Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB025FB (Frenchy Bags) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1386 times 47 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:8/27/07 10:44 PM
Last Updated:11/5/07 9:06 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pen_sew said...
Nice review. I especially like the home dec/ leather version. I made one from AB fabric and as a beginner it took me a while to put it all together. I'm going to try it with a shorter top section like you did. I'm going to experiment with other fabrics like maybe a faux suede home dec fabric I picked up this weekend. Thanks for the review.
8/27/07 11:10 PM
SarahSM said...
More awesome Frenchy Bags! Thanks for this review---each one people do is so different from the next. Thanks for more inspiration!
8/27/07 11:21 PM
DorothyK said...
Great job. I love the Frenchy bag. I think it will be the first bag I choose to sew. I like your choice of fabric.
8/28/07 0:47 AM
Em's Summer said...
Great bag!
8/28/07 7:07 AM
sarahb said...
love the bags--especially the one with leather. I keep wanting to sew myself a leather bag...great job!
8/28/07 9:07 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Thanks for telling us how long it took you to construct this bag. I am rather slow when it comes to AB patterns, but this one sounds like it's not too involved.
8/28/07 11:01 AM
slanden99 said...
Very nice bags!
8/28/07 12:56 PM
Hilary said...
Great review! Both bags are FABULOUS!! I've been wanting this pattern and I don't think I can resist much longer, thanks to you :D
8/28/07 5:44 PM
nicegirl said...
I love the bag--it's such a great shape.
8/29/07 12:29 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I love both bags - so stylish.
8/30/07 6:54 PM
EastwoodFan said...
I am working on this bag now and appreciate the hints re: the pockets, omitting the magnetic snap and so on. Your handbags look great!
10/3/07 3:04 PM
xtreme1 said...
Totally gorgeous!
11/5/07 11:32 PM
Sic said...
I love the modifications you made! The trim really dresses it up!
11/6/07 8:57 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love your elegant bag. It perfectly complements your very lovely ensemble. When I first began reading about the upcoming wedding for your friend, I had no idea that my DD would soon become engaged to marry! Now I have a wedding to attend in the near future. You've given me some terrific ideas!
11/6/07 1:00 PM
anuprabhu said...
Gorgeous! The review is so helpful since I was considering making the bag and now, I'm convinced. Love the fabric choice too.
11/6/07 3:06 PM
cindy-lou said...
Oooooh... you are SO stylin' for that wedding! I am envious of your talent. What a beautiful ensemble!
11/6/07 4:10 PM
SarahSM said...
Ooh, I love the brown version!
11/6/07 4:28 PM
Hello Kitty Sews said...
I love the leather & chenille bag!! I can't wait to make one now!
11/9/07 5:36 PM
daisym said...
I love the bag with the denim inside -- your colors are wonderful together, and the straps are great!
3/14/09 1:49 AM
fiddlestick chic said...
When I saw this bag made up in very dressy fabric I knew I had to get the pattern for an evening bag I want to take to the opera.( DH got tickets for our anniversary!) I bought the pattern immediately! LOVELY bag you made, ( all of them really!) You definately inspired me to make some!
5/23/09 3:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 3551
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/25/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1018 Jasmine
photo
Review by VintageBlu... on 11/23/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6942 Pattern
Burda 6942 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us