SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2447 (Men's Shirt, Vest, and Ties)

29 more reviews
Viewed 645 times 
Reviewed by:U. Chicago
photo

 
 
About U. Chicago
MA USA
Member since: 1/3/07
Reviews: 17 (patterns: 15)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/07 3:13 PM
Last Updated:9/11/07 8:40 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
flaunt_it said... (9/17/07 11:28 PM) Reply
Thank you for your candid review. If you look at some books on pattern alteration you will find the sleeve ease problem is easy to solve. A man's shirt should have almost no east, and you were smart enough to realize this! Good for you. Keep it up - the only way you will get good at this stuff is by trying these projects over and over . I bet that if you try this pattern again, with the correct ease in the sleeve cap, it will take you 1/3 the time.
RMJ said... (9/11/07 9:25 PM) Reply
Looks great - and great fabric. Men's shirt sleeves usually don't have ease at the top - so there must have been something funny with this pattern. I'm sure the David Coffin book will help you with the next one.
carolynw said... (9/11/07 9:25 AM) Reply
I have to say all your hard work sure paid off - lovely looking shirt - one that anyone would take a second look at. Congrats on sticking it out through the sleeve difficulties
JBsewmonster said... (9/11/07 9:07 AM) Reply
Wow! I admire your determination with a difficult pattern and little experience to go on. I tried some difficult projects early on and ended up shelving my sewing hobby for a decade or so. You did a great job on this shirt. If you can do this as a beginner, imagine what you'll be making in the future!
Mary Stiefer said... (7/18/07 11:54 PM) Reply
This looks very nice. The picture is a bit dark to catch all the details.
Padmé said... (7/18/07 6:25 PM) Reply
I just finished an OOP McCalls 6529 and I matched the notches, and then curved the sleeve caps to the shirt. When I sewed this, the seam line was under the curved eased fabric and sewed in flat. I really need work on my collar area though. But sons and husband said it looked good and they would wear it. I hope you keep working at shirts. Your shirt looks really great.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

McCall's 6279

photo
by: sewing gen...

Review
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Pattern Details
Colette Patterns Truffle

photo
by: paolag

Review