SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4602: OOP (70's Bow Blouses)

Viewed 1084 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/07 10:21 PM
Last Updated:8/20/07 8:48 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
Beautiful...and oh yes I remember the days of trying to get that bow just right...I see the September Burda WOF has a blouse with a bow.
8/15/07 10:54 PM
Birgitte said...
You look fantastic in that blouse!
8/15/07 11:06 PM
sewbehind said...
Thanks for the review. I made this one back in the 70's. Great to see the OOP pattern. You look great in your blouse.
8/15/07 11:56 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I think you shouldn't hesitate to show your students your flamboyant style: the "different" teachers are the ones they'll remember. I recall thinking some of my teachers were pretty cool because they didn't care to dress like all the others. You have so many neat retro items, and this blouse is another fine example.
8/16/07 0:41 AM
Blooms said...
groovy baby!
8/16/07 3:36 AM
ryan's mom said...
Oh...what a great retro fabric for this pattern! You must feel great in this groovalicious top :) .
8/16/07 6:38 AM
busy91 said...
Groovy! Marsha Brady would be so proud. I love the material. Good job!
8/16/07 8:33 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great fabric for a groovy style. Nice work!
8/16/07 9:26 AM
cecelia said...
Be bold--good for you--very nice looking, and your bow is just right. I think I made a dress from a similar pattern (in the 70's, yikes!).
8/16/07 9:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks for the great review! What a fun blouse in a great fabric!! I love groovy and it looks fantastic!
8/16/07 9:40 AM
krissie said...
Wow that's a happening top! Great job, I love it!
8/16/07 10:36 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Fun and carefree, just as the pattern promised. Thanks for reminding us on the importance of taking a few minutes to read over the instructions before delving in. Sounds like both you and your students enjoyed your top - that makes it all worth it!
8/16/07 10:49 AM
Marilyn N. said...
I think you found the perfect fabric for that top. It looks great on you!
8/16/07 4:21 PM
Marji said...
you are so right, the blouse silhouette that was popular back in the 70's is indeed back. Love your version in that Missoni style print - lovely!
8/20/07 8:17 AM
Em's Summer said...
Fantastic!
8/21/07 0:13 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Indeed, I have been seeing so many blouses with bow ties lately. I love your versions.
8/21/07 1:49 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh. Bow ties aren't my favorite memory from the 80s, maybe because of traumatic Dianne Feinstein memories ;-). But you manage to make them look attractive, no doubt from your impeccable fabric taste :-).
8/21/07 9:48 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love your blouses.
8/21/07 10:41 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Ooh, I like your second version even more than the first--the scale and organic nature of the print is more flattering on you (the first was good but the second is exquisite!)
8/22/07 0:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 1159

photo
by: piakdy

Review
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now