Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5006 (Basic Pleat Pant) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2396 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/03 6:52 PM
Last Updated:3/4/03 6:56 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Charmaine said...
Thanks for this review. I think they look great on you. There seemed to be alot of material/room on the models on the pattern front and I have been reluctant to purchase this pattern. From your review, it is obvious that you know how to fit yourself very well. I agree that these would be difficult for the beginner to fit.
3/4/03 7:15 PM
Irene said...
Diane, the pants look nice, but I can imagine that you have others that you prefer. Is the extra ease for pleats mostly in the tummy/hip/thigh area (with lower hem circumference the same or only slightly larger than for no-pleats? Or does the pleated version "flowy" all the way down? Thanks for reviewing this. When I saw the pattern, I started to consider adding pleates to the Textile Studios Basic Pant (by Loes), rather than purchase this pattern.
3/4/03 7:17 PM
Deepika said...
Diane even though your pants look very good but I have to agree with you on the fit. They are very roomy and will not fit the 'trouser' need for everyone. Thanks for an excellent review!
3/4/03 7:55 PM
Nancy Powers said...
Diane, thanks for the detailed review. I just traced off my pattern today... I chose the XS even though in her other pants I wear a S. I was concerned about all that ease and your review confirmed for me that I was right to go down a size. Thanks again!
3/4/03 8:55 PM
Sherril Miller said...
This is an interesting pattern. Can you tell me how wide your pants are at the hem?
3/4/03 10:06 PM
Susan Parker said...
Thanks for the review, Diane. This pattern didn't interest me due to the large amount of ease. Your pants do look nice even if there is a lot of ease.
3/4/03 11:39 PM
Elona said...
They actually look very good on you, Diane. Based on the fit, though, do you think they would be better in a very drapey, swoopy rayon or silk? That might give a particularly luxe effect, taking advantage of all that ease (6" is a lot, all right).
3/5/03 0:12 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I think your pants look good on you, but I see from the picture on the website they are very full indeed. I might try these, though. I like the styling with a little less ease.
3/5/03 1:17 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Thanks for a great review, Diane. I made a pair of LH pants several years ago and was so dissatisfied with the fit, even after a lot of alteration, that I sold all the rest my LH patterns on ebay. Since then, I have revisited her via the Boatneck Top, which I love. Well, everyone has their strengths (and weaknesses). -Ann
3/5/03 10:20 AM
Diane E said...
Hi all, thanks for your comments! Irene, the hem circumference on the pleated/no pleated version is the same. All the extra ease tapers to nothing at about 5" above the cut edge. Sherril, the circumference of my pants (size S) is 18 7/8. According to the pattern envelope, the hem circumference is 17 - 20 1/4" (xxs to xxl). Elona, unless you use silk, you can't get much drapier than the fabric I chose. It's a very soft flowy rayon/poly blend. I wore my pants today and they are so comfie and drapey (love the fabric). Looking forward to sizing down, though!
3/6/03 2:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's M5145 Blouse
photo
Review by OP Gal on 8/2/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4945 Apron
photo
Review by DeniseF on 7/7/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3847 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3847 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us