Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2007-04 (Puffed-sleeve T-shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2188 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:6/13/07 11:57 AM
Last Updated:12/3/07 6:07 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
Lovely shirt - it looks great on you. And oh how I covet that coverstitch machine! Beautiful job, as always!
6/13/07 12:17 PM
Izzie said...
Beautiful top, I love that fabric!
6/13/07 12:18 PM
Seaspur said...
Nice t-shirt, great fabric!
6/13/07 12:30 PM
Levone said...
Love this! I have this one traced and ready to cut out.
6/13/07 12:39 PM
Linda G said...
Wonderful fit for almost no alterations,..... isn't that great? Sometimes I feel like the alterations take longer than the sewing. I love the fabric. Nice job on the coverstitch....every time I read one of your reviews I am closer to buying a coverstitch machine.
6/13/07 12:51 PM
Nancy K said...
Nice top Debbie. One of these days I have to sit down and figure out the proper settings for my coverstitch binders. Yours bindings look so professional.
6/13/07 1:14 PM
OP Gal said...
Cute top and great review, as usual. Thanks for the extra pictures and explanations for the neckline and sleeve edges. I always admire your perfect coverstitching. Maybe someday, with more practice, I'll acquire the skill.
6/13/07 2:25 PM
bunz said...
Terrific colors on you Debbie!
6/13/07 4:23 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I love this top. I have got to get me some of those binders.
6/13/07 5:31 PM
Donna H said...
Great fabric choice. Another TNT winner!
6/13/07 6:14 PM
MareeAlison said...
I really like the fabrics you use Debbie. Very nice.
6/13/07 7:38 PM
Sew4Fun said...
First Angie's rave review, now yours. This is quickly becoming the latest must-have pattern. Thanks for the tip about the 1/2" binder too.
6/13/07 7:52 PM
KiwiWendy said...
wow, no shoulder or sleeve width adjustments!!! That's fantastic.
6/13/07 8:03 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Great top - gorgeous fabric!
6/13/07 8:13 PM
KathySews said...
Wow No FBA? Fantastic and another reason why I want a CS. Great tee
6/13/07 10:21 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
i Love it!
6/13/07 10:35 PM
oldsewandsew said...
What issue of Ottobre did this come out of? Looks like I'd like to make it. It's very nice on you, Debbie
6/13/07 10:38 PM
casken said...
This top looks very cute on you. Nice fabric too.
6/13/07 11:33 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice Debbie- I love that fabric!
6/14/07 0:31 AM
Tany said...
Thank you for another very helpful review!!
6/14/07 4:12 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this sounds like a pearl! Now how to get my hands on it :-)..
6/14/07 5:17 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I am not sure that I NEED it, but I sure do like it!
6/14/07 6:35 AM
LauraM62 said...
Great top Debbie, looks wonderful on you! And a wonderful review as always!
6/14/07 6:49 AM
Nancy K said...
Nice top Debbie! Now where do we get Ottobre woman magazine?
6/14/07 7:16 AM
carolynw said...
Really super looking Tee. Neat job with the cover stitch!
6/14/07 9:27 AM
Mufffet said...
Look great Debbie - thanks for the thorough review. I really appreciate the pictures of the neckline and sleeve finishes. Practical illustrations of the use of having a coverstitch functionality.
6/14/07 10:12 AM
martinanne said...
I love it, Debbie! You look great in this top. I wasn't going to try it because of the sleeves, but I think they look great on you so I will try them on me. For those who asked, you can get Ottobre Woman here http://www.ottobredesign.com/ and you CAN subscribe to just the "woman" version and not the "kids" version, if that's what you want (but if you have kids, you NEED both). And you can still get this issue as part of your sub (as of today, when I checked). Or you can purchase backorders seperately.
6/14/07 10:59 AM
marycds said...
Inspired by your coverstitch! Thanks.
6/14/07 2:43 PM
Hilary said...
Great tee, Debbie! That fabric is soo pretty, it's perfect for this top, and how great that it needed no FBA :D:D
6/14/07 3:33 PM
jacalhoun said...
Your top looks great, Debbie. I'm about to trace it off for myself and wondered - did you use your high bust measurement or your full bust measurement when choosing your size?
6/14/07 4:42 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I used both. My high bust to choose the upper body sizing (neck, shoulders, armholes) and then I extended out to my full bust at the bottom of the armhole.
6/14/07 6:15 PM
AnneM said...
Great top, very cute.
6/16/07 4:36 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful top Debbie!!!
6/18/07 8:41 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
beautiful
8/21/07 4:32 AM
jnamcd said...
I LOVE the fabric for top #2!! And I'm so jealous of how tan you are in the other pictures! Argh!!
12/3/07 7:14 PM
AngieC said...
I especially love the fabric in #2 but I like all of your tops! I bought this pattern recently on eBay... I'm shaped like you so it is good to see how it looks on a full figured woman! Great review~
12/4/07 0:32 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wonderful tees. Love them all. This pattern is so versatile. I used it again this weekend as starting point for my DD t-shirt. Great result in her size again.
12/4/07 2:38 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your new versions!!
12/4/07 11:21 AM
Melody said...
Debbie, not only are all the versions really great, but dang you're a fast sew-er.
12/4/07 5:50 PM
LorettaV said...
This is currently my favorite pattern for the shirt. I LOVE this fabric!!
12/29/07 5:39 PM
Kris32 said...
I love the shaped sleeve binding! I will have to try that on my next go.
3/15/08 7:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Butterick 5435 APRONS
photo
Review by talesofawa... on 1/11/11
Read Review

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2817
photo
Review by engk916 on 10/26/13
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5789 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5789 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us