SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2935 (Men's Shirt)

36 more reviews
Viewed 550 times 
Reviewed by:mClones
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mClonesstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/18/03
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/07 11:35 AM
Last Updated:6/23/07 11:35 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Olivia Sews said...
Beautiful job on the pocket and overall!! My DH is a 50 inch chest so this pattern should fit him. Nice to have a place to do your buttonholes. Great review!
6/23/07 1:24 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
You are so lucky to havew access to places like that. I don't even have a fabric store without driving quite a distance. Nice shirt by the way!
6/23/07 3:20 PM
KimPa said...
It is a universal law of physics that your practice buttonholes will all come out perfectly, but your machines senses when you are sewing them for "real". Tricks I have used: put a bit of paper under the area where you are sewing the buttonhole - I use the paper I peel off from the Heat n' Bond that I use from other projects. This helps the fabric move more easily under the buttonhole foot. Also, lengthen your stitch length just a little bit - seems to help to move your fabric under the foot better and solve the bunching up problem. Shirt looks awesome. I never thought of using Steam A Seam for the pocket, but it is so obvious now that you mention it - I'll try it next time!
6/23/07 10:31 PM
Stilltheone said...
WOW! What a great shirt. You did a wonderful job.
6/24/07 11:31 AM
mClones said...
Thanks for the tip, KimPa. I actually learned about the Steam a Seam technique from Louise Cutting at the Worcester Expo last year.
6/25/07 7:05 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I love this pattern, too! I've worn mine out making shirts for DH. I'm so jealous that you have a place to take a garment for buttonholes!! I don't like doing them on my machine and procrastinate it horribly. I have 3 shirts that are finished and in need of the holes!
6/25/07 9:39 AM
pterion said...
Very cool shirt! DS looks quite proud to be wearing it. I'd heard about Jonathon's Buttonholes and will not hesitate to use them for my next project requiring buttonholes!
6/25/07 10:21 PM
AnneM said...
Great shirt. You DSon looks about ready to take off on vacation. What a deal on those buttonholes; well worth it vs home machine versions. Congrats on getting back into actual sewing again (although the planning is lots of fun).
7/6/07 10:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sure-Fit Designs Pants Kit

photo
by: neon8tl

Review
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 1915

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review