SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4923 (Men's Pirate Costume)

32 more reviews
Viewed 891 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/07 6:52 AM
Last Updated:9/19/07 6:52 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
I think your bfriend is very lucky to have you sewing for him. I hope he was duly appreciative. Despite all the headaches this came out beautifully and you have reason to be proud. Velvet has a mind of its own, but it's luscious and I think worth the hassels. As noted on your blog, you can buy a velvet board and press velvet face down to save the pile. I would just steam with a press cloth and then press by hand. Would love to see the pictures of you both in costume. I'll bet you were adorable.
9/19/07 8:23 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks, Bernie. Press boards in the Uk are very expensive and difficult to find, and I'd only be using it for this project since I'm never sewing velvet again! And if you follow the first link to fehrtrade.com you can see photos of both of us in costume!
9/19/07 8:40 AM
mastdenman said...
Your boyfriend is spoiled. The costume looks great.
9/19/07 9:23 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow. That is no costume. That is an EPIC! It's beautiful, and congratulations on its completion!
9/19/07 9:58 AM
Vonnevo said...
Congratulations !!! Lucky boyfriend, fabulous coat ! I finally tracked down enough old buttons for my hubby's version of this coat.
9/19/07 10:02 AM
crisford said...
Wow! You both look awesome! He owes you big-time, too. Congratulations on completing this.
9/19/07 11:16 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Ahoy, sewing wench! Yer cap'n be a lucky sailor, indeed. Nice job! You deserve a big vessel of grog.
9/19/07 11:32 AM
Annette1 said...
Very nice, indeed. I agree -- that's no costume! :o) Beautiful fabrics and workmanship. (I'd have to agree with you on the velvet thing though. :o)
9/19/07 12:25 PM
bunz said...
Wow! Kudos for finishing -- that really takes grit:-) Did you couch all that gold braid? I'm interested in what technique you used for that.
9/19/07 12:26 PM
Kellie R. said...
Oh How FUN!!!!!!! That jacket is beautiful (so is your waist cincher). I lived in England for 8 years and truly appreciate what a great price you got for your silk velvet - despite your challenges, the final jacket looks fantastic. Your party looks like it was FAB! Great job!
9/19/07 1:15 PM
moss said...
HOLY COW i hope he takes you out to dinner and rubs your feet every night for a year! You deserve a gold medal for this!
9/19/07 1:25 PM
Melody said...
That jacket is amazing. He's very lucky and did you know, today is "Talk Like a Pirate Day" Yar Matey!
9/19/07 2:08 PM
CynthiaSue said...
yes, epic. so beautiful. I was wondering if it was real velvet in the picture and it is! Amazing!
9/19/07 10:47 PM
Karen6790 said...
Amazing doesn't even cover what you've done here. I've rashly promised to make a "Jimi Hendrix-type jacket" for my DBF, and I foresee similar adventures. I hope I can write such an informative and lighthearted review when I'm done. Absolutely beautiful.
9/19/07 11:28 PM
janet said...
Absolutely Fabulous! You look great too!
9/20/07 4:41 PM
KiwiWendy said...
Luscious ... though I understand not wanting to make it again. Ever!
9/16/08 0:20 AM
normanack said...
The list of alterations is very helpful, as is the discussion of making a costume pattern into a couture pattern. Thank you for reviewing this pattern -- and I wish I could sew as well as you!
10/26/08 5:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

StyleArc Sandra Narrow Leg Jean

photo
by: becca a

Review
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now