SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2007-104 (Jacket)

Viewed 1486 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 149
Favored by: 222 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/07 11:40 AM
Last Updated:6/30/07 11:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
62 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSY said...
Fabulous look!
6/30/07 11:59 AM
Miss Adrienne said...
Oh, Cidell, another stunning creation. This looks fabulous on you. Thanks for the review. I need a summer jacket too, and hadn't considered this one until I read your review!
6/30/07 12:00 PM
Sigrid. said...
Cidell, this is a wonderful jacket. I will browse through my BWOF issue tonight, as I didn't notice this before! Beautiful done.
6/30/07 12:07 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Ohhhh, this is so perfect on you. I love the whole shape, but the pointed placket is what takes it over the top. It's wonderful!
6/30/07 12:08 PM
Annika said...
Whoa! Utterly fantastic! It looks great on you. I wouldn't have done bound buttonholes or lining as I am the laziest woman in the world. This jacket doesn't need them.
6/30/07 12:17 PM
sewbehind said...
That is wonderful. Great job. I love the stripe placement.
6/30/07 12:54 PM
Erica B. said...
I absolutely love this jacket... It looks fab on you!
6/30/07 1:19 PM
jlg said...
Such a cute jacket. Fantastic job.
6/30/07 1:24 PM
ribbit2jen said...
Too cute!
6/30/07 1:24 PM
Enid E said...
What A nice jacket and it looks wonderful on you!
6/30/07 1:28 PM
Diane E said...
Your new jacket is beautiful and so well-fitted. Love it!
6/30/07 2:05 PM
Linda G said...
I love your jacket...I have fabric in my stash for it....but by the time I get around to it ...three more patterns will be out that I like too...You did a great job on it....I love the seersucker.
6/30/07 2:06 PM
SansSouci572 said...
It took longer to take the pictures! All the stripes make it look complicated! It looks like a Hurley jacket I had my eye on.
6/30/07 2:20 PM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket!! Yours looks a lot better than the one in Burda.
6/30/07 2:35 PM
cindy-lou said...
To quote Ronald Reagan, 'Well, Cidell, there you go again.' You are awesome! I do love the stripes and the nouveau cut. So Hip!
6/30/07 3:07 PM
rosannec said...
Awesome jacket, Cidell! Another winner, but of course. It looked way too mod for me on the model, but your version makes one reconsider. I keep saying to myself that I will make something out of seersucker and your jacket continues to inspire!
6/30/07 3:39 PM
carolynw said...
Wow and then Wow again!! Absolutely stunning
6/30/07 4:07 PM
Sheila457 said...
Gorgeous jacket and looks versatile.
6/30/07 4:34 PM
SandraB said...
This jacket looks great. I never even considered making this one until I saw your pictures. Great job.
6/30/07 4:54 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking jacket. You have added some wonderful pieces to your wardrobe.
6/30/07 5:30 PM
lmg said...
Love it, Love it! I have some striped linen/hemp I was considering for this pattern but cut out another from April's issue. Now I am kicking myself!! Are you switching from dresses to jackets...??
6/30/07 5:40 PM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely jacket, thank you for the review another to add to the must make list :-)
6/30/07 5:48 PM
Vonnevo said...
Gorgeous jacket Cidell!!!
6/30/07 7:10 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous jacket, love the stripe design. Another winner!
6/30/07 7:14 PM
Nancywin said...
Wow! You finished it - and it looks GOOD! Great job!
6/30/07 7:20 PM
megp47 said...
It looks incredible! I want one.
6/30/07 7:51 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful match of fabric to pattern to a style that looks great on you...I really enjoy your reviews.
6/30/07 8:17 PM
Ann Smith said...
Adorable. It looks like it took a lot of time to make.
6/30/07 8:33 PM
Beve said...
You not only have an eye for fabric with pattern but the technique to make it all work. I so enjoy your reviews. This is wonderful on you..
6/30/07 9:24 PM
PhyllisC said...
I love seersucker - this is great!
6/30/07 9:47 PM
BettyMike said...
Holy Cow! You and your jacket are fabulous! What a fantastic job!
6/30/07 11:02 PM
EveS said...
I want it. End of story.
7/1/07 0:09 AM
Betsybobbin said...
So cute! You've inspired me!
7/1/07 0:17 AM
pterion said...
Sublime. I want it too. The styling of this pattern is really wonderful, but as always, your fabric choice takes it further than the magazine photos.
7/1/07 0:27 AM
Powergirl said...
Wow Cidell - that's a fantastic looking jacket. Thanks for sharing.
7/1/07 0:51 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Excellent. your figure and talent make everything look perfect!
7/1/07 2:51 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Ooh, this looks -much- better than any seersucker jacket I've ever seen :-). And it's great for the Maryland steambath, you were right not to line it. Really smashing!
7/1/07 4:13 AM
scrappycat said...
Absolutely fabulous. You are so talented. Will you please come sew for me?
7/1/07 6:57 AM
blue mooney said...
Cidell, you make the CUTEST things! Isn't seersucker a breeze to work with?
7/1/07 8:12 AM
nimble said...
I don't know if it is your fabulous sewing or the way you look in what you sew but I always get excited when I see a review from you!!!
7/1/07 8:17 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
7/1/07 8:23 AM
nicegirl said...
I can't believe that was fast to make. It looks intricate and I really love the way the stripes worked out. Very jealous of your lovely summer jacket!
7/1/07 9:23 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is the cutest jacket Cidell - you did an awesome job!!!!
7/1/07 10:42 AM
Sharon M said...
This is so cute! It looks like it took much longer than you said it did. This is the one issue of BWOF I was able to find at the bookstore so I *must* pull it out and get busy.
7/1/07 11:56 AM
Heatherrique said...
Cidell, that's so eyecatching! Gorgeous!
7/1/07 12:34 PM
Karen6790 said...
I didn't buy this issue because nothing caught my eye. Why didn't this jacket get me? It's fabulous, and I love how it looks on you. Great job, and I'm looking forward to seeing the matching pants.
7/1/07 12:37 PM
Jane S said...
Spectacular jacket, bravo again!
7/1/07 1:03 PM
washer_woman said...
Too cute -- I love it!
7/1/07 4:01 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Very very cool jacket. Looks awesome!!
7/1/07 5:44 PM
Sewing Chick said...
What a great jacket! It fits you so well. I can't believe you didn't have to make any alterations. Don't you love it when you can buy fabric for dirt cheap and make something that looks sooooo expensive?
7/1/07 11:10 PM
Marji said...
This is a great look on you
7/2/07 4:01 AM
squirrellypoo said...
That's so fab! I didn't even look twice at that jacket in the magazine, what with all the pretty dresses, but I may just need to make that now...
7/2/07 7:55 AM
katyusha said...
Awesome!
7/2/07 12:35 PM
Markie1 said...
Cidell--I am waiting for you to make something that I DON'T love!! This is an awesome jacket, and of course, I want to make it. I haven't figured out the Burda thing yet, though. you did a beautiful job, it doesn't look like it would come together fast. Awesome!
7/2/07 3:13 PM
Terri Smith said...
You are my sewing idol!
7/2/07 8:49 PM
Kiro said...
I have to say, I get very excited when I see there is a review from you, I love reading them. Everything is always so well done. Beautiful jacket.
7/5/07 2:48 PM
ChristineX said...
This is a beautiful jacket! Bravo!! =)
7/15/07 9:20 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I am awestuck: this is a GREAT jacket! Did you ever get a nice fit, too.
7/15/07 9:48 PM
Simka72 said...
gorgeous jacket, looks great on you!
8/4/07 11:59 AM
Nancy K said...
don't know how I missed this review. It looks terrific on you.
8/15/07 3:15 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Beautiful jacket on you Cidell! I'm not long a member of SPR but already loving your reviews and beautiful wardrobe..... all I have to do now is actually get working a lot harder to sew a few more pieces!
9/12/07 8:51 AM
Sunny_D said...
Beautiful!
10/15/07 6:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 5633

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6402

photo
by: Bonnie O

Review