Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2006-116 (Wrap-over sweatshirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1075 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/07 8:50 PM
Last Updated:9/5/07 8:54 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Very pretty top! I made that last winter and wore mine a lot - it's so comfy yet stylish!
9/5/07 9:00 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great helpful review - lovely top. I liked that pattern in the mag and really love yours.
9/5/07 9:53 PM
Copper7 said...
I saw on another board where the "Vilene Fuse and Fold" was indeed a typo by Burda (which they are aware of). The correct product should been (as you guessed) Vilene Bias Tape.
9/5/07 10:12 PM
Speech girl said...
Your top is very pretty.
9/5/07 11:24 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Really detailed report, nice top, too!
9/6/07 1:36 AM
morzel said...
In the german edition they make you use "Vliesline Formband", a well known product of a company called "Freudenberg".It is a bias tape with a row of stitches in it and is use to stabilize seams that are cut on bias or are of stretchy knits. So, to stabilize the seams with fusible tape is exactly the thing "they" ment you to do! Your shirt looks good! I also sewed this shirt in a thick interlock last winter and liked it.
9/6/07 2:08 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You can just use clear elastic to stabilize your seams, if you're not in Germany. But the diagonal folds are because you weren't aware of the top being larger than the bottom - you're no doubt meant to gather the extra ease under the bust, which would make a gentle poof in the right place, instead of distributing the extra ease all over.
9/6/07 4:29 AM
utz said...
Very nice. Your choice of thinner fabric than the sweatshirt recommended was a good idea. When I made it (for stash reduction) I used heavier stuff, which make those diagonal 'feature pulls' a little too much and I lost a lot of wearing ease. As for the 90 degree corner at shoulder, that was tricky - I had to pull out sewing books on that one - I think I read about inserting godets - corners inserted into corners - luckily I had marked the seam line. Your's turned out very pretty!
9/6/07 8:16 AM
bunz said...
Really, really great top!
9/6/07 4:31 PM
Sewingmi said...
The top turned out very nice...I enjoyed your review!
9/6/07 7:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive!
9/6/07 7:17 PM
sewkiwi said...
I have this nearly finished. Just the sleeves to go. I had the same problems and thought it would be quick but couldn't quite figure out the instructions until I realised the wrong side of the collar is showing. I was wary but it actually looks ok. I will get it finished and reviewed. Your top looks great.
9/7/07 3:10 AM
megbud3000 said...
Looks very stylish.
9/11/07 5:24 AM
canei said...
hi, that top looks great. what's the burda pattern number? thanks!
8/12/08 8:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2008-6 Dolly Dress
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/30/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1650
photo
Review by BiKe on 2/23/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8899 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8899 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us