Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8210 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1349 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:moss
photo
About mossstar
Member since: 8/23/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/07 9:13 AM
Last Updated:9/7/07 9:21 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
Moss, this turned out so nicely! I love the way you contrasted the stripes. It looks like the sleeves are a little long - maybe shorten them about 1/2" - or maybe it's just the picture. I love FS linen too. It's the best.
8/28/07 9:45 AM
moss said...
Nancy, thanks! Thanks especially for the sleeve advice, I was going to ask if they were the right length. I am pretty short and I am not sure where the sleeve is supposed to fall. :)
8/28/07 10:19 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I agree, this looks way better than the pattern drawing. I love the way you manipulated the stripes in the yoke, sleeves and binding - it makes for a very distinctive jacket. It also looks really, really comfy. Great job.
8/28/07 11:09 AM
Markie1 said...
I love this! You took a very basic pattern and turned it into a unique and expensive looking jacket. I love the spray of buttons and the pockets are perfect!
8/28/07 11:22 AM
SewLil said...
Wow! Did you all see that she sewed this by hand! That makes this jacket even more amazing to me.
8/28/07 12:08 PM
Puppy said...
A very appealing jacket...I love that it has so many interesting details. I love that in a garment. It intrigues me that you do your sewing by hand. My mother was a prolific sewer but I was not at all interested in sewing.....until I was out from under the family roof. I made by hand a couple of nightgowns and then I made a 2-pc lined bathings suit, after which my mom decided I was serious and bought me a very inexpensive sewing machine. But I do enjoy sitting and doing the handsewing aspects of garment making.
8/28/07 12:16 PM
carolynw said...
Love the jacket and it looks waaaay better than the drawing on the envelope! Vogue should sponsor you too. Moss how is the linen for crushing? I love linen but hate the crushed look that I know is enevitable with it - however, some do crush more than others so how woudl you rate this one - I am on akick to sew mostly natural fibers if at all possible.
8/28/07 5:51 PM
Patzee said...
Vogue should hire you!
8/29/07 1:10 AM
rivergum said...
This looks faabulous! I love the back view especially, it looks so elegant.
8/29/07 2:41 AM
BillieJean said...
I have some charcoal striped linen that you've inspired me to sew. Beautiful jacket!
8/29/07 6:29 AM
moss said...
Clin, yes, linen does wrinkle, but in my mind (since I am something of a snob, haha), I see this more as a status symbol, like "look at my natural linen jacket". On the other hand, the nice thing about FS linen, in my experience, is that it gets softer and softer with every wash, and it also wrinkles less and less. I don't think linen wrinkles all that much more than, say, a silk dupioni. But, that is my opinion, take it for what it's worth! :)
8/29/07 8:14 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, gorgeous work with those stripes! Yes, do make the sleeves a tad shorter, but this is great.
8/29/07 8:15 AM
Karine said...
What a terrific jacket. The stripe you chose and your use of the different angles really makes it! I love the pockets and the bias-bound edges - you're right that yours looks far better than the pattern illustration. Thanks for the review.
8/29/07 8:27 AM
Darla in PA said...
Your jacket turned out nice. The pockets turned out very well. In fact, the extra details really make the jacket. Your version looks much better than the line drawings.
8/29/07 8:28 AM
Linda G said...
Good Job...I really like your jacket. The various buttons are such a nice touch. Thanks for the good source for linen
8/29/07 1:09 PM
cecelia said...
Very nice and comfortable looking. Love the fabric, the pockets and buttons. You'll get a lot of use out of this I bet.
8/31/07 7:10 AM
Nancywin said...
I just have to comment again because I really love this jacket. Also, you are so right about FS linen. I made a series of garments from some linen blend I bought at JoAnns some time ago, and I hate them because they wrinkle so terribly and look bad. On the other hand, the dress I made from FS linen I love. It wrinkles too, but it looks different and does not beg to be ironed. I wear it as is and love it.
9/8/07 8:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 2553 Car Organizers
photo
Review by JTink on 11/29/13
Read Review

Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3545 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3545 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3513
photo
Review by JewelLaver... on 7/8/09
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us