SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5006 (Basic Pleat Pant)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2430 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
Friend of PR

About Diane Estarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 69 (patterns: 65)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 106 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/03 6:52 PM
Last Updated:3/4/03 6:56 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Diane E said... (3/6/03 2:13 PM) Reply
Hi all, thanks for your comments! Irene, the hem circumference on the pleated/no pleated version is the same. All the extra ease tapers to nothing at about 5" above the cut edge. Sherril, the circumference of my pants (size S) is 18 7/8. According to the pattern envelope, the hem circumference is 17 - 20 1/4" (xxs to xxl). Elona, unless you use silk, you can't get much drapier than the fabric I chose. It's a very soft flowy rayon/poly blend. I wore my pants today and they are so comfie and drapey (love the fabric). Looking forward to sizing down, though!
GorgeousFabrics said... (3/5/03 10:20 AM) Reply
Thanks for a great review, Diane. I made a pair of LH pants several years ago and was so dissatisfied with the fit, even after a lot of alteration, that I sold all the rest my LH patterns on ebay. Since then, I have revisited her via the Boatneck Top, which I love. Well, everyone has their strengths (and weaknesses). -Ann
SouthernStitch said... (3/5/03 1:17 AM) Reply
I think your pants look good on you, but I see from the picture on the website they are very full indeed. I might try these, though. I like the styling with a little less ease.
Elona said... (3/5/03 0:12 AM) Reply
They actually look very good on you, Diane. Based on the fit, though, do you think they would be better in a very drapey, swoopy rayon or silk? That might give a particularly luxe effect, taking advantage of all that ease (6" is a lot, all right).
Susan Parker said... (3/4/03 11:39 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review, Diane. This pattern didn't interest me due to the large amount of ease. Your pants do look nice even if there is a lot of ease.
Sherril Miller said... (3/4/03 10:06 PM) Reply
This is an interesting pattern. Can you tell me how wide your pants are at the hem?
Nancy Powers said... (3/4/03 8:55 PM) Reply
Diane, thanks for the detailed review. I just traced off my pattern today... I chose the XS even though in her other pants I wear a S. I was concerned about all that ease and your review confirmed for me that I was right to go down a size. Thanks again!
Deepika said... (3/4/03 7:55 PM) Reply
Diane even though your pants look very good but I have to agree with you on the fit. They are very roomy and will not fit the 'trouser' need for everyone. Thanks for an excellent review!
Irene said... (3/4/03 7:17 PM) Reply
Diane, the pants look nice, but I can imagine that you have others that you prefer. Is the extra ease for pleats mostly in the tummy/hip/thigh area (with lower hem circumference the same or only slightly larger than for no-pleats? Or does the pleated version "flowy" all the way down? Thanks for reviewing this. When I saw the pattern, I started to consider adding pleates to the Textile Studios Basic Pant (by Loes), rather than purchase this pattern.
Charmaine said... (3/4/03 7:15 PM) Reply
Thanks for this review. I think they look great on you. There seemed to be alot of material/room on the models on the pattern front and I have been reluctant to purchase this pattern. From your review, it is obvious that you know how to fit yourself very well. I agree that these would be difficult for the beginner to fit.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

April Rhodes Staple Dress

by: TammyMJZ

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Pattern Details
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Pattern Details