Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Onion: 1012 (Jacket with lined hood) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 931 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Helen near Sydney
photo
About Helen near Sydneystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/07 8:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Thanks for the review. Your jacket looks wonderful. I have this pattern waiting, thanks for reminding me that it is a great one.
6/14/07 8:31 PM
bunz said...
Excellent review - gorgeous jacket!
6/14/07 8:59 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely jacket - you look a bit - well - stiff in the picture...>;) Love your fabric. I love that you have a mannequin!
6/14/07 9:01 PM
Lilibet said...
Excellent review. The jacket looks great on you and the lace wool lining is very imaginative and stylish. You make me want this pattern too.
6/14/07 9:12 PM
SarahWeb said...
I love that jacket. Very informative review.
6/14/07 10:26 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I love this. Overlaying the facing with that beautiful angora wool lace was a great idea. Lots of good information, too. Great job.
6/14/07 11:32 PM
Marji said...
great looking jacket. I especially like your fabric choice for lining the hood. Very informative review.
6/15/07 5:09 AM
cindyann said...
Love your jacket! I'm an onion fan too, think I might have to add this to my wish list. Really great review.
6/15/07 8:40 AM
LauraM62 said...
Wonderful looking jacket, & excellent review!! Thanks for being so detailed in your review!
6/15/07 8:57 AM
OP Gal said...
What a lovely jacket. The fabric is striking and the design of the jacket is so stylish. Excellent review--I really appreciate all the details. I would never have thought of using the fabric you did for the hood and facing, but it looks great and really adds to the jacket.
6/15/07 1:33 PM
KarenP said...
I love it! I have had my eye on this pattern, and your review and jacket makes me want it even more.
6/15/07 1:40 PM
Schnauzer said...
Another lovely jacket Helen. It looks really good on you too!
6/16/07 2:53 AM
JulieR said...
Your jacket is great. Re seam allowances, after avoiding Burda WoF patterns unless they were really wonderful, I now prefer to add the allowances after I've made any adjustments that are necessary. Punch with Judy (Australia) has gizmos that connect two pencils and make it easy to quickly add either 1/4 or 5/8 inch allowances. I now check Burda, Onion and Ottobre Woman for styles I want to sew before I try any of the big 4.
6/16/07 8:39 AM
AnneM said...
Nice jacket, great jobs with the seams. Lots of good information in your review.
6/16/07 9:55 AM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE you jacket, and I'm NOT a hoodie person. :o) This is what I'd call a "tailored" hoodie, in a class by itself. Your choice of lining for the hood is beautiful, as is the jacket fabric. GREAT job, and a very helpful review.
6/16/07 7:31 PM
davin said...
Hi, please let me know how you got English instructions for Onion patterns. The website says they come in Danish only. thanks for your help. Davin
6/24/07 0:50 AM
VtMartha said...
Davin, this is the link: http://www.shoponion.com/ Helen, lovely jacket. I'm looking forward to trying the pattern too.
6/28/07 10:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

No Pattern Used 0000 Lunchbag
photo
Review by Kim Winson on 12/21/06
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2569
photo
Review by sandra17 on 1/24/14
Read Review

Jalie 2683 Pattern
Jalie 2683 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us