SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1213 (Mandarin Shirt Jacket)

15 more reviews
Viewed 982 times 
Reviewed by:Terri Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Smithstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/07 9:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
selvage said...
beautiful jacket on you; elegant and simple. looks great with your jeans.
5/23/09 10:42 PM
Terri Smith said...
Karine: I ususally start with a size 12 in Vogue. Across my back at the shoulders is really closer to a 10, but my front is bigger, so I start at 12. My bust measurement is 36.5 to 37 and that matches the size for a small in this pattern. Because the button reguires thread to run vertically, the same direction as the buttonhole, and horizontally, it makes the button hole bulge because the stitching is wider than the buttonhole opening. If I do not button the jacket, no one is the wiser. Seamingly Simple: No, I did not lengthen the sleeves, I just have shorter arms. Thanks everyone for the kind words. Terri
6/29/07 6:00 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Did you lengthen the sleeves, too? The pattern seems to show three-quarter length.
6/29/07 7:53 AM
Birgitte said...
Your jacket looks great on you!
6/28/07 8:40 PM
Karine said...
I think your jacket is terrific! It looks great both with and without the shoulder pads. I have this pattern but haven't made it yet. You said you made the small. Just to get a sense of how it's sized, what size in a Vogue pattern would you typically use? Also, could you explain what happened to your buttons? I didn't understand why the four holes made the frong bulge?
6/28/07 7:02 PM
MissCelie said...
I like it! First you make that awesome shirt with the perfect design placement then you have this jacket too!
6/28/07 10:24 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Your version is so lovely in linen!
6/28/07 9:44 AM
carolynw said...
Love your jacket - I guess for me the shoulder pads would have to be in - I am one with wimpy shoulders so... You do have nice shoulders so either with or without looks good on you.
6/28/07 9:13 AM
Linda G said...
Very nice looking jacket.
6/28/07 9:07 AM
Fran G said...
Really pretty jacket/shirt. I love the fabric; very classy!
6/28/07 6:41 AM
Liane M said...
I agree with Mclones on the shoulder pads. I have this pattern but thought it would be too box like. I guess I'll have to dig it out. Thanks for bringing this pattern back to my attention. Yours look great.
6/28/07 5:52 AM
mClones said...
Very smart. Doesn't need the shoulder pads in my opinion.
6/28/07 0:12 AM
Tiner W said...
This jacket has such a lovely fit on you--I had thought it was too boxy until I saw yours. Beautiful!
6/27/07 10:52 PM
rivergum said...
Very nice, lovely job!
6/27/07 10:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains 0134152

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2013-142

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
WhatNots

WhatNots

More Info
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

More Info