SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2007-133 Skirt (Ruched Skirt)

Viewed 1350 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/07 2:40 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
khrome said...
This outfit is really cute! I love the patterns you chose for the fabrics - they went well together. I think your outfit looks alot nicer than the one the model is wearing, so kudos for you for seeing past the "penguin suit" at it's possibilities!
8/13/07 3:03 AM
Sea-my said...
Your skirt is great!!!!! And you look so slim, Are you sure you took size 44? '-) You say it looks like the photo on the pattern. No, is is MUCH better. It was so wise to combine too fabrics. I like the skirt so much, and I would definetly sew it myself but the size is not good for me.)
8/13/07 3:27 AM
zora said...
What a beautiful skirt! The jacket looks great with it.
8/13/07 5:37 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I adore your skirt, and I envy you the height to pull it off. The whole outfit is smashing.
8/13/07 7:12 AM
BeckyC said...
Your skirt is wonderful on you! It looks like such a fun skirt to wear and looks perfect with your jacket and blouse.
8/13/07 7:49 AM
lmg said...
OOH! Your skirt looks better than the pattern picture. WHat a wonderful outfit! Wish I was tall enough to pull off a skirt like this. BTW the Marfy jacket is TDF.
8/13/07 9:10 AM
Marji said...
Very distinctive and just lovely Liana. It really works with the blouse and jacket.
8/13/07 9:15 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous outfit! Your skirt looks totally 'wearable', whereas I didn't get that impression from the magazine photo. Great job!
8/13/07 9:25 AM
yummymummy38 said...
very dramatic skirt, Liana, I could imagine it in Dupion silk for evening. Love your Marfy jacket too.
8/13/07 9:45 AM
Mufffet said...
Just so chic!! Just so well done and the outfit is so special. I admire your style. :)
8/13/07 9:48 AM
beangirl said...
Wow, what a departure in style for you (and so successfully, I might add)! This is just so... Brigadoon. In a GOOD way, I mean. I love this on you!
8/13/07 10:13 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow Just wonderful. As always.
8/13/07 10:14 AM
Sadlesor said...
What a fun outfit to make. You did a great job and I love your color combinations. Thanks for the sewing inspiration.
8/13/07 10:27 AM
Izzie said...
Who knew that was such a cute skirt! You certainly couldn't tell from the BWOF photos. Lovely, inspiring work as always!
8/13/07 10:55 AM
Linda G said...
wow what a stylish outfit...I would have never given that pattern a second look but your outfit looks like you walked out of a fashion magazine.
8/13/07 11:41 AM
Morisot said...
I'll second the "WOW" and "You look like you stepped out of a fashion magazine." Great design details!
8/13/07 12:25 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This is truly a showstopper. I am in awe!
8/13/07 2:06 PM
Birgitte said...
What a great skirt- and you look fabulous in it!
8/13/07 2:07 PM
Melody said...
What a gorgeous skirt!! I love your fabric choices and you've done an amazing job, as usual.
8/13/07 2:58 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
oh la la... I love it.
8/13/07 3:46 PM
bunz said...
What a thoroughly delightful outfit!! Definitely a change for you == I'm so glad you are happy with it.
8/13/07 4:18 PM
Nancy K said...
This is perfect on you. I like the fabric combos especially. You have the height and presence to carry it off. It works well with both the jacket and the blouse.
8/13/07 5:13 PM
VtMartha said...
That is the coolest outfit, Liana! I especially like it with the jacket.
8/13/07 5:46 PM
Diane E said...
Liana, I love this skirt! And I love the whole outfit. It is stunning. The silhouette is magnificent, and the combination of fabrics, inspired! Thank you for such a thorough review.
8/13/07 7:17 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Outstanding, and the jacket is delish! Very fashion forward : ) The whole ensemble is perfecto!
8/13/07 9:26 PM
snowflake girl said...
wow, looks great, love the fabrics. As always a great job.
8/13/07 10:12 PM
milo1000 said...
Absolutely STUNNING! The plaid ties were a brilliant idea. The whole outfit is incredible!
8/14/07 3:22 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow. What a fantastic job. Your choice of fabrics is terrific. The skirt is smashing and combines well with the jacket, which is also smashing. You really wear clothes well.
8/14/07 9:12 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
WOW!!! What an incredible skirt! I love the feminine look of it ~ I might just *need* one too! :-) Your outfit is just gorgeous too!
8/14/07 10:52 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Really, wonderful.
8/14/07 11:10 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Fabulous!
8/14/07 5:18 PM
Annette1 said...
I absolutely LOVE your skirt and outfit, Liana, and I admire your creativity. This is right up my alley. :o) BEAUTIFUL work, as usual.
8/14/07 5:52 PM
juchal said...
What can I say that hasn't already been said? Love it!!!
8/14/07 6:19 PM
juchal said...

8/14/07 6:19 PM
MissCelie said...
That is truly a one of a kind. Whoa.
8/14/07 7:02 PM
cathy45 said...
This is stunning! Runway ready. The plaid accents on the ruching are genius.
8/15/07 9:19 AM
MasoumaRose said...
Liana, the more I think about this skirt, the more impressed I am. I thought it was a bit unwearable when I saw it in BWOF, but I love it! Thank you for posting a review!
8/15/07 1:01 PM
Jeans said...
It's So Beautiful..... I love it...... I want One.... :-) ....Thanks for this wonderful Review and picture Love the Shirt too
8/16/07 9:40 AM
Aless said...
This whole outfit is Class with a capital C.....M-MMMM!!!!
8/21/07 4:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Abacadabra 131

photo
by: aaltje

Review