SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5006 (Basic Pleat Pant)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2403 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/03 6:52 PM
Last Updated:3/4/03 6:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Charmaine said...
Thanks for this review. I think they look great on you. There seemed to be alot of material/room on the models on the pattern front and I have been reluctant to purchase this pattern. From your review, it is obvious that you know how to fit yourself very well. I agree that these would be difficult for the beginner to fit.
3/4/03 7:15 PM
Irene said...
Diane, the pants look nice, but I can imagine that you have others that you prefer. Is the extra ease for pleats mostly in the tummy/hip/thigh area (with lower hem circumference the same or only slightly larger than for no-pleats? Or does the pleated version "flowy" all the way down? Thanks for reviewing this. When I saw the pattern, I started to consider adding pleates to the Textile Studios Basic Pant (by Loes), rather than purchase this pattern.
3/4/03 7:17 PM
Deepika said...
Diane even though your pants look very good but I have to agree with you on the fit. They are very roomy and will not fit the 'trouser' need for everyone. Thanks for an excellent review!
3/4/03 7:55 PM
Nancy Powers said...
Diane, thanks for the detailed review. I just traced off my pattern today... I chose the XS even though in her other pants I wear a S. I was concerned about all that ease and your review confirmed for me that I was right to go down a size. Thanks again!
3/4/03 8:55 PM
Sherril Miller said...
This is an interesting pattern. Can you tell me how wide your pants are at the hem?
3/4/03 10:06 PM
Susan Parker said...
Thanks for the review, Diane. This pattern didn't interest me due to the large amount of ease. Your pants do look nice even if there is a lot of ease.
3/4/03 11:39 PM
Elona said...
They actually look very good on you, Diane. Based on the fit, though, do you think they would be better in a very drapey, swoopy rayon or silk? That might give a particularly luxe effect, taking advantage of all that ease (6" is a lot, all right).
3/5/03 0:12 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I think your pants look good on you, but I see from the picture on the website they are very full indeed. I might try these, though. I like the styling with a little less ease.
3/5/03 1:17 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Thanks for a great review, Diane. I made a pair of LH pants several years ago and was so dissatisfied with the fit, even after a lot of alteration, that I sold all the rest my LH patterns on ebay. Since then, I have revisited her via the Boatneck Top, which I love. Well, everyone has their strengths (and weaknesses). -Ann
3/5/03 10:20 AM
Diane E said...
Hi all, thanks for your comments! Irene, the hem circumference on the pleated/no pleated version is the same. All the extra ease tapers to nothing at about 5" above the cut edge. Sherril, the circumference of my pants (size S) is 18 7/8. According to the pattern envelope, the hem circumference is 17 - 20 1/4" (xxs to xxl). Elona, unless you use silk, you can't get much drapier than the fabric I chose. It's a very soft flowy rayon/poly blend. I wore my pants today and they are so comfie and drapey (love the fabric). Looking forward to sizing down, though!
3/6/03 2:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now