Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Home Couture #13 (#13 - Home Couture) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 851 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:madhatter
photo
About madhatterstar
GERMANY
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/07 4:43 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissRita_ca said...
I like the dress on you, it really suits you. Is the book available in Canada?
7/1/07 5:40 PM
Birgitte said...
That's just a beautiful dress! I love it on you and I love how you composed the picture by the window... truly 'home couture'.
7/1/07 5:50 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - this looks great and I love black on you.
7/1/07 6:36 PM
Sport said...
Absolutely exquisite on you! Those buttons are fantastic! Have to love those flea market finds.
7/1/07 9:27 PM
Stitch Wench said...
I saw your blog, and I think the buttons look very lovely on this dress and you did a good job. If you work with a light batiste in the future, you may double the skirt if you want no see through.
7/1/07 9:44 PM
Vivienne said...
I love your choice of buttons and the contrast stitching! Miss Rita, I've seen the book in Vancouver.
7/2/07 3:24 AM
Marji said...
Lovely dress!
7/2/07 3:54 AM
Tany said...
Your dress is precious! Thank you for this very helpful review! (and I will try to find that book!)
7/2/07 4:08 AM
madhatter said...
Thank you, ladies! FYI: The book is available at yesasia.com or amazon.jp. Both sell and ship worldwide. Any Kinokuniya bookstores will have this or order it for you :) Stitch Wench - Thanks for the hint. Indeed I thought about doubling the skirt first, but then went with the "normal" lining fabric, as the outside fabric tends to "climb up" whatever you wear underneath ;)
7/2/07 6:05 AM
Hilary said...
Lovely!! Your dress is so cute, and looks great on you. I love the ruffles, they are just enough without being too frilly. Great review!
7/2/07 6:49 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress!
7/2/07 12:17 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely dress...very vintage and very nicely done. :)
7/2/07 4:47 PM
MissCelie said...
I need to get online and beat all the other PR people to this book. I've gots to get it. This dress is wonderful!
7/2/07 11:28 PM
jhansby said...
I live in Japan and have just discovered other books by this author....I'm going to start buying them up!! Gorgeous dress!! Do you have any problems adjusting the patterns to fit "non-Japanese" sized bodies?
7/3/07 6:48 AM
madhatter said...
very kind of you all :) jhansby - i don't need to adjust the patterns. i'm very small and relatively "flat", so i don't have issues with the fitting. for everyone taller than me (5'3"), with more bust than "barely a B-cup" etc. a lot of alteration will be needed. anyways - it's do-able!
7/3/07 4:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 2750 BAGS
photo
Review by valgal on 2/21/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 501 Pattern
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-115B Tunic Top
photo
Review by JuneHawk on 5/2/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3517 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3517 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6938 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6938 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us