SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 965 (Camisole and T-shirt)

29 more reviews
Viewed 1476 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/07 8:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
Your bindings look great! Nice camisoles.
8/21/07 9:55 PM
ginaT said...
Just lovely Belinda :) Another name for singlet here (England) is a vest and a vest in the US would be a waistcoat to us. I can think of a few 'other same but different name' for items of clothing. A fun thread for us International sewers me thinks :~)
8/21/07 10:46 PM
xtreme1 said...
Belinda, the sewing is perfection! If I knew I could get a single top to be finished like this I would make lots too. What part does this "coverstitch machine" play in the binding process? They are simple tops but just so well stitched and I've just noticed I'm turning green. Beautiful workmanship.
8/21/07 10:49 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Xtreme1, the bindings on my tops are done using a binder attachment. I have more details on my blog here if you are interested. However Jalie provide good instructions for those without a coverstitch machine.
8/21/07 11:27 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Wonderful! These look just like my favorite RTW camisoles I wear. I do have a question - are you using a Wooly Nylon type thread on the underside of the coverstitch?
8/22/07 0:34 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Jacqui315, yes Mettler's Metroflock wooly nylon on the underside and ordinary sewing thread in the needles.
8/22/07 1:12 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Greatlooking tops and awsome binding!! Marita
8/22/07 4:40 AM
ryan's mom said...
Awesome! Makes me want to run out and buy a coverstitch machine too.
8/22/07 4:42 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Some day I wish to sew as beautifully as you. Wow! Thanks for posting the blog, too.
8/22/07 7:38 AM
Karine said...
Your bindings are amazing. You've given me some true inspiration for what I might be able to accomplish with my coverstitch machine with double fold binder! Thanks for the additional reference in your blog also!
8/22/07 8:56 AM
Levone said...
Great looking camis! I've had this pattern forever, I think it's time I put it to use as I hate spending so much for a simple top in the stores.
8/22/07 9:51 AM
bunz said...
Belinda - how can any of us continue now w/o a coverstitch machine?!! LOL!! You're always an inspiration.
8/22/07 11:52 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful! I recently picked this pattern up and now am anxious to sew it up!
8/22/07 12:24 PM
carolynw said...
Thanks for this review - am definitely going to get this pattern. Been to the stores recently looking at camis and just stunned at the prices - I guess because I know how little fabric and time this takes I cannot pay close to $30!!
8/22/07 2:33 PM
busyozmum said...
As always, a wonderful review. You're an inspiration to us. I have had this pattern for quite a long time and not tried it yet. After seeing your beautiful work, I feel I should give these cami's a go. I even have some powerdry from Ressy. LOL!
8/23/07 8:11 AM
SewSewHappy said...
I've been looking for this type garment. You did a great job. Certainly looks like a RTW piece! Beautiful!
9/21/07 5:28 PM
MareeAlison said...
Belinda - these camis are great. The Brother double fold binder seems to do a great job - though the talent of the sewer has quite a bit to do with it I think. I still haven't plunged to get this because it's so expensive in Australia but seeing the work you do, does make it tempting. I wonder if I can buy it cheaper from the States with the great exchange rate now. Another thing to add to the list.
10/2/07 11:03 PM
appleton78 said...
Great job on your cami's! Love this review...I am off to find this pattern! Thanks so much!
5/18/08 8:38 AM
JacquieH said...
Patt. on way. Cant wait to try it out. You make sewing so easy to understand. love your blog.
5/16/10 8:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now