SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2007-133 Skirt (Ruched Skirt)

Viewed 1350 times 
Reviewed by:Liana
photo

 
 
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/07 2:40 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aless said...
This whole outfit is Class with a capital C.....M-MMMM!!!!
8/21/07 4:25 AM
Jeans said...
It's So Beautiful..... I love it...... I want One.... :-) ....Thanks for this wonderful Review and picture Love the Shirt too
8/16/07 9:40 AM
MasoumaRose said...
Liana, the more I think about this skirt, the more impressed I am. I thought it was a bit unwearable when I saw it in BWOF, but I love it! Thank you for posting a review!
8/15/07 1:01 PM
cathy45 said...
This is stunning! Runway ready. The plaid accents on the ruching are genius.
8/15/07 9:19 AM
MissCelie said...
That is truly a one of a kind. Whoa.
8/14/07 7:02 PM
juchal said...

8/14/07 6:19 PM
juchal said...
What can I say that hasn't already been said? Love it!!!
8/14/07 6:19 PM
Annette1 said...
I absolutely LOVE your skirt and outfit, Liana, and I admire your creativity. This is right up my alley. :o) BEAUTIFUL work, as usual.
8/14/07 5:52 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Fabulous!
8/14/07 5:18 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Really, wonderful.
8/14/07 11:10 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
WOW!!! What an incredible skirt! I love the feminine look of it ~ I might just *need* one too! :-) Your outfit is just gorgeous too!
8/14/07 10:52 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow. What a fantastic job. Your choice of fabrics is terrific. The skirt is smashing and combines well with the jacket, which is also smashing. You really wear clothes well.
8/14/07 9:12 AM
milo1000 said...
Absolutely STUNNING! The plaid ties were a brilliant idea. The whole outfit is incredible!
8/14/07 3:22 AM
snowflake girl said...
wow, looks great, love the fabrics. As always a great job.
8/13/07 10:12 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Outstanding, and the jacket is delish! Very fashion forward : ) The whole ensemble is perfecto!
8/13/07 9:26 PM
Diane E said...
Liana, I love this skirt! And I love the whole outfit. It is stunning. The silhouette is magnificent, and the combination of fabrics, inspired! Thank you for such a thorough review.
8/13/07 7:17 PM
VtMartha said...
That is the coolest outfit, Liana! I especially like it with the jacket.
8/13/07 5:46 PM
Nancy K said...
This is perfect on you. I like the fabric combos especially. You have the height and presence to carry it off. It works well with both the jacket and the blouse.
8/13/07 5:13 PM
bunz said...
What a thoroughly delightful outfit!! Definitely a change for you == I'm so glad you are happy with it.
8/13/07 4:18 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
oh la la... I love it.
8/13/07 3:46 PM
Melody said...
What a gorgeous skirt!! I love your fabric choices and you've done an amazing job, as usual.
8/13/07 2:58 PM
Birgitte said...
What a great skirt- and you look fabulous in it!
8/13/07 2:07 PM
Christina Sonja said...
This is truly a showstopper. I am in awe!
8/13/07 2:06 PM
Morisot said...
I'll second the "WOW" and "You look like you stepped out of a fashion magazine." Great design details!
8/13/07 12:25 PM
Linda G said...
wow what a stylish outfit...I would have never given that pattern a second look but your outfit looks like you walked out of a fashion magazine.
8/13/07 11:41 AM
Izzie said...
Who knew that was such a cute skirt! You certainly couldn't tell from the BWOF photos. Lovely, inspiring work as always!
8/13/07 10:55 AM
Sadlesor said...
What a fun outfit to make. You did a great job and I love your color combinations. Thanks for the sewing inspiration.
8/13/07 10:27 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow Just wonderful. As always.
8/13/07 10:14 AM
beangirl said...
Wow, what a departure in style for you (and so successfully, I might add)! This is just so... Brigadoon. In a GOOD way, I mean. I love this on you!
8/13/07 10:13 AM
Mufffet said...
Just so chic!! Just so well done and the outfit is so special. I admire your style. :)
8/13/07 9:48 AM
yummymummy38 said...
very dramatic skirt, Liana, I could imagine it in Dupion silk for evening. Love your Marfy jacket too.
8/13/07 9:45 AM
Levone said...
Gorgeous outfit! Your skirt looks totally 'wearable', whereas I didn't get that impression from the magazine photo. Great job!
8/13/07 9:25 AM
Marji said...
Very distinctive and just lovely Liana. It really works with the blouse and jacket.
8/13/07 9:15 AM
lmg said...
OOH! Your skirt looks better than the pattern picture. WHat a wonderful outfit! Wish I was tall enough to pull off a skirt like this. BTW the Marfy jacket is TDF.
8/13/07 9:10 AM
BeckyC said...
Your skirt is wonderful on you! It looks like such a fun skirt to wear and looks perfect with your jacket and blouse.
8/13/07 7:49 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I adore your skirt, and I envy you the height to pull it off. The whole outfit is smashing.
8/13/07 7:12 AM
zora said...
What a beautiful skirt! The jacket looks great with it.
8/13/07 5:37 AM
Sea-my said...
Your skirt is great!!!!! And you look so slim, Are you sure you took size 44? '-) You say it looks like the photo on the pattern. No, is is MUCH better. It was so wise to combine too fabrics. I like the skirt so much, and I would definetly sew it myself but the size is not good for me.)
8/13/07 3:27 AM
khrome said...
This outfit is really cute! I love the patterns you chose for the fabrics - they went well together. I think your outfit looks alot nicer than the one the model is wearing, so kudos for you for seeing past the "penguin suit" at it's possibilities!
8/13/07 3:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

More Info
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

More Info
Butterick 5672

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review