Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3165 (Girl's swimsuits & wrap) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 882 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:MelissaB in WA
photo
About MelissaB in WAstarstarstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/18/04
Reviews written: 217
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 204
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/07 11:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
This is your FIRST swimsuit?! It looks very professional - especially the straps. What a great idea to use FOE. She looks so cute in it!
7/14/07 11:58 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Well technically no it's not my first suit. I made the boys suits earlier in the season, but out of Supplex nylon fabric and then I have been working on one for myself (the actual "first" with swimsuit lycra fabric), but the one for me isn't going so well. Not that the pattern is bad, the bottoms fit perfectly, it's the top and the lack of boobage that is troubling me! LOL Oh well, I took a break from that to make DD's suit and will hopefully figure out a top that fits my better than the one I was sewing.
7/15/07 0:08 AM
lisa m said...
Is there a pattern for bottom that has no wrap or isn't string bikini in this one? I can't tell from Kwiksew's description.
7/15/07 0:32 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
For the bottoms, you can do the regular bottom with or without the skirt. The skirt is attached after the bottoms are constructed. Then there is the string bikini bottom pattern - a whole different pattern piece in the group.
7/15/07 0:34 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Really cute tankini. Thanks for posting. I hv alot of trouble "seeing" the illustrastion made up. This site is great
7/15/07 1:58 AM
Vivienne said...
You've got a mini-me! Really cute swimsuit (I'm amazed at how professional it looks) and I want one just like it!
7/15/07 2:08 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great suits. Once you start sewing swimwear for the kids you never, ever go back to RTW.
7/15/07 2:42 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
7/15/07 7:27 AM
carolynw said...
Great job - your DD looks a lot like you and I think the same build?
7/15/07 8:55 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
How cute are those!!! Hey....maybe that's the swim top we need to sew for us. Looks about my size. ;-) Your daughter is adorable--the spitting image of you!
7/15/07 9:21 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Fantastic job on your 'first' suit!
7/15/07 10:22 AM
sewbehind said...
Yes, I agree, your daughter is adorable, also looks a great deal like you and the swimsuits are wonderful.
7/15/07 10:26 AM
carolhope said...
Oh, Melissa, that is so cute! Your DD looks so pleased. And...how does your suit compare in quality to the $20 RTW?...much nicer, I'll bet! I have been making DGC's suits for a few years, and one for myself last year. A lot of work in the bust area, but so much better than RTW! I line mine in the seat too, and they wear so much better, even in the chlorine pool.
7/15/07 12:45 PM
slanden99 said...
Very cute swimming suits! How well does the FOE hold up in chlorine?
7/15/07 2:35 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Carolhope, I think the quality is better - it's made with more love, I know that! :-) Slanden, I don't know for sure how well FOE would hold up in chlorine, but since we mostly go out to the river for the kids to swim, I know her suit will be fine.
7/15/07 3:41 PM
Meredith P said...
This is an adorable suit (as is the subject). You can tell she really likes it, which is a big hurdle. Why didn't they have cute suits or patterns like this when I was her age. A constant battle with my (then) "Puritan" mother.
7/15/07 5:09 PM
mewiththree said...
That is the cutest suit! I have the same problem finding suits for my daughter, she's only 3, but she too is tall and thin for her age. And swimsuits are soooo expensive, great skill to be able to make your own.
7/17/07 4:33 PM
jnamcd said...
Melissa --excellent job with the suimsuit--and I'm most impressed with the look of the foldover elastic. I'm going to refer to this review the next time I try a suit and try the FOE technique! Excellent job!
7/17/07 5:49 PM
SewTwin said...
You got me, I thought it was a review for an "Adult" swimsuit, but I was pleasantly surprised with the result..She looks just like you! I empathize with RTW, either pay an arm & leg, or be unhappy with the choices! Your result is better, and DH is right!
7/30/07 2:38 AM
Hilary said...
Great looking suit! Your DD is a cutie :o)
8/6/07 6:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Simplicity 2207
photo
Review by sarah0725 on 5/17/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Drop Waisted Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2444
photo
Review by DKG on 12/27/11
Read Review

McCalls 5431 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
McCalls 5431 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6897 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6897 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us