SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Park Bench patterns> 11 (Sentinel Peak Park)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1661 times 
Reviewed by:Shona
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Shonastar
BC CANADA
Member since: 11/9/02
Reviews: 38 (patterns: 36)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:02 AM
Last Updated:2/16/03 10:28 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia Graham said... (2/18/03 4:37 AM) Reply
Shona, I agree that MLR's patterns are "hard to translate." I, too, love the look of her designs and own three patterns, but I don't plan to buy any more. I think it will be possible to use her drawings for inspiration while using better-drafted patterns that actually come in sizes. Thanks for a good review.
Margaret said... (2/17/03 7:55 PM) Reply
Wow, great review and nice top! I love how the patterns on the fabric are arranged, whether that was intentional or not. Thanks for the very informative review.
AnneM said... (2/17/03 11:40 AM) Reply
Great review. You did a good job despite the difficulties. And where I am small, I would not want to try tackling this pattern!
Everyday Sewist said... (2/17/03 0:25 AM) Reply
Although it didn't work out, it sure looks nice in the picture! Thanks for the review.
NancyDaQ said... (2/17/03 0:20 AM) Reply
I had the same problem with the top opening up, and I believe it would do so no matter what type of fabric is used. Just the nature of the pattern. It needs some sort of closure to fasten the top layer to the lower one in front and back, otherwise the pieces will shift and move. Maybe some buttons and buttonholes at the shoulder would do it--perhaps even some invisible tacking together of the 2 sides. I used the version with the separate contrast facing and was happier with the results than you were with your facing.
eleda said... (2/16/03 11:15 PM) Reply
Wow! Beautiful top.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 9340

photo
by: TaraDebbie

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Pattern Details
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Pattern Details
New Look 6145

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review