:50 PM
artist1lisa said...
This dress is adorable.I love it.Great job.
6/14/07 11:43 PM
RetroModelSari said...
I think it looks very very cute on you! Sort of vintage inspired!
6/15/07 5:57 AM
Marji said...
Now Cidell, I think you wrote this review when you were too close to having finished it. You know, that let down period when there isn't always a lot you like about a project? Because this dress is Really pretty, maybe a little Talbots looking, but it is pretty, and everyone needs a pretty dress. The fabric is lovely, I love the choice of buttons, you don't come close to looking fat... Give it a few days and see if you don't like it better. I love it on you!
6/15/07 12:45 PM
MissCelie said...
Thanks everyone. I think my slightly negative may have more to do with not going to the gym for the past two weeks and the fact that this was more challenging than anything I had done before. I wore it to work and it was widely liked. And no offense to Talbots! This is a nice dress that seemingly few people would kill for!
6/15/07 2:34 PM
Sewing Chick said...
I think your dress looks fantastic. In fact, I think it looks much better than the picture in Burda. When I thumbed through my issue, I immediately dismissed this one! After seeing yours, I have it on my list to make. If you decide not to wear it, just mail it to me!!!!
6/16/07 10:52 AM
Miss Adrienne said...
Ha! You're hilarious! And probably also your own worst critic. This is a stunning dress, and I think hits a wonderful balance between elegant (which can border on stuffy) and cute (which can border on juvenile). You look stunning, and I can't wait to see what else you make out of that trunk full of fabric!
6/18/07 10:05 PM
supermollio said...
The dress is beyond stunning, and you look amazing in it!
10/17/07 12:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6026

photo
by: LizzieInBr...

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now