SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2731 (Misses' Vest)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1540 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/03 5:28 PM
Last Updated:2/18/04 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia Graham said...
Your embroidery and vest overall are very handsome! Great job, and a nice thorough review.
8/20/04 7:15 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful result. I truly appreciate all the construction details, and problem solving included in this review. I'm new to PR and will do a review of my experience with the "B" view of this pattern. Thanks for all the helpful sharing. I will be looking for you other reviews!
4/6/04 0:04 AM
Hilary said...
Lori, your vest looks really great! I love the snowflake embroidery too~I have always wanted this pattern, its good to see it reviewed here!
2/18/04 9:49 PM
Elona said...
Lori, what a great-looking vest! Very professional.
2/18/04 3:38 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Thanks, Lori, I sent it to your website.
2/13/03 1:06 PM
LoriB said...
Debbie, I digitized the snowflake designs myself (there are 3 different ones) using clip art as a guide. Send me your email address and I can send them to you.
2/13/03 12:47 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
wish I could edit comments--, I just noticed that you had included a thought about interfacing :) good thought!
2/13/03 12:43 PM
LoriB said...
I didn't have any trouble with the pocket zippers at all. I was also hesitant but I basted everything and that made it easy. Despite the basting and careful sewing, the lining did roll a bit into view, so I was really glad I chose to use black zippers because then the bit of lining doesn't show or looks like accent color.
2/13/03 12:41 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Beautiful vest, Lori! I really like the addition of embroidery, and your choice of fabric/zipper colors. Where is that embroidery design available? Your zippered pockets look spectacular! The wave in the front zipper is barely noticable, but I have two thoughts, and you may have already included these. You could stay-stitch the front opening before applying the zipper, and you could add a narrow strip of lightweight interfacing to the fabric edge, also before applying the zipper. Beautiful work, thanks for the pictures!
2/13/03 12:40 PM
Lisa B said...
Looks great, Lori! Nice job. I like your choice of fabric and color. It's perfect for this vest.
2/13/03 12:35 PM
a. sHEWAN said...
Lori: Looks like you did a great job! Any problems with the pocket zippers? I haven't put in that type of zipper yet and I am woundering how difficult it is.
2/13/03 11:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Lekala Patterns 4162

photo
by: Tbird

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now