SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4112 (Built by Wendy shirt)

31 more reviews
Viewed 2189 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 415 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/07 1:53 AM
Last Updated:7/5/07 0:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Erica !!!
7/4/07 3:21 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful top.
7/4/07 3:44 AM
Tany said...
Fabulous!
7/4/07 3:56 AM
Marji said...
That is really pretty in the sheer.
7/4/07 4:23 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great top. It looks wonderful in a sheer. I have the same top cut out awaiting sewing so thanks for the timely review!
7/4/07 6:51 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty, I really like the sheer.
7/4/07 7:18 AM
Linda G said...
Wow that top looks great. You did a wonderful job on the construction.
7/4/07 7:35 AM
scrappycat said...
Very, very cute! Do you do anything different for buttonholes on sheer fabric?
7/4/07 7:41 AM
lmg said...
I love this top is a sheer. Elegant and very versatile as you say. Thanks for the tip on binding the armscye
7/4/07 8:08 AM
dbsewer said...
Lovely top, and your pose is great, too. ;-)
7/4/07 8:08 AM
Elaray said...
Beautiful ... as usual.
7/4/07 8:29 AM
Meredith P said...
Love your top, and your "art" shot. Totally cool, as usual...Very helpful review.
7/4/07 8:32 AM
carolynw said...
Nice !!
7/4/07 8:34 AM
jnamcd said...
OMGosh! I love this in a sheer --I think better than the pattern photo! Awesome job!
7/4/07 8:40 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely Erica. The georgette is the perfect fabric for this pattern.
7/4/07 9:17 AM
MissCelie said...
Honestly, I thought I was looking at a fashion editorial photo. I have a sheer to do soon. When are you flying up to help me with it?
7/4/07 9:39 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Gorgeous top. Don't you just love it when pattern alterations aren't needed!
7/4/07 11:32 AM
KarenP said...
Gorgeous! It looks lovely in that fabric.
7/4/07 6:46 PM
Boo97 said...
Beautiful Erica!!!!!
7/4/07 10:27 PM
marthamyers said...
I've looked at this pattern before, but your result is soooo much better than the pattern picture or line drawings. Beautiful on you too. Thanks for sharing.
7/4/07 10:39 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful top Erica!!
7/5/07 0:05 AM
EveS said...
Lovely top!!! Would never have picked it from the pattern photo!
7/5/07 0:43 AM
Leora said...
I just jumped over to your white Simplicity pants (they look great with this top BTW) and re-discovered the lining instructions you wrote! Forgot you did that and am in need of help over here... so THANK YOU!! :) Great top!
7/5/07 1:22 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Fantastic!
7/5/07 9:31 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautifully done
7/5/07 11:28 AM
Sharon M said...
So beautiful! I wouldn't have thought to use a sheer and it so works well with this pattern
7/5/07 1:05 PM
nicegirl said...
So professional looking on such a difficult fabric! I love your artistic pose, too.
7/5/07 1:08 PM
Birgitte said...
So beautiful and feminine...
7/5/07 2:32 PM
slanden99 said...
Love it!
7/5/07 8:53 PM
Puddin Pop said...
Beautiful blouse. Was the georgette hard to sew?
7/6/07 3:22 PM
hongkongshopper said...
gorgeous!
7/9/07 2:05 AM
Blooms said...
Wow, looks great...they should use you on the pattern cover
7/17/07 9:18 PM
prickly said...
Wow, between June 21, 06 and July 4, 07, you completed 44 garments. You only have 43 listed, but then there was the designer dress that you did twice for one review. So that's 44. That comes to one successful garment every 8 days for an entire year. Dresses, jackets, pants, jeans, shorts, skirts, bouses. Yep, I don't think there was a single garment type that you missed except for a coat. You sewed through every season, every holiday season. Nothing ever held you back from sewing, sewing sewing. And every single thing you made was a splash. It all went together beautifully. It all fit beautifully. Week by week you cranked out a stylish, well-fitting, well appointed garment, every 8 days throughout an entire year. Certainly quite phenominal based on every single other sewer I've seen on this entire site. No one even a very distant second place. No one even within waving distance. No one here even fit to hold your bodkin. I don't think I've even seen another sewer who has managed even a single item that both fit and looked attractive, and you've pulled that off 44 times in a year. But it's weird. I've looked at all of the dresses that have been completed several times over for the past few days and I've never seen your listings before. I went through every dress for a long time back. Pages and pages of completed dresses, but I never saw yours. I wonder why.
7/30/07 3:39 AM
prickly said...
Oh, and in addition to the 44 garments, Erica also creates a very sophisticated, one might almost say professional quality blog, in which she articulates, just as she does in each and every offering here, clearly, concisely and flawlessly, every important detail in the construction of every garment. And, in addition to this, she is the mother of three. Simply amazing.....
7/30/07 4:00 AM
prickly said...
Oh yea, then then you have to consider all of the posing and photographing of all of the pictures presented here and in her blog. In each and every single picture Erica is posed attractively, make up, hair, weird that she's wearing the same pair of shoes so many times though. And, most of the pictures have been photoshopped. All of these things take time. Then there's the time to come up with all the graphics for the blog. Whew...how does she do it....Wow
7/30/07 4:05 AM
Hilary said...
Very pretty! Yours is *so* much better than the pattern cover would indicate :oP
7/31/07 8:21 AM
GailMV said...
Really lovely, Erica! I'm looking forward to making this one!
8/1/07 7:56 PM
excentric said...
I will be buying this pattern,particularly as you found it needed no pattern adjustments at all. Loved your whole collection. Thanks for the great review.
8/26/07 1:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 38229-1005

photo
by: CaraSkates

Review