Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2687 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1776 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Needs More Info by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:gabrielle stanley
photo
Friend of PR
About gabrielle stanleystar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/20/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/03 3:52 PM
Last Updated:11/16/03 3:18 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maybbm said...
Finally, someone has made up this jacket! Thank you. Do you think one can make it with a fabric with less body? I would love to see a photo of your finished project.
2/20/03 4:36 PM
Lisa Laree said...
What kind of adjustments do you usually make (full bust, broad back, etc?). Were the adjustments hard to figure out, given the unusual shape of the jacket? This is a striking garment...I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing it!
2/20/03 5:19 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, I can see why you specify "competent and patient" as requirements to make this jacket. I am definitely not there yet in MY sewing skills.
2/20/03 6:12 PM
cindyann said...
That is just a fantastic pattern. It's beyond my abilities but I'm so glad you reveiwed it. Wonderful.
11/16/03 9:46 AM
MaryBeth said...
It's good to "see" you here, Gabrielle, as I've read your posts on another list and know you have much to share! The jacket turned out guite handsomely. I've wondered about the Fitting Finesse instructions producing a good pattern as you must start with the assumption that the original pattern is going to fit well proportionally. I use the drafting software to compare purchased patterns to so I have an idea of how close the pattern is to a good fit (not always possible when working with a client)
11/16/03 10:09 AM
LindaB said...
You look fabulous and that jacket is impressive and original. Thank you for this review !
11/16/03 10:24 AM
erjjs said...
Gabrielle, thanks for updating your review with a photo. I too, have been thinking about making up this pattern, but it has been years since attempting anything more challenging than basic garments. Therefore, I'm not sure I'm 'competent' and definitely lack patience right now. I also checked out your webpage and was quite impressed - you create beautiful clothes! I will be looking forward to your next review.
11/16/03 6:37 PM
Joos said...
This appeared to be quite a difficult project. I'm glad your outfit turned out so well.
11/16/03 8:22 PM
Annika said...
Great looking jacket, very stylish.
2/24/07 11:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Downloadable 08-2012 109 Printed Blouse
photo
Review by MadeByMeg on 1/14/14
Read Review

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6843
photo
Review by BettyMike on 7/13/06
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0129 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0129 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2662 Pattern
Burda 2662 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us