SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3416 (Misses Dresses and Swimsuits)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1034 times 
Reviewed by:LauraAnn12
photo

 
 
About LauraAnn12
Member since: 6/14/06
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/07 9:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
Looking at the design I think it's astonishing that they didn't include instructions for making the swim dress with the body suit pattern attached as you suggest, at least as an option. I presume the bodice pieces are the same? Enjoy your new suit.
6/30/07 10:10 PM
LauraAnn12 said...
KathleenS, yes, the bodice for view B is the same, so it can be done easily...but incredibly, they don't even mention it! Ha!
6/30/07 11:38 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful - I, too, prefer color to black
7/1/07 0:25 AM
MareeAlison said...
I really like your suit and the colour is much nicer than black. I use clear elastic on swimmers and I can offer some ideas if you like. You can use a teflon based foot - it won't stick then. The Threads website suggests you put the elastic under the fabric to sew, this could possibly work. I used Jeans needles when I sewed my swimmers (this was suggested by the people who taught us). They use Jeans needles all the time and hardly ever change them regardless of what they're sewing. I did try ball point but they didn't work as well for me.
7/1/07 3:56 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Mm.. clear elastic doesn't stick to my machine, and I just pin lightly through it at long intervals, stretch between pins as I sew. Maybe you need a teflon foot? However, it does stretch much more than 'regular', so you have to watch those measures. Plus it doesn't recover entirely - you have to stretch it one good time before you go, or it'll never go back to the size you started with. I still think it's the best, because it's so light and won't make a big lump on the edge of your swimsuit. Apart from all those technical things, your suit is great, I -adore- the fabric. Never an excuse to have anything boring if you make it yourself :-).
7/1/07 4:06 AM
valerie sews said...
Love the dress and the material. I have this pattern and an going to attempt to make a swimsuit for the next Aussie summer...thaks for your review.
7/1/07 5:10 AM
Sewliz said...
How beautiful, you look like a sea goddess! You will catch Neptune's eye so be careful. I don't like working with clear elastic either and always used the generic elastic which seemed to hold up well.
7/1/07 7:36 AM
zora said...
Very cute, the style and the colour suit you. There are several types of chlor resistant elastic. I have one that looks just like normal elastic but is chlor and salt water resistant. Don't regular elastic, some regular stuff breaks down after the first bath (don't ask how I know ;) )
7/1/07 9:14 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous suit and wonderful colors on you. Bravo!
7/1/07 1:13 PM
moss said...
I think this suit looks extremely hot on you and I love the fabric! It really looks fantastic and I hope you enjoy wearing it! :)
7/2/07 9:04 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Great suit - maybe keep the pattern to remake again in a few years as it suits you so well.
7/2/07 5:33 PM
mClones said...
looks very cute!
10/31/07 7:30 AM
Brillig said...
Good for you on going with a bold print. It looks fun, stylish and very "current". I get so tired of the "solid and dark colors are best" rule for curvy women. I like prints. Big and bold prints even, so you go girl! Your swimmer turned out well, looks nice, and suits you.
5/5/08 5:20 PM
ClaireSky said...
I love the fabric. It looks very nice on you too!
9/2/09 6:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-7

photo
by: 21wale

Review
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Demi Drape Top

photo
by: Deepika

Review