Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3032 (Skirt with Flounce) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2265 times 47 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 11 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/03 10:09 AM
Last Updated:10/10/03 11:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Very pretty, Deepika!
2/18/03 10:55 AM
PhyllisC said...
Deepika - clear elastic is indeed really useful to stabilize seams knits. It can be hard to get under the serger (at least for me it is), so daps of glue (from a fabric glue stick) along the run of elastic keeps it in place while you sew (pinning is just impossible). A little goes a long way, and it doesn't have any detrimental effect on either your needles or the serger knife. The glue is water soluble and always washs out. I also use glue sticks to turn up hems on knits before I stitch them. I guess I should post this in tips & techniques...
2/18/03 11:05 AM
Peggy L said...
Really pretty! I have had this pattern for my DD since you first reviewed it - I really need to make this for her.
2/18/03 11:30 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
You have done something very beautiful again Deepika, it's fits you perfectly! And a yummy color too!!!
2/18/03 12:06 PM
Diane E said...
Deepika, this is beautiful! I love the color and texture of the velvet. Great MIL to bring you beautiful fabric! Also, Phyllis, thanks for tip about gluing clear elastic.
2/18/03 12:34 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Such a pretty top! Your gorgeous velvet is lovely fabric choice!
2/18/03 12:50 PM
AnneM said...
That is a great combination of fabric & pattern. I love the fabric!
2/18/03 1:05 PM
Maria Hatfield said...
Better then "Ready to Wear" !! Deepika. its really nice.
2/18/03 2:54 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Wow, Deepika, very sexy and romantic indeed!!
2/18/03 3:29 PM
alex said...
Deepika, that top is gorgeous on you! You did a fantastic job on it! Phyllis, thanks for the glue tip - I had been just trying to use my fingers with that elastic after giving up on pins!
2/18/03 9:19 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Beautiful on you! You could have never found such a great top in RTW. Thanks for the elastic tip, I also have played around with it but often seems to stretch out more than I'd like.
2/19/03 3:09 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
That is beautiful! Is that a stretch burnout velvet? It made up beautifully in that top. If it were for sale, I'd be buying, so I guess I'd better get sewing. ;-)
2/19/03 7:20 AM
eleda said...
Deepika, your top is lovely and fits perfectly. I have this pattern and would like to make the neckline higher since it looks too low for me. When you shortened the neckline, did you add only one half of an inch or did you add one half of the neckline depth to it?
2/19/03 3:42 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for such nice comments! This is why I love writing reviews and sharing my projects! Rhonda yes the fabric is stretch burnout velvet. This is the first time I've used it and I love the texture. At first I thought that I might need to line it which is why it was lying in my stash for so long but I dont think it needed it. Adele to raise the neckline (I raised it half an inch total) just extend the center front line on the front piece by 0.5 inch and draw the new neckline tapering where necessary. When you raise the neckline this means you will have to decrease the same amount from the cowl so mark a point 0.5 inches below the center front of the cowl . I used a french curve to join the points to the rest of the curve making it a smooth curve. Hope this helps.
2/19/03 6:01 PM
CatherineN said...
You invented a good looking top that fits you so well. Looks great!
10/11/03 0:49 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Very creative! I agree--your top looks better than the BR one. Your stabilized seams really give it a quality look. Why did you chose ltwt fusible tape this time instead of clear elastic? (Clear elastic puckers for me too)
10/11/03 3:38 AM
Deepika said...
Katharine, I've never had a good luck with clear elastic. Last time I figured since it will be hidden by the cowl, lets try it but this time I knew that the neckline had to have sharp crisp edges so I used the fusible tape. I love this bias tape and use it everywhere!
10/11/03 6:03 AM
Karla Kizer said...
You've made a simple little knit top look very "important". It really has style and will be an eyecatcher whenever you wear it.
10/11/03 6:50 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Oh Wow! Looks fantastic! Mind if I knock off your knock off?! ;}
10/11/03 6:50 AM
Lisa Laree said...
What an elegant looking top! I bet I could add a tie to Loes Hinse's Sweater Set shell (which is still just in the stash...) Thanks for the inspiration!
10/11/03 9:59 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a cute top - I might have to copy that as well!
10/11/03 11:03 AM
Lou. said...
Deepika, love the top. Where did you get the Lime fabric from?
10/13/03 5:14 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks Lou, I bought this fabric about a year ago from Fashion Fabrics Club I also bought a coordinating yard of another novelty knit in Lime. Its a very pretty color and the fabric seems very soft. The recovery is not that great though. It's cotton/rayon blend.
10/13/03 7:21 AM
Lou. said...
Thanks!
10/13/03 7:43 AM
ekhb said...
Deepika, I love your blouse! If you made it with charmeuse or lightweight velour it would be very sexy. thanks for the pattern and for the web site. your fan, Emily B.
4/22/04 8:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6170
photo
Review by rmusic1 on 8/10/13
Read Review

Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1247 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6083 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 6207
photo
Review by Poppycat22... on 1/16/11
Read Review

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us