SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2687 

1 more reviews
Viewed 1779 times 
Reviewed by:gabrielle stanley
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About gabrielle stanleystar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/20/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/03 3:52 PM
Last Updated:11/16/03 3:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annika said...
Great looking jacket, very stylish.
2/24/07 11:10 AM
Joos said...
This appeared to be quite a difficult project. I'm glad your outfit turned out so well.
11/16/03 8:22 PM
erjjs said...
Gabrielle, thanks for updating your review with a photo. I too, have been thinking about making up this pattern, but it has been years since attempting anything more challenging than basic garments. Therefore, I'm not sure I'm 'competent' and definitely lack patience right now. I also checked out your webpage and was quite impressed - you create beautiful clothes! I will be looking forward to your next review.
11/16/03 6:37 PM
LindaB said...
You look fabulous and that jacket is impressive and original. Thank you for this review !
11/16/03 10:24 AM
MaryBeth said...
It's good to "see" you here, Gabrielle, as I've read your posts on another list and know you have much to share! The jacket turned out guite handsomely. I've wondered about the Fitting Finesse instructions producing a good pattern as you must start with the assumption that the original pattern is going to fit well proportionally. I use the drafting software to compare purchased patterns to so I have an idea of how close the pattern is to a good fit (not always possible when working with a client)
11/16/03 10:09 AM
cindyann said...
That is just a fantastic pattern. It's beyond my abilities but I'm so glad you reveiwed it. Wonderful.
11/16/03 9:46 AM
AnneM said...
Wow, I can see why you specify "competent and patient" as requirements to make this jacket. I am definitely not there yet in MY sewing skills.
2/20/03 6:12 PM
Lisa Laree said...
What kind of adjustments do you usually make (full bust, broad back, etc?). Were the adjustments hard to figure out, given the unusual shape of the jacket? This is a striking garment...I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it!
2/20/03 5:19 PM
maybbm said...
Finally, someone has made up this jacket! Thank you. Do you think one can make it with a fabric with less body? I would love to see a photo of your finished project.
2/20/03 4:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Wiksten Wiksten Tova Top

photo
by: Haruka

Review
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

More Info
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

More Info
Butterick 5696

photo
by: RachelSton...

Review