SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> 104 (Triangular Gift Holder)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1617 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 292 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/03 0:55 AM
Last Updated:3/8/03 11:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Irene said...
Very pretty, Deepika! I was drawn to this item, too, and someone from down under mentioned on a Message Board that she made it. This would be a great way to use tapestry fabric and leftover fancies. I wonder if there is a tassel expert among us. Are there good free instructions online? I know that they are not difficult to make, but I can't readily put my fingers on a reference.
3/7/03 2:12 AM
Jennifer Hill said...
I made a few of these before Christmas. I too fused two layers of fabric together (quilting cottons, in my case) for extra body. But I chickened out on the zipper, as I didn't have a suitable one handy. I made buttonholes down both sides of the opening and laced them together with ribbon
3/7/03 3:02 AM
Judy Williment said...
That was me who mentioned it on the message board - I had a ball making some crazy patchwork from clothes I no longer wear, but couldn't bear to toss because of pretty embroidery, or fond memories. The finished pyramid sits on top of my sewing cupboard. Deepika - you're getting into baby clothes for gifts - how about some of these in pink or blue to wrap them? They'd be so useful as storage for tiny socks or whatever afterward too. I plan to do this for the next baby gift I make.
3/7/03 4:56 AM
Ginger said...
There is a site with tassel instructions and I also saw an adjustable tassel maker at the Puyallap show. Very tempting. Deepika, I'm glad you talked about the zipper. I saw these in Threads also but the whole zipper thing freaks me out...still.
3/7/03 9:30 AM
Lou. said...
This are great...and my favorite colour...love it, now to find a Jan 2003 threads Magazine
3/7/03 10:07 AM
Skymom said...
Threads, No.99 (Jan/Feb 2002) has an article on tools for making tassels--as well as instructions for making the most basic form of tassel. But I think the bow looks good, too, as would a little cluster of pretty buttons or beads. Fused fabric is a great idea, too, for having an attractive interior.
3/7/03 11:10 AM
Star said...
Thanks for making this simple. The instructions seemed so wordy to me, I didn't want to attempt, but I'm going to try it. Yours is very nice. I wonder about storage. Do they collapse easily? Maybe make a few to have on hand.
3/7/03 2:29 PM
CatherineN said...
You were brave enough to do the zipper! Guess the rest of us can try too. Can you use the left over side of the zip on another box? This is pretty.
3/7/03 10:11 PM
Deepika said...
Star the box is pretty stiff and does not collapse. That's the whole idea to make it have crisp edges. So yes storage will be an issue if you make several. I am still planning to make many more though. These are just too cute. Catherine The zipper application is really very easy. You'll see when you make it. Yes the other half of the zipper can be used but you need a zipper slider. Does anyone know where to find these spare sliders?
3/8/03 0:10 AM
Kitty said...
I had gone back and forth about these since I got my issue a few months ago. I read this review and flew to the shop and made one up at work out of some scarlette dupioni that was left out with a gold tassle. I am **officially** going ot make up a bunch of these and use them as favors for my wedding this fall !! Thanks SO MUCH for the inspiration !!
3/8/03 1:00 AM
Dale C said...
Oh darn. My subscription for THreads just started with the bolster pillow issue.I had put off buying the January one thinking I'd get that one in the mail. Shucks. This is really cute Deepika. I love it.
3/8/03 5:54 PM
Linda E. said...
Dale you can order back issues of threads. I am going to have get find my threads with these directions in. I like the project. really cute deepika
3/8/03 11:45 PM
http mom said...
Oh my gosh...really darling...it would make a cute handbag too!
3/9/03 7:38 PM
ShereeSews said...
Adorable and unique! There is NO WAY we are going to stop you.... tee hee....Can't wait to see the next ones you create! Thanks for sharing this
5/14/03 10:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Vogue Patterns 7640

photo
by: chesneykat

Review
Kwik Sew 3299

photo
by: myraminx

Review
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now