Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3732 (Summer top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 812 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR
About michellep74starstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/07 6:40 PM
Last Updated:7/24/07 1:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TrixieD said...
Nice work! The drawstings look fine. Get hold of a turner (is that the name?) to help simplify turning long drawstrings right side out. I rely on it for so many projects.
7/19/07 8:49 PM
sewgranny said...
Your blouse is great, especially for a new sewer! What I really like is that you adapted when you couldn't get their instructions to work and struck out on your own. It took me years to do that. Congratulations.
7/19/07 8:57 PM
Tall Mary said...
I finished teaching a Beginning Sewing course and the students made pajama bottoms as their first garments. Congratulations on doing both. The top is very cute on you.
7/19/07 9:41 PM
EastwoodFan said...
Congratulations! Your top is cute. I made a pattern similar to this. I did the drawstring the way you did your's. My Mom suggested that way of doing it years ago. It's so much easier than fighting with the whole turning process.
7/19/07 10:42 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Congrats on your top and welcome to PR ! Wonderful turn out for a first project, very cute!
7/20/07 0:02 AM
loridiane said...
Great first effort, it looks really good on you!
7/20/07 10:48 AM
krystalkaes said...
Congratulations! Nice work. And, welcome to PR. It is great to have you.
7/24/07 11:07 AM
Stephenie said...
Congrats on your first project! It looks great. The green looks nice on you.
7/24/07 11:46 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very cute--great first project! Turning tiny tubes like your drawstring can be a pain. I often do very narrow or those of heavyweight fabric topstitched just like you describe. When you're ready to start accumulating notions, get your mitts on a FastTurn. Welcome to PR--nice to see you as member of the day, too!
7/24/07 1:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great beginner project. It looks RTW to me. You'll learn so much here on PR. I know I did.
7/24/07 1:40 PM
bluenines said...
nice work, congratulations on making your two tops they look great
7/24/07 2:01 PM
Hilary said...
Both tops are adorable on you! I do all my drawstrings that way, too, btw :o) Life's to short to spend time messing with that, LOL. You are doing great, and you are just a beginner?? You will be moving up to intermediate (and beyond!!) in no time!
7/24/07 2:51 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Yeay for you! Both of your tops are great. The eyelet one is especially summery.
7/24/07 3:03 PM
Skymom said...
Both tops are really cute--well done! I always wonder why beginning patterns seem to have those skinny drawstrings. They are such a nuisance to turn, unless you've sewn them in silk charmeuse or something like that.
7/24/07 3:17 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice top - very summery fabric! Good work. I hope you continue to love sewing!
7/24/07 3:50 PM
Heatherrique said...
Gorgeous top!
3/30/08 11:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 7998
photo
Review by Tallahasse... on 11/23/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB025FB Frenchy Bags
photo
Review by SarahSM on 9/3/07
Read Review

Simplicity 2160 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2160 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1564 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1564 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us