SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2788 (Womens Twist Tops)

43 more reviews
Viewed 1630 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
Netherlands
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews: 154 (patterns: 148)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 144 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/07 3:33 PM
Last Updated:11/28/07 11:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Maternity    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said... (11/29/07 12:29 PM) Reply
Sigrid: Well, I'm ashamed to admit I have SEVERAL Jalie patterns (mostly for pants), but I've never actually MADE one of them. :o) Maybe this top can be my first one. (I'll use your review as my go-by.) I also ordered two other patterns for tops, and that one for the city coat, which I also first noticed on one of your reviews. (Boy, you're REALLY going to we me before this is all done.) I love the lines of that coat, and the yokes. I was also glad you mentioned in this review to always check the sizes on the Jalie patterns, as they differ. I hadn't realized that. So just keep those reviews coming, giving me big ideas. :o)
MissCelie said... (11/29/07 9:02 AM) Reply
I'm with Annette. I think this is the best twist top pattern I've seen. I also really like the modesty panel.
Sigrid. said... (11/29/07 2:35 AM) Reply
Annette1: Oh dear, I'm so sorry :-))) How can I make up to you? Really convinced that you're going to like Jalie. I started with their jeans jacket, and was downright sold after that. They're expensive to buy, but feel they're worth it. We'll see your results here soon I presume?
Annette1 said... (11/28/07 6:18 PM) Reply
Okay, Miss Priss, I just now bought this pattern based SOLELY on how nice yours looks. AND, while I was on the Jalie site, I felt the need to buy three MORE patterns, too. So at this point, I figure you owe me $52.47! :o) I think yours is my favorite "twist top" of all. I have the Kwik Sew pattern and have made it a couple times, but I'm going to try this one. I like that modesty panel, for one, because even when I raised the neckline on the other one, I still felt like it was low (way too low to wear to work, for sure). Thanks for the great review!
Grammy Gin said... (11/28/07 2:53 PM) Reply
Beautiful job on your twist top shirt! Great review. ;-)
marjenann said... (11/28/07 2:08 PM) Reply
One very special top!! Thanks for the diagram of the FBA!!! I need that too!
Annette1 said... (7/24/07 0:44 AM) Reply
This top looks so nice on you, and I love that color. I'm glad to see I'm not the only one who thinks of things AFTER I'm already in bed. I especially appreciate your picture of the full bust adjustment to the front pattern piece.
Nancywin said... (7/23/07 10:20 PM) Reply
Thanks for the picture of the FBA. I never could figure out how to do it right on this style bodice. I can see how that will work.
lmg said... (7/23/07 9:54 PM) Reply
Those diagrams of the FBA are extremely helpful to me for DD. Thanks. With the new back do you find the shoulders stay in place?
BJ1400 said... (7/23/07 8:07 PM) Reply
Top looks great on you.
Irene said... (7/23/07 2:12 PM) Reply
Your full-bust adjustment link is worth at least a thousand words! Thank you for a thorough and encouraging review.
Sigrid. said... (7/23/07 1:51 PM) Reply
Frozzy: it is a jersey.
loridiane said... (7/23/07 12:39 PM) Reply
This top is gorgeous!
NancyGT said... (7/23/07 0:07 AM) Reply
jeepers, you look great! I would never have tried this but just ordered the pattern based on your review.
Mary Mary said... (7/22/07 9:53 PM) Reply
I just got this pattern and am a DD cup so I will do as you showed and adjust the front. I hope I can do as well as you did. Mary
Frozzy said... (7/22/07 7:14 PM) Reply
Your top looks great, it drapes so nice in the front. What type of knit fabric did you use? Was it a jersey or interlock?
oracle said... (7/22/07 4:44 PM) Reply
Wow, great top and helpful review. It looks really great on you! I just bought this pattern, and after seeing yours am even more eager to try it. (I'm also a D cup.) And thanks for all the photos! Your converting it from the string to a full back is an interesting change. While you may want to let out the back a little (as you say), the back neckline fits you to a "T".
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Pattern Details