Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2006-103 (shorts) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1102 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 266
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/07 5:05 PM
Last Updated:7/26/07 9:57 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birgitte said...
What beautiful work- looks completely RTW!!!
6/23/07 5:09 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Fabulous job on the pockets!
6/23/07 5:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
Those look fantastic. You did such a professional looking job on the pockets too.
6/23/07 5:31 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very nice shorts, the pockets look perfect!
6/23/07 6:40 PM
Vonnevo said...
Nancy, these are great looking shorts !! Thanks for the tip on using the stretch lace to rectify the cutting boo boo. I have done that a few times myself. Apart from using a 40 waist, tapering to a 44 hip, did you have to make any other alterations eg, sway back and crotch length?
6/23/07 8:57 PM
pamici said...
*Great* looking shorts!
6/23/07 9:12 PM
Nancywin said...
I did not make any other alterations. The crotch curve and back were fine. I think I may have cut the back a 42 and the front a 44 with the waist a 40, but I had to let out all the seams, so the back probably ended up being a 44 after all. The shorts sit below the waist, so I didn't need to make any sway back alteration there. I really like the way BWOF pants fit. Oh, the only seam I did not let out was the front since I had already installed the fly zip
6/23/07 9:12 PM
Judy Wentz said...
You just get better and better. These look like high end retail. Congratulations.
6/23/07 9:48 PM
TrixieD said...
Perfect pockets and great detailing.
6/23/07 10:02 PM
Levone said...
Great looking shorts! They look like they fit really well.
6/23/07 10:10 PM
ChristineX said...
Wow, awesome job on this pair!! =)
6/23/07 11:29 PM
jbrewer said...
Your shorts look great. Excellent detailing.
6/24/07 8:51 AM
Tiner W said...
Very professional!
6/24/07 9:01 AM
cindy-lou said...
Nancy, you are so pretty-- made even moreso by your beautiful clothing. I love the shorts, esp. the pockets-- I hope to have the skill to do these someday!
6/24/07 11:48 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your shorts look great!! Wow the pockets look fantastic!
6/24/07 1:24 PM
Sigrid. said...
Good to see you've mastered the piped pockets. They're great and so are the shorts. I still have to practise the piped pockets :-(
6/24/07 2:19 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your shorts look great!! Wow the pockets look fantastic!
6/24/07 4:30 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Excellent job on the shorts.
6/24/07 7:17 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WOWOWOWOW! Great job, Nancy.
6/24/07 9:05 PM
Marji said...
really nice shorts. the pocket looks great! I'm dying to know, do you like the KK method? Better or not than the traditional? You are so inspiring.
6/25/07 10:29 AM
Nancywin said...
I relaly do like the KK method. It is easy once you get the hang of it. I've never done double welt pockets by the traditional method, though. It's on my list to try.
6/25/07 3:40 PM
Linda G said...
I must have missed your review on the city shorts...the fit and detail is awesome you did the welt pockets perfectly.
7/26/07 9:34 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Very well done. Excellent craftmanship!
7/26/07 10:49 PM
smoody said...
I'll say.... you do exellent work! Great looking capris. You always do wonderful work!
7/26/07 11:51 PM
Marji said...
Nancy, they came out great in the white. Nice touch on the pockets using the fleshtone lining. I enjoyed the narrative in your Picassaweb-log
7/27/07 5:15 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I'm having such fun looking at all your SWAP garments. Everything looks so nice on you. I love that piped pocket on these capris. Very professional!
7/27/07 9:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Sew Liberated 117
photo
Review by VintageTem... on 10/15/13
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by withoutsea... on 3/23/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us