SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5006 (Basic Pleat Pant)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2407 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/03 6:52 PM
Last Updated:3/4/03 6:56 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Diane E said...
Hi all, thanks for your comments! Irene, the hem circumference on the pleated/no pleated version is the same. All the extra ease tapers to nothing at about 5" above the cut edge. Sherril, the circumference of my pants (size S) is 18 7/8. According to the pattern envelope, the hem circumference is 17 - 20 1/4" (xxs to xxl). Elona, unless you use silk, you can't get much drapier than the fabric I chose. It's a very soft flowy rayon/poly blend. I wore my pants today and they are so comfie and drapey (love the fabric). Looking forward to sizing down, though!
3/6/03 2:13 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Thanks for a great review, Diane. I made a pair of LH pants several years ago and was so dissatisfied with the fit, even after a lot of alteration, that I sold all the rest my LH patterns on ebay. Since then, I have revisited her via the Boatneck Top, which I love. Well, everyone has their strengths (and weaknesses). -Ann
3/5/03 10:20 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I think your pants look good on you, but I see from the picture on the website they are very full indeed. I might try these, though. I like the styling with a little less ease.
3/5/03 1:17 AM
Elona said...
They actually look very good on you, Diane. Based on the fit, though, do you think they would be better in a very drapey, swoopy rayon or silk? That might give a particularly luxe effect, taking advantage of all that ease (6" is a lot, all right).
3/5/03 0:12 AM
Susan Parker said...
Thanks for the review, Diane. This pattern didn't interest me due to the large amount of ease. Your pants do look nice even if there is a lot of ease.
3/4/03 11:39 PM
Sherril Miller said...
This is an interesting pattern. Can you tell me how wide your pants are at the hem?
3/4/03 10:06 PM
Nancy Powers said...
Diane, thanks for the detailed review. I just traced off my pattern today... I chose the XS even though in her other pants I wear a S. I was concerned about all that ease and your review confirmed for me that I was right to go down a size. Thanks again!
3/4/03 8:55 PM
Deepika said...
Diane even though your pants look very good but I have to agree with you on the fit. They are very roomy and will not fit the 'trouser' need for everyone. Thanks for an excellent review!
3/4/03 7:55 PM
Irene said...
Diane, the pants look nice, but I can imagine that you have others that you prefer. Is the extra ease for pleats mostly in the tummy/hip/thigh area (with lower hem circumference the same or only slightly larger than for no-pleats? Or does the pleated version "flowy" all the way down? Thanks for reviewing this. When I saw the pattern, I started to consider adding pleates to the Textile Studios Basic Pant (by Loes), rather than purchase this pattern.
3/4/03 7:17 PM
Charmaine said...
Thanks for this review. I think they look great on you. There seemed to be alot of material/room on the models on the pattern front and I have been reluctant to purchase this pattern. From your review, it is obvious that you know how to fit yourself very well. I agree that these would be difficult for the beginner to fit.
3/4/03 7:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

New Look 6852

photo
by: valgal

Review
Other Craftsy

photo
by: House of P...

Review
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now