Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4602: OOP (70's Bow Blouses) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 1084 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/07 10:21 PM
Last Updated:8/20/07 8:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda G said...
Beautiful...and oh yes I remember the days of trying to get that bow just right...I see the September Burda WOF has a blouse with a bow.
8/15/07 10:54 PM
Birgitte said...
You look fantastic in that blouse!
8/15/07 11:06 PM
sewbehind said...
Thanks for the review. I made this one back in the 70's. Great to see the OOP pattern. You look great in your blouse.
8/15/07 11:56 PM
Seamingly Simple said...
I think you shouldn't hesitate to show your students your flamboyant style: the "different" teachers are the ones they'll remember. I recall thinking some of my teachers were pretty cool because they didn't care to dress like all the others. You have so many neat retro items, and this blouse is another fine example.
8/16/07 0:41 AM
Blooms said...
groovy baby!
8/16/07 3:36 AM
ryan's mom said...
Oh...what a great retro fabric for this pattern! You must feel great in this groovalicious top :) .
8/16/07 6:38 AM
busy91 said...
Groovy! Marsha Brady would be so proud. I love the material. Good job!
8/16/07 8:33 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great fabric for a groovy style. Nice work!
8/16/07 9:26 AM
cecelia said...
Be bold--good for you--very nice looking, and your bow is just right. I think I made a dress from a similar pattern (in the 70's, yikes!).
8/16/07 9:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
Thanks for the great review! What a fun blouse in a great fabric!! I love groovy and it looks fantastic!
8/16/07 9:40 AM
krissie said...
Wow that's a happening top! Great job, I love it!
8/16/07 10:36 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Fun and carefree, just as the pattern promised. Thanks for reminding us on the importance of taking a few minutes to read over the instructions before delving in. Sounds like both you and your students enjoyed your top - that makes it all worth it!
8/16/07 10:49 AM
Marilyn N. said...
I think you found the perfect fabric for that top. It looks great on you!
8/16/07 4:21 PM
Marji said...
you are so right, the blouse silhouette that was popular back in the 70's is indeed back. Love your version in that Missoni style print - lovely!
8/20/07 8:17 AM
Em's Summer said...
Fantastic!
8/21/07 0:13 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Indeed, I have been seeing so many blouses with bow ties lately. I love your versions.
8/21/07 1:49 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh. Bow ties aren't my favorite memory from the 80s, maybe because of traumatic Dianne Feinstein memories ;-). But you manage to make them look attractive, no doubt from your impeccable fabric taste :-).
8/21/07 9:48 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love your blouses.
8/21/07 10:41 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Ooh, I like your second version even more than the first--the scale and organic nature of the print is more flattering on you (the first was good but the second is exquisite!)
8/22/07 0:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Vogue Patterns V1137
photo
Review by stitchywit... on 6/26/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2603
photo
Review by NC Carol on 1/23/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2373 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2373 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1695 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us