Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Threads Magazine: 104 (Triangular Gift Holder) - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 1617 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/03 0:55 AM
Last Updated:3/8/03 11:05 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Irene said...
Very pretty, Deepika! I was drawn to this item, too, and someone from down under mentioned on a Message Board that she made it. This would be a great way to use tapestry fabric and leftover fancies. I wonder if there is a tassel expert among us. Are there good free instructions online? I know that they are not difficult to make, but I can't readily put my fingers on a reference.
3/7/03 2:12 AM
Jennifer Hill said...
I made a few of these before Christmas. I too fused two layers of fabric together (quilting cottons, in my case) for extra body. But I chickened out on the zipper, as I didn't have a suitable one handy. I made buttonholes down both sides of the opening and laced them together with ribbon
3/7/03 3:02 AM
Judy Williment said...
That was me who mentioned it on the message board - I had a ball making some crazy patchwork from clothes I no longer wear, but couldn't bear to toss because of pretty embroidery, or fond memories. The finished pyramid sits on top of my sewing cupboard. Deepika - you're getting into baby clothes for gifts - how about some of these in pink or blue to wrap them? They'd be so useful as storage for tiny socks or whatever afterward too. I plan to do this for the next baby gift I make.
3/7/03 4:56 AM
Ginger said...
There is a site with tassel instructions and I also saw an adjustable tassel maker at the Puyallap show. Very tempting. Deepika, I'm glad you talked about the zipper. I saw these in Threads also but the whole zipper thing freaks me out...still.
3/7/03 9:30 AM
Lou. said...
This are great...and my favorite colour...love it, now to find a Jan 2003 threads Magazine
3/7/03 10:07 AM
Skymom said...
Threads, No.99 (Jan/Feb 2002) has an article on tools for making tassels--as well as instructions for making the most basic form of tassel. But I think the bow looks good, too, as would a little cluster of pretty buttons or beads. Fused fabric is a great idea, too, for having an attractive interior.
3/7/03 11:10 AM
Star said...
Thanks for making this simple. The instructions seemed so wordy to me, I didn't want to attempt, but I'm going to try it. Yours is very nice. I wonder about storage. Do they collapse easily? Maybe make a few to have on hand.
3/7/03 2:29 PM
CatherineN said...
You were brave enough to do the zipper! Guess the rest of us can try too. Can you use the left over side of the zip on another box? This is pretty.
3/7/03 10:11 PM
Deepika said...
Star the box is pretty stiff and does not collapse. That's the whole idea to make it have crisp edges. So yes storage will be an issue if you make several. I am still planning to make many more though. These are just too cute. Catherine The zipper application is really very easy. You'll see when you make it. Yes the other half of the zipper can be used but you need a zipper slider. Does anyone know where to find these spare sliders?
3/8/03 0:10 AM
Kitty said...
I had gone back and forth about these since I got my issue a few months ago. I read this review and flew to the shop and made one up at work out of some scarlette dupioni that was left out with a gold tassle. I am **officially** going ot make up a bunch of these and use them as favors for my wedding this fall !! Thanks SO MUCH for the inspiration !!
3/8/03 1:00 AM
Dale C said...
Oh darn. My subscription for THreads just started with the bolster pillow issue.I had put off buying the January one thinking I'd get that one in the mail. Shucks. This is really cute Deepika. I love it.
3/8/03 5:54 PM
Linda E. said...
Dale you can order back issues of threads. I am going to have get find my threads with these directions in. I like the project. really cute deepika
3/8/03 11:45 PM
http mom said...
Oh my gosh...really darling...it would make a cute handbag too!
3/9/03 7:38 PM
ShereeSews said...
Adorable and unique! There is NO WAY we are going to stop you.... tee hee....Can't wait to see the next ones you create! Thanks for sharing this
5/14/03 10:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

HotPatterns 1029
photo
Review by cairncrew on 4/22/11
Read Review

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Sophie Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Sophie Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 0000
photo
Review by Gillian on 3/28/05
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3845 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us