SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4549 (Summer blouses/tops)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1586 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/07 1:55 PM
Last Updated:6/28/07 2:44 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Lori, you can send this cute blouse my way because your alterations sounds like a good fit for me! Maybe you can take those buttons up a little higher for more coverage or are they just decorative?
6/28/07 2:17 PM
TrixieD said...
I love the colour and the look, and I sympathize with you on matching plaids. I did that with a blouse last week and it takes time to be sure the stripes line up directly in many directions at once. A nice summer look.
6/28/07 2:32 PM
squilts said...
Cute, cute, cute! Your work with the plaids looks great to me!
6/28/07 2:34 PM
EveS said...
Lori, I LOVE this top!!! The details are great...your version is much better than the pattern photos! Of course, my first thought when I saw the thumbnail was, "Oh, that's perfect for my pink-orange plaid I've been dying to use!" My second thought after reading your review? "Hmm, maybe not so much." But I think I might have to consider this pattern for a different fabric! Great review...thanks!!
6/28/07 2:37 PM
Levone said...
This is such a pretty top. Great job on matching the plaids.
6/28/07 3:05 PM
LoriB said...
Sherril, I thought about adding a fourth and maybe even fifth button but the loops are sewn into the seam so I'd have to do open the seam and redo some topstitching. Not impossible, just time consuming. The other option is to hand stitch it closed in the front and the buttons would just be decorative. Since it has a zipper, I can easily get in and out of it.
6/28/07 3:52 PM
STACEYWILSON said...
Great top!!! Where can I find a dressform like that?
6/28/07 4:47 PM
Terri Smith said...
I like your top, and your review tells me to play it safe for a while and stick to paisley!
6/28/07 5:05 PM
MissCelie said...
I love plaids but have never really worked well with them. You've done a tremendous job!
6/28/07 5:22 PM
carolynw said...
Lori - truly lovely - you did a wonderful job with this plaied.
6/28/07 6:54 PM
ryan's mom said...
So cute and summery! Your top looks great!
6/28/07 7:19 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
Your top looks way nicer than the ones on the pattern envelope!
6/28/07 9:32 PM
jnamcd said...
Cute!
6/28/07 10:56 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I see squilts and I had the same first reaction: cute cute cute cute CUTE!! Brilliant plaid matching.
6/28/07 11:24 PM
Lori V said...
This is so wonderful. What a pretty, fun blouse.
6/28/07 11:25 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Way cute. Love the plaid - no matter what the pattern envelope says.
6/28/07 11:28 PM
Bonnie O said...
Ca-Yoot!!!!! Sounds like you put a lot of effort into this and it is well worth it. Just adorable. I also have some summery weight plaids and although I'll skip this specific pattern, you've definitely given me ideas for a couple others that would probably be a little easier to match the plaids. Maybe S4176 or S3750, view F, in which I would not match the bodice and skirt.
6/28/07 11:32 PM
OP Gal said...
Your top turned out great. What a cool summer top! I love that pattern. I avoid plaids for the reasons you've stated in your review. They look great, but are just too much trouble.
6/29/07 9:15 AM
Stilltheone said...
I love it! I love the colors and how you arranged the plaid. Great job.
6/29/07 10:38 AM
Hilary said...
Wow, your shirt is *soo* cute! I can sympathize about the pain of plaids (lol!) but it sure was worth it, it looks wonderful. Very cool and summery-now I want to get my copy of this out and sew it up! Great job!!
6/29/07 1:12 PM
LauraTS said...
It may have been a trial, but it looks wonderful. Putting the lower front on the bias seems to have made it skim over the tummy nicely, too. I've got one of the other views of this pattern in progress, so thanks for the review.
6/29/07 2:15 PM
Lou05 said...
This turned out great. Nice job with the plaid and what a neat idea to turn the bottom panel on diagonal. I'm betting you look terrific in it! After your review I'll be making a muslin for sure but now I can't wait to get started. Thanks.
7/3/07 1:19 AM
So So said...
Just found this review. Great looking top. I have this pattern, tried to make a 3 cloured top, but got disgusted whent eh top did not fit. Needs a FBA. Pattern was tossed tot eh side, but seeing yours are renewed my interest again. Well done with the plaids. Very smart fresh top!
7/6/07 4:47 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Excellent review, thankyou.
7/12/07 6:13 PM
AlexaNJ said...
I love the combination of bias/straight grain!! Great job!!!
8/5/07 6:52 PM
BLB said...
I think it looks terrific, Lori.
1/18/08 10:09 PM
French.Seam said...
I made this same pattern, and the sleeves are so tight I can't raise my arms. My arms aren't big though.
4/4/08 2:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's 6512

photo
by: trumbelina

Review
My Image Magazine Winter 2012-M1253

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now