SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3803 (Day Gown / Maxi Dress)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1866 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Favored by: 227 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/07 9:29 PM
Last Updated:6/19/07 9:37 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sara The Slayer said...
Whoa, now I need to know what you mean about cutting a different size front and back...
6/13/08 5:49 AM
indianajoni said...
That dress is grooovy and your review makes me laugh. Jumpers with suspenders... the horror.
9/22/07 8:57 PM
Nancy K said...
Terrific on you. Great summer dress
7/13/07 10:29 AM
Hilary said...
You look *fabulous*!!! Love the dress, it is so cute! Thanks for such a helpful review!
7/10/07 4:00 PM
madhatter said...
once more i'm in awe. this might have been easy, but not everyone could wear this in style. it's perfect!
6/24/07 12:53 PM
AnneM said...
I like the goofy mannequin pose. :) Great dress, nice style. I like the bias with the fabric; goo dinfo on the impact to the v-neckline.
6/23/07 7:23 PM
EveS said...
This is a fabulous dress and a fabulous, unexpected fabric!! If only I thought I could pull off chasing a 16 mo around the house in this...I'd make June Cleaver look like a frump in her cheesy little dresses! hee!! You rock, girl!
6/21/07 11:38 PM
janella said...
love the 'goofy' pose!! That dress looks great! Enjoy in Ghana..my sister went there about 4 years ago. You'll need a suitcase (and extra baggage allowance) just to bring back fabric. There are shops with fabric piled high to the ceilings. Apparently, it is often sold in 5m sections - enough to make a skirt, top and headwrap! I'm jealous...though fortunately, a market near to my house sells lots of Ghana wax fabric at cheap prices.
6/21/07 3:49 PM
nicegirl said...
So cute! I like that the length is different and unexpected. The V neck looks very stable.
6/20/07 6:00 PM
candyo said...
You are hilarious! Love the dress. I agree, it's fantastic!
6/20/07 5:38 PM
Sweetsong said...
Beatuful dress.! Cool mannequin pose...maybe I'll use it sometime. :) Your comments cracked me up.
6/20/07 2:57 PM
JaneH said...
This dress is great -- far more beautiful than the pattern. Good Job!
6/20/07 1:38 PM
Boo97 said...
I always enjoy your reviews!!!!
6/20/07 12:27 PM
lmg said...
Glamorous!. Thanks for the tip about the bias top with the V on the straight grain. Makes sense now that I know!
6/20/07 12:02 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Love this in seersucker--such an adventurous choice that really works! Cutting the upper bodice on the bias was an inspired move. Extra special thanks for pointing out that that puts the neckline on the straight of grain. That wouldn't have occurred to me until it was too late, I'm sure. So the lining really helps keep the skirt from getting all tangled in your legs when you walk? I'll have to remember that. Where's that "very very" helpful review rating button, anyway?
6/20/07 11:48 AM
snowflake girl said...
Ilove your dress, I love all the angles with the way you cut the fabric. You do beautiful work and everything looks so wonderful on you. I always look forward to seeing what you make.
6/20/07 11:44 AM
Enid E said...
Wow! Everything you a make you wear so well...Great dress!
6/20/07 11:14 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Perfect summer dress. I love the top cut on the bias - it really adds interest. You could be in a RL Polo ad with your beautiful dress!
6/20/07 10:17 AM
Twinkster said...
That is very nicely done!
6/20/07 8:55 AM
cindy-lou said...
Allright, I am now officially JEALOUS of you for this dress! I need it, I need it. Love the bias-cut bodice a la Gorgeous Thing's article in Threads. She'd be proud. You're a sewing Goddess!
6/20/07 8:51 AM
sarahb said...
I LOVE that you made this dress in seersucker. LOVE that. It looks fabulous.
6/20/07 8:44 AM
Judy Wentz said...
Wonderful dress. You did a beautiful job.
6/20/07 8:03 AM
Judy Wentz said...
Wonderful dress. You did a beautiful job.
6/20/07 8:03 AM
Bonnie O said...
AWESOME! I love seersucker and the color is so pretty. You did a great job and I appreciate all the tips. That photo makes me think of a store mannequinn (sp?). LOL. If you tire of a maxi length after wearing once or twice, turn it into a midi.
6/20/07 7:57 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love it! Perfect for summer!
6/20/07 7:56 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Flashback to the maxi dresses of days gone by....It's lovely and your review is a hoot.
6/20/07 6:37 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great idea to cut the bodice on the bias!
6/20/07 5:18 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice! It fits you well. Love the stripe treatment.
6/20/07 4:44 AM
Markie1 said...
I just love how this looks on you Cidell. I didn't see the green stripes in the pictures until I saw the bodice close-up and seeing that, I love it even more. Mommietothree is right, you totally beat out the models. I also think the idea of a "daydress" is lovely. I've always been a "day t-shirt and jeans" person, but i want to change. Great funny review.
6/20/07 2:16 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Oops, duplicate post...
6/20/07 1:56 AM
Erica B. said...
Just fabulous, love it!
6/20/07 1:50 AM
Zaneta said...
I am so jealous! I love this dress..I will be adding this to my list
6/20/07 1:45 AM
mommietothree0 said...
The dress looks better on you than on the models! Great idea about cutting the bodice on the bias. I love the stripe cut that way.
6/19/07 10:45 PM
Christina Sonja said...
What a great maxi-dress. I love how the angled grainline in the bust adds visual interest. And that pose reminds me of Barbie too.
6/19/07 10:34 PM
ladybegood said...
Your photo looks like you're floating! Perfect four such an ethereal dress! Thanks for the informative review.
6/19/07 10:29 PM
carolynw said...
Your dress is just lovely but I am laughing - "God is your witness" - He must be pretty busy because I and I suspect many other sewers have sworn not to buy fabric until--- but then the Devil made us do just the opposite.
6/19/07 10:29 PM
cmarie12 said...
This is just so cute on you!
6/19/07 10:26 PM
Sharon M said...
Cidell, you look like a Barbie doll in this dress, (and I mean that in a good way)- its just so cute on you! And I love your answer to the slight FBA - cutting on the bias.
6/19/07 10:18 PM
FuzzyNavelPeach said...
The dress looks great on you! The bust area fits very nicely. I'm working on this dress right now, and I hope mine turns out half as decent as yours did.
6/19/07 10:10 PM
eibhlin said...
You look Gorgeous Cidell!!!
6/19/07 10:01 PM
mochalover said...
Love your dress!!! Also thanks for the confirmation, I pulled this pattern out yesterday and thought I would use an invisible zipper and eliminate the keyhole opening, too.
6/19/07 9:55 PM
Nancywin said...
You look like cidellrella in this dress! Beautiful!
6/19/07 9:48 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous dress with a beautiful fit Cidell !
6/19/07 9:44 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Fabulous!!!!!!!
6/19/07 9:42 PM
coolobreeze said...
Cidell, you are so funny! I really enjoyed your review. Your dress is very pretty on you.
6/19/07 9:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Butterick 5584

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

More Info
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

More Info