SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2731 (Misses' Vest)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1540 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/03 5:28 PM
Last Updated:2/18/04 12:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
a. sHEWAN said...
Lori: Looks like you did a great job! Any problems with the pocket zippers? I haven't put in that type of zipper yet and I am woundering how difficult it is.
2/13/03 11:01 AM
Lisa B said...
Looks great, Lori! Nice job. I like your choice of fabric and color. It's perfect for this vest.
2/13/03 12:35 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Beautiful vest, Lori! I really like the addition of embroidery, and your choice of fabric/zipper colors. Where is that embroidery design available? Your zippered pockets look spectacular! The wave in the front zipper is barely noticable, but I have two thoughts, and you may have already included these. You could stay-stitch the front opening before applying the zipper, and you could add a narrow strip of lightweight interfacing to the fabric edge, also before applying the zipper. Beautiful work, thanks for the pictures!
2/13/03 12:40 PM
LoriB said...
I didn't have any trouble with the pocket zippers at all. I was also hesitant but I basted everything and that made it easy. Despite the basting and careful sewing, the lining did roll a bit into view, so I was really glad I chose to use black zippers because then the bit of lining doesn't show or looks like accent color.
2/13/03 12:41 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
wish I could edit comments--, I just noticed that you had included a thought about interfacing :) good thought!
2/13/03 12:43 PM
LoriB said...
Debbie, I digitized the snowflake designs myself (there are 3 different ones) using clip art as a guide. Send me your email address and I can send them to you.
2/13/03 12:47 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Thanks, Lori, I sent it to your website.
2/13/03 1:06 PM
Elona said...
Lori, what a great-looking vest! Very professional.
2/18/04 3:38 PM
Hilary said...
Lori, your vest looks really great! I love the snowflake embroidery too~I have always wanted this pattern, its good to see it reviewed here!
2/18/04 9:49 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful result. I truly appreciate all the construction details, and problem solving included in this review. I'm new to PR and will do a review of my experience with the "B" view of this pattern. Thanks for all the helpful sharing. I will be looking for you other reviews!
4/6/04 0:04 AM
Julia Graham said...
Your embroidery and vest overall are very handsome! Great job, and a nice thorough review.
8/20/04 7:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

New Look 6071

photo
by: fabricepip...

Review
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
New Look 6922

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review