Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 5766 (1940s bathing suit) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 1531 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/07 10:16 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DoggyGirl said...
This is adorable, and it looks really good on you!
6/26/07 10:27 PM
Karen6790 said...
I absolutely love this. I can see why you think the print is a little busy with all the ruching, but that just gives you an excuse to make another one in a solid. Great job, and I love all the pictures too.
6/26/07 10:33 PM
cindy-lou said...
SOOOO vintage hip! Please don't stop breathing and drown while you're in Greece. I love the sailor-esque touches!
6/26/07 10:36 PM
pterion said...
How adorable is that suit! Kind of makes one appreciate all the 'modern conveniences' we sewists now have. Enjoy Greece!
6/26/07 10:46 PM
poplin said...
Nice sunglasses, too!
6/26/07 11:19 PM
Nancy K said...
Delightful review and I loved the web album. Great suit. 3 yards of fabric? Wow!
6/26/07 11:33 PM
EastwoodFan said...
It's really a cute swimsuit. I like the ruching. These vintage patterns are so much fun. The belt that you made also adds a nice touch to the suit. Great job!
6/26/07 11:35 PM
EveS said...
Oh you have totally outdone yourself! This suit rocks (and I'll be trolling ebay you can bet)!!! A modest suit that's not matronly...I'm all about that! Thanks for the great review and kudos to Sherril for being a such a good egg!
6/27/07 0:19 AM
lmg said...
Absolutely stupendous!
6/27/07 0:35 AM
Vonnevo said...
Totally fabulous nicegirl !! Love this style and all your poses too ! A big shout out to Sherrill for her kindness too :))
6/27/07 1:03 AM
Leora said...
3 yards? Wow. You know, this swimsuit is definitely more flattering than most of the styles available today. Great job!!
6/27/07 1:12 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Okay, after having spent several hours yesterday trying on swimsuits (wth no resulting purchase), I'm totally jealous! What a great swimsuit. They just don't make 'em like they used to...
6/27/07 1:12 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Love it!!! I can't imagine it taking so much yardage. But you look fab in it!
6/27/07 1:16 AM
Sigrid. said...
Wow, lovely swimsuit! And you look great, like the pictures in your album.
6/27/07 2:43 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow, what a fun outfit! I can just see you on a lounge with a cocktail (with the umbrella of course).
6/27/07 2:53 AM
motomoda said...
You need to complete the outfit with "a skirt made of pineapple cloth with a fringe at the side of the wrap-around of raffia. To harmonize with the "Waikiki" skirt there is a lei of rubber flowers to decorate the neckline of the bathing suit." You can see this lovely creation at http://www.cobbles.com/simpp_archive/1photo-collection.htm - see the Marion Davies photo! I was really looking for a photo of a fringed raffia hat for you but this is the best I could do:)
6/27/07 5:07 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this is so cool! Hard to tell what's the most adorable, the suit or the pictures :-). You could take a shower with it, and decide whether you might drown? Because looking fabulous at the pool would be nicely complemented by a bit of Esther-like swimming...
6/27/07 6:15 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a fabulous bathing suit and super style!!!
6/27/07 6:58 AM
zora said...
Wow, you look great in this swimsuit! Why oh why is this pattern out of print? I love the style!
6/27/07 7:44 AM
MissCelie said...
Girl. You have earned my *Very Helpful*. That's adorable!
6/27/07 7:44 AM
Heatherrique said...
Oh NiceGirl, you never cease to amaze us! You sure are the modern day Pin Up Girl! Your swimsuit is so hollywood glam! I love it! BTW: I suggest you go to your nearby policy provider and insure those gorgeous legs! Have fun in Greece! Say hi to Johnny Stamos for me!
6/27/07 1:55 PM
Sharon M said...
Oh what a fun swimsuit - and I love the photo poses!
6/27/07 4:43 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You suit looks absolutely adorable on your behind and not bad from the front either! I'm glad someone who could do the pattern justice was able to use it. P.S. I'm jealous of your ability to make slap dash sewing work for you. I'm too old school for it but I'm sure I'd get more done if I had your attitude.
6/27/07 5:54 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love it -love it - these styles looks so fabulous on you.
6/27/07 6:12 PM
bunz said...
Terrific!!! I vote for leaving the belt where it is -- spot on.
6/27/07 6:50 PM
Erica B. said...
That is too adorable... I love it!
6/27/07 9:07 PM
carolynw said...
Just too cute for words - green with envy at how lovely you look in this!! Well done erffort
6/28/07 7:01 PM
Mufffet said...
Cute cute cute!!!! :)) Great fabric - LOOKS 40s!
6/29/07 8:22 AM
JeanetteE said...
Absolutely delightful. Great job on the suit;& I just loved all of your sassy poses.
6/30/07 11:21 PM
AnneM said...
Very fun. They didn't actually wear them skin tight; bathing suits were slightly looser then than now (based on movies, anyway). I always love your ridiculous poses. :) And I'm not going to say what I just spent on some Speedo bathingsuits.
7/6/07 8:35 PM
belphebe said...
That is so cute! It looks great on you and I love the poses.
7/25/07 6:35 PM
Anabolina said...
Love it. You did a great job.
7/27/07 4:41 PM
KD said...
I'm planning on sewing a similar suit, but with a built-in wrap skirt. I'm inspired!!
2/29/08 5:08 PM
Sickofitcindy said...
That is too cute! Sherril is so sweet to share this with you. I'll have to add this to my "patterns to find" list.
6/19/09 3:14 PM
JEF said...
I am seeing your review years late but have to comment anyway - fantastic!!!!
3/9/11 10:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Folkwear 258
photo
Review by Annika on 6/28/08
Read Review

Burda 9491 Pattern
Burda 9491 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 63953-1000 Judy Jetson
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/30/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us