SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> HP-104 (Butterfly Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1002 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara at Cat Fur Studio
photo

 
 
About Barbara at Cat Fur Studiostarstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/07 8:02 PM
Last Updated:7/30/07 8:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
turnerkatie said...
i cant find this pattern for sale :(
9/17/12 11:44 PM
Athene said...
A very pretty look.
12/6/08 0:57 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks, Dina! I sent a pic to HP earlier this week.
8/3/07 9:39 AM
Dmd4106 said...
OMG. This pattern was made for you. The drape is sheer perfection. This is one you send to HP for the sorely lack photo gallery. Thank you for the great review.
8/2/07 9:27 PM
ldpaulson said...
Thanks! Sometimes with prints so adventurous, it helps to have a little encouragement to consider them. And especially because I'm a solid-solid-solid wardrobe kinda gal. I wore a print top last week and never got so many compliments ... it emboldened me! Thank you so much for your kind encouragement. Now to just get the sewing machine back from repair!
7/31/07 6:21 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Oh, yes, LD - that print is great. I love how you plan to wear it. That will be a smashing outfit!
7/31/07 5:07 PM
ldpaulson said...
Thanks Barbara! Those are very helpful comments. I thought this fabric http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/yhst-26239499928554_1959_0 captured the retro spirit of the top and might be great for a first go at this top. (With the Hot Patterns Trouser Skirt or a full a-line skirt in red and chocolate boots or red peep toe pumps!) This blouse style can be worn all year 'round where I live.
7/31/07 1:25 PM
Modiste Madness said...
That looks wonderful on you!
7/31/07 12:50 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your top is beautiful!
7/31/07 12:14 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Thanks! LD - Jersey will work very well. I suggest you stay with a lightweight single knit jersey - rayon or silk or lightweight polyester or wool- all with or without lycra - will be good. Cotton is 'doable' but less intrinsically drapy, unless it is super light weight. As for whether to use a print - I deliberately did NOT use a print, as I wanted the drape to speak loudly. I think this depends on what you want to achieve (sorry...not too helpful but that's the best I can do). If you want to post a pic of the fabric you're thinking of, I'd be glad to give you my thoughts on it. Good luck, and thanks for commenting.
7/31/07 11:42 AM
ldpaulson said...
Barbara, that's a very beautiful and flattering top. Wonderful. Since this pattern is on my to-do list and you mention fabric choice as key, would you say jersey would be a poor fabric choice? What about prints? I appreciate your review and would look forward to reading your opinions.
7/31/07 11:23 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely top. The fabric choice is perfect for this style.
7/31/07 10:52 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Looks great!
7/31/07 0:33 AM
Stacy Sews said...
OOOh, I love it!
7/31/07 0:14 AM
Marji said...
That really works!, most likely due to your excellent fabric choice.
7/31/07 0:05 AM
Levone said...
Cute top! Yours definitely looks better than the pattern picture. Thank goodness I have more projects than I can handle otherwise I would probably pick up this pattern as well. :-)
7/30/07 11:01 PM
Diane E said...
Barbara, your top is beautiful on you and I really enjoyed reading your review. I am definitely moving this pattern to the top of my pattern stack!! Thanks for the heads-up on the neckline trickiness!
7/30/07 10:09 PM
nicegirl said...
That's a very dramatic piece--I love it!
7/30/07 10:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab top! I think your fabric choice really makes it.
7/30/07 9:55 PM
beangirl said...
What a great top! This looks fab on you, I could see it made up in anything from very casual to super-dressy fabrics and it would look great.
7/30/07 9:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
The drape on this pattern is gorgeous. It shows up very well in the solid color you chose.
7/30/07 8:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

More Info