Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 0493 (Cape) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1344 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Liana
photo
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/20/07 10:21 PM
Last Updated:9/20/07 10:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Liana, that is just stunning-gorgeous-wonderful! And of course, it's done with your always impeccable sewing skills. I love it.
9/20/07 10:27 PM
ELizabeth_Atl said...
Liana, everything you sew is so fabulous. You are such an inspiration. Thank you for sharing.
9/20/07 10:51 PM
Tiner W said...
Oh, I love that!
9/20/07 10:58 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What can I say? That is gowachuss! :)
9/20/07 11:01 PM
Vonnevo said...
Totally Fabulous Liana !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
9/20/07 11:08 PM
lmg said...
Wow, just stunning!!. I like what you did with the lining, too and all the construction details.
9/20/07 11:30 PM
Irene said...
Amazing garment, and so beautiful on you! Thank you for the construction details and the reasons for your choices--helpful lessons.
9/20/07 11:35 PM
christine A said...
Wow is that ever a show stopper cape!!
9/20/07 11:38 PM
sewsewboy said...
Like how your cape/jacket has a very 40's/50's swing coat look. VEry old school Dior or Balenciaga. If you make a matching skirt, make a super narrow pencil skirt. The proportion would be great. Full overr narrow. Amazing job.
9/21/07 0:20 AM
Diane E said...
Liana, this is absolutely beautiful. Love your beautiful up-do, too. Lovely work and very inspiring!
9/21/07 1:24 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful, I like the design and the combination of cape/jacket look. Looks wonderful on you.
9/21/07 1:49 AM
Annette1 said...
So LUSH, I love it! Your workmanship is beautiful, as always.
9/21/07 1:52 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Gorgeous, wonderful, stunning and so perfectly constructed as your work always is. Really loved this pattern as soon as I saw it, but in the flesh, it is so much more beautiful.
9/21/07 3:40 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Wow, what a fabulous cape, if I thought I could wing it without instructions I'd give it a go.
9/21/07 5:14 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous!
9/21/07 8:10 AM
TrixieD said...
Elegant! You wear this lovely garment well.
9/21/07 8:38 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful cape - and the gloves really complete the look!
9/21/07 9:07 AM
Frosty772 said...
Your cape is sooooo beautiful. I wish I could sew as well as you!! You have the most amazing wardrobe!! Your cape is stunning!!
9/21/07 9:30 AM
Puppy said...
Impressive and unique. I love it.
9/21/07 10:38 AM
marya said...
Stunning Liana! Thank you for including all the thoughtful details.
9/21/07 2:02 PM
moushka said...
Not much I can add, except that you look like you just stepped off the plane from Milan, or maybe Florence! Fabulous interpretation. I think I'll have to purchase the catalogue even if it's just to drool. Thanks for the wonderful review. Sue
9/21/07 2:46 PM
eibhlin said...
Absolutely Glorious!!
9/21/07 4:49 PM
tlmck3 said...
Liana--That is GORGEOUS--and I am NOT a cape fan, usually. I love everything about this one. Definitely make the straight skirt--and take photos of it. God...will you just sew/design/style ME? You are one of my style Icons, BTW...
9/21/07 5:04 PM
carolynw said...
What more can I add - this is drop dead gorgeous - well done Liana - you have outdone even yourself on this one!!
9/21/07 7:11 PM
LindsayT said...
I love the one-of-a-kind details. Very couture!
9/21/07 7:53 PM
Rita123 said...
Oh my, how stunning. This is so very beautiful.
9/21/07 8:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Beautiful cape, Liana!
9/21/07 11:29 PM
blue mooney said...
just fabutiful! I noticed the prickstitching right away. that's a very nice touch, as are your perfect gloves! what a nice freebie.
9/22/07 7:50 AM
aunt saidee said...
Gorgeous! You inspire me to try a Marfy pattern. This one is great: beautiful work, as usual...!
9/22/07 1:59 PM
Carolyndh said...
Wow! Very lovely in every way. Nice!
9/22/07 2:19 PM
PhyllisC said...
Very beautiful Liana - this is on my list!
9/22/07 8:03 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Liana, another stunning Marfy garment! Love this cape, looks great and the fabric seems so right for this.
9/23/07 8:24 AM
moushka said...
Liana, that looks better on you than the drawing! Thank you for the construction details. My mom wants me to order the catalogue just so she can make up the pattern :-) Sue
9/26/07 10:31 AM
Blooms said...
So groovy...truly inspiring
10/1/07 6:12 AM
petro said...
wow, that's really nice!
8/14/08 11:48 AM
Athene said...
This is an absolutely beautiful cape.
9/20/08 10:41 PM
Bevy77 said...
Oh - wow - I want to make this too. I've seen it twice at an ASG meeting ... all I need is the pattern - instruction and some expert help - :)
12/30/11 9:02 PM
Bevy77 said...
Oh - wow - I want to make this too. Yours looks GREAT! I've seen it twice at an ASG meeting ... all I need is the pattern - instruction and some expert help - :)
12/30/11 9:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

The Maker's Journal Bunny Bag Bunny Bag
photo
Review by ajhewing on 8/31/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Ruffled Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6429
photo
Review by SueV on 2/5/05
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7070 Pattern
Burda 7070 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us