SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 5766 (1940s bathing suit)

Viewed 1536 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/07 10:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DoggyGirl said...
This is adorable, and it looks really good on you!
6/26/07 10:27 PM
Karen6790 said...
I absolutely love this. I can see why you think the print is a little busy with all the ruching, but that just gives you an excuse to make another one in a solid. Great job, and I love all the pictures too.
6/26/07 10:33 PM
cindy-lou said...
SOOOO vintage hip! Please don't stop breathing and drown while you're in Greece. I love the sailor-esque touches!
6/26/07 10:36 PM
pterion said...
How adorable is that suit! Kind of makes one appreciate all the 'modern conveniences' we sewists now have. Enjoy Greece!
6/26/07 10:46 PM
poplin said...
Nice sunglasses, too!
6/26/07 11:19 PM
Nancy K said...
Delightful review and I loved the web album. Great suit. 3 yards of fabric? Wow!
6/26/07 11:33 PM
EastwoodFan said...
It's really a cute swimsuit. I like the ruching. These vintage patterns are so much fun. The belt that you made also adds a nice touch to the suit. Great job!
6/26/07 11:35 PM
EveS said...
Oh you have totally outdone yourself! This suit rocks (and I'll be trolling ebay you can bet)!!! A modest suit that's not matronly...I'm all about that! Thanks for the great review and kudos to Sherril for being a such a good egg!
6/27/07 0:19 AM
lmg said...
Absolutely stupendous!
6/27/07 0:35 AM
Vonnevo said...
Totally fabulous nicegirl !! Love this style and all your poses too ! A big shout out to Sherrill for her kindness too :))
6/27/07 1:03 AM
Leora said...
3 yards? Wow. You know, this swimsuit is definitely more flattering than most of the styles available today. Great job!!
6/27/07 1:12 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Okay, after having spent several hours yesterday trying on swimsuits (wth no resulting purchase), I'm totally jealous! What a great swimsuit. They just don't make 'em like they used to...
6/27/07 1:12 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Love it!!! I can't imagine it taking so much yardage. But you look fab in it!
6/27/07 1:16 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wow, lovely swimsuit! And you look great, like the pictures in your album.
6/27/07 2:43 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, what a fun outfit! I can just see you on a lounge with a cocktail (with the umbrella of course).
6/27/07 2:53 AM
motomoda said...
You need to complete the outfit with "a skirt made of pineapple cloth with a fringe at the side of the wrap-around of raffia. To harmonize with the "Waikiki" skirt there is a lei of rubber flowers to decorate the neckline of the bathing suit." You can see this lovely creation at http://www.cobbles.com/simpp_archive/1photo-collection.htm - see the Marion Davies photo! I was really looking for a photo of a fringed raffia hat for you but this is the best I could do:)
6/27/07 5:07 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this is so cool! Hard to tell what's the most adorable, the suit or the pictures :-). You could take a shower with it, and decide whether you might drown? Because looking fabulous at the pool would be nicely complemented by a bit of Esther-like swimming...
6/27/07 6:15 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a fabulous bathing suit and super style!!!
6/27/07 6:58 AM
zora said...
Wow, you look great in this swimsuit! Why oh why is this pattern out of print? I love the style!
6/27/07 7:44 AM
MissCelie said...
Girl. You have earned my *Very Helpful*. That's adorable!
6/27/07 7:44 AM
Heatherrique said...
Oh NiceGirl, you never cease to amaze us! You sure are the modern day Pin Up Girl! Your swimsuit is so hollywood glam! I love it! BTW: I suggest you go to your nearby policy provider and insure those gorgeous legs! Have fun in Greece! Say hi to Johnny Stamos for me!
6/27/07 1:55 PM
Sharon M said...
Oh what a fun swimsuit - and I love the photo poses!
6/27/07 4:43 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You suit looks absolutely adorable on your behind and not bad from the front either! I'm glad someone who could do the pattern justice was able to use it. P.S. I'm jealous of your ability to make slap dash sewing work for you. I'm too old school for it but I'm sure I'd get more done if I had your attitude.
6/27/07 5:54 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love it -love it - these styles looks so fabulous on you.
6/27/07 6:12 PM
bunz said...
Terrific!!! I vote for leaving the belt where it is -- spot on.
6/27/07 6:50 PM
Erica B. said...
That is too adorable... I love it!
6/27/07 9:07 PM
carolynw said...
Just too cute for words - green with envy at how lovely you look in this!! Well done erffort
6/28/07 7:01 PM
Mufffet said...
Cute cute cute!!!! :)) Great fabric - LOOKS 40s!
6/29/07 8:22 AM
JeanetteE said...
Absolutely delightful. Great job on the suit;& I just loved all of your sassy poses.
6/30/07 11:21 PM
AnneM said...
Very fun. They didn't actually wear them skin tight; bathing suits were slightly looser then than now (based on movies, anyway). I always love your ridiculous poses. :) And I'm not going to say what I just spent on some Speedo bathingsuits.
7/6/07 8:35 PM
belphebe said...
That is so cute! It looks great on you and I love the poses.
7/25/07 6:35 PM
Anabolina said...
Love it. You did a great job.
7/27/07 4:41 PM
KD said...
I'm planning on sewing a similar suit, but with a built-in wrap skirt. I'm inspired!!
2/29/08 5:08 PM
Sickofitcindy said...
That is too cute! Sherril is so sweet to share this with you. I'll have to add this to my "patterns to find" list.
6/19/09 3:14 PM
JEF said...
I am seeing your review years late but have to comment anyway - fantastic!!!!
3/9/11 10:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 2174

photo
by: kittecat

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now