Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2777 (Men's Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 1629 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/07 8:37 AM
Last Updated:9/16/07 4:32 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Irene Q said...
Great job, even if the fit isn't what you want! Louise Cutting has a great tip for topstitching collars. When you get to the corners, you need to put something under the other side (and back) of the presser foot to get it to feed properly. The handiest thing is to use the other end of the collar. You only need it for a few stitches. Try it!
8/16/07 9:03 AM
mastdenman said...
I think men's shirts are supposed to hang over the shoulder a little. Your DH's shirt looks great.
8/16/07 9:43 AM
Annie- oh said...
Enjoyed your review! I make this pattern for my 6'3" DH, lengthening the body and sleeves. I wonder if your fit would simply be better with a smaller size (the 2D shape), still lengthening for the vertical D? Also possible: a fabric that drapes might not look so big across and around. Isn't it great that these men love the nutty fabrics sometimes?
8/16/07 9:44 AM
JuliaS said...
This looks fantastic! I am way impressed with your shirtmaking skills. :)
8/16/07 10:08 AM
Meredith P said...
This is definitely an "American" fit. I think generally, in the US, there is more to cover up :-) Irene gave you one of the best tips I've *ever* learned, to assist with topstitiching or even just sewing. So clever and practical. I think the shirt looks great! Would a Burda provide a more "European" fit?
8/16/07 10:41 AM
Elona said...
I think you did a lovely job. It's a very handsome shirt. But you're right: Kwik Sew classic shirts generally are VERY full. However, they do have a newer, closer-fitting version, #3022, which has been favorably reviewed here twice. For some reason, it doesn't show up in their online catalogue, but I notice that it's available through PR.
8/16/07 11:47 AM
rivergum said...
I am so impressed. This shirt looks great!
8/17/07 2:16 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You're spoiling this man rotten :-). This does look very sharp (do you know how to do a burn test for fabric content?), but you're right about the looser american fit. I've started wearing much tighter shirts in the last couple years since I moved to France myself...
8/17/07 4:15 PM
sophronia said...
The shirt looks good on your man. How did you do the buttonholes? I have a problem with making a buttonhole in the collar stand.
8/17/07 6:06 PM
Lou05 said...
I know you'll get the fit you want as you do your next one. Check out other styles as we also do dress fronts without the band and other collar shapes. This one does show off your skills and is really a nice job.
8/17/07 9:49 PM
julesberry said...
sophronia: Unless you do 'em by hand, buttonhole quality is, I think, pretty much all sewing machine. I have a Janome Super Quilt DX (mechanically the same as the "foreign" 6600 version). In general it does a stonking job stitching through thick layers, and all I have to do is fall asleep with my foot on the pedal and that's another buttonhole done. Having said that I messed it up on this shirt because the placement was not right for the top button, being too far from the CF edge. So I ended up cutting the hole longer, doing some more stitching and liberally applying a fray-checking potion. It is a mess but this was only a practice, so I wanted to experiment in the hope of getting it right next time. I haven't yet studied the pattern to see if this that was my fault or a pattern fault. My husband and I also both thought the buttonholes on the cuffs were a bit far in as well, but I've left them as the are for now.
8/18/07 0:45 AM
Vonnevo said...
Great job Jules ! I like the smiling pic too :)
9/16/07 4:33 AM
Hilary said...
Both shirts look great! Well done!
9/16/07 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
Great job - both shirts look good !
9/16/07 9:35 AM
Heatherrique said...
Great shirt for men! I need to look more into KS patterns! Very photogenic model! Thanks for sharing your review!
9/16/07 1:56 PM
jessika said...
Very nice color and perfect for warm weather.
9/16/07 2:23 PM
crisford said...
He looks awesome! Great job, love the fabric and fit.
9/16/07 4:45 PM
bunz said...
Wow! Lucky husband........and this is a muslin?
9/16/07 7:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 3887
photo
Review by angie.a on 6/14/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)
Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1073 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 10/8/11
Read Review

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6191 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6191 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6843 Pattern
New Look 6843 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us